Home > General Wrestling > Random Thoughts for 12/02/09

Random Thoughts for 12/02/09

Feeling a bit random today…

– I’m continuing to work on my 29 Favorite Moments in Wrestling History column. I have had writer’s block all day, though, so hopefully I can churn it out tonight. Yes, I said churn. Like butter. The column will get posted on Thursday probably in the afternoon. It’s not going to be that long. I’ll write about a paragraph about each thing with some of them being longer than others.

– I’ve received some emails and questions about Booker T. possibly returning to WWE. Here’s what I know: His TNA contract is done. He’s not re-signing with them. Word is he’s coming back to WWE, but nothing is official yet. I would assume that if it happens then an event like the Royal Rumble would be a good place. Could be later than that. I have no new information on it. If I learn something more about it I will let you know.

– The top three stars from Raw as voted by you, the readers:
Maryse for one of the best pins ever 25%
Carlito for speaking up to Cena 19%
Santino for saying “John Chayna” 18%

Good choices, I think. Pleased with the number of votes too. I’ll be doing that every week in both the Raw Deal and Talking Smack columns.

– Regarding the John Chayna thing, I got this email about it from a reader of mine:

I found it pretty interesting this was mentioned so heavily; however, Santino-ism’s are usually given praise (ie. Roddy the Piper). I just thought i’d throw in that funny as it was, “cena” is a word in Italian meaning “dinner” and is indeed pronounced “chena”. I found it even funnier because before he debuted on WWE television and I had only see and not heard Cena’s name, I pronounced it the same way.

Mike C.

I thought that was pretty interesting. Makes sense too especially from an Italian perspective. Had no idea that Cena meant dinner.

That’s all I got. More tomorrow in the new column. I hope you like it.

  1. roler42
    December 2, 2009 at 11:13 PM

    actually cena is used in spanish too as dinner, you can imagine how many cena-haters here in mexico call him “john-dinner”

    hehe

  2. JG
    December 3, 2009 at 1:10 PM

    Maryse!

  3. Mark
    December 3, 2009 at 5:12 PM

    Any chance you could throw some ecw thoughts into the random thoughts columns

  4. Anonymous
    December 3, 2009 at 9:37 PM

    Perhaps your thoughts on the rumors about shutting down ECW all together? What network options are there for Smackdown? – I don’t see MynetworkTV lasting much longer. Honestly, it would be easier for me to watch if it were on cable, then at least my Tivo could record it off satellite. I’m just wondering if WWE is considering either Syfy or WGN as a future possible home to Smackdown.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

