Home > WWE Johnny Awards 2009 > The 2009 WWE Johnny Awards – Best & Worst Wrestler Vote

The 2009 WWE Johnny Awards – Best & Worst Wrestler Vote

Next Monday (December 14) WWE will be having their Slammy Awards while earlier that same day I will be posting my 2009 WWE Johnny Awards. If you check out my previous post on the blog you can see the 2005 Johnny’s to give you an idea of what kind of categories there will be. I will be changing some, though. I will also be incorporating polls into it. Every day for the next 7 days I will put two polls up. Each poll will be open for 2 or 3 days except the last two, but they aren’t as important in terms of categories. For each award in my writeup I will give you my top three and also list the top three based on the voting that you guys did.

For the awards, the time period I’m using is from December 1, 2008 to November 30, 2009 so it’s the full calendar year of 2009 minus one month. There wasn’t much that happened in December 2008 except for Jeff Hardy winning the WWE title at Armageddon and the Slammy Awards when that lucky bastard the Great Khali kissed my beloved Mickie James-Canton. Don’t think I forgot, Khali!

Important: When you vote, pick three. I’m picking three, so I want you to pick three too. If you want to pick just one or two that’s fine, but the most you’re able to pick is three. Not every poll will have this option, but in the cases of these two that option is available.

These are the nominees for best wrestler named after HBK & the Nature Boy. I decided to put a lot of people on there and I don’t think I missed anybody. If you think I did, put that name in the other selection. Best Wrestler is to be given to the person that best combines workrate, character, mic work and everything else into one. I guess it’s similar to Superstar of the Year except I call these people wrestlers rather than superstars.

These are the nominees for worst wrestler named after Giant Gonzalez. If you saw him wrestle, you know why it’s named after him. If you didn’t see him wrestle, you’re lucky. I don’t really agree with some of names on here being on the worst wrestler, but based on general emails I get claiming hate for certain guys (Cena, HHH, Batista among others) I decided to throw them on here.

Happy voting. I’ll post the Raw Deal where I’ll shill this some more and later Tuesday in the evening I will post the next two polls. I’ll probably be posting these in the evening my time through the next 7 days.

  1. Jon
    December 7, 2009 at 5:20 PM

    Jericho (for me) Punk second no one else is close.

    • VINCENT K. MCMAHON
      December 8, 2009 at 8:07 PM

      VOTE FOR MY SON IN LAW TRIPLE H OR I WILL GIVE YOUR MOTHERS GRAPEFRUIT FLAVORED TEABAGZ!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Andy McKellar
    December 7, 2009 at 5:24 PM

    Ha..

    I voted the majority it appeared

  3. John Clair
    December 7, 2009 at 5:33 PM

    For this year, I dont agree to Jericho being one of the best wrestlers… his only memorable feud this year was with Mysterio, and although the matches were great they werent the best. I have to give the three stars like John Canton does would have to go to CM Punk for his feud with Jeff Hardy and even John Morrisson, which would be my second vote. John Morrisson realy stood out this year on his own and as a face. Third I go for Christian, cause to me he has been carrying ECW for a while (with or without the title), hes another great mic worker, and a hard in-ring worker as well, and i think wwe gave him the low end of the shaft by not putting him on raw or smackdown.

    • Jon
      December 7, 2009 at 8:29 PM

      Jericho was given a heap of shit known as WWE Hall of Famers. He turned that into feud that was better than the ‘Mania main event. He was then given another heap of shit called the Intercontinental Title and he made that meaningful. He was then given a third heap of shit, the Unified Tag Titles. The Tag Title match will most likely be closing the December Pay Per View. He was the only main eventer moved to Smackdown by the draft, and then once the ‘E realized Raw sucked without him, they put him back on Raw, as well as Smackdown. He hasn’t had the best year for Jericho, but he has out performed everyone else on the Roster except maybe Punk, and since he is working with jobbers instead of Jeff Hardy while being on two shows he gets the nod.

  4. Mark
    December 7, 2009 at 6:01 PM

    I think mike knox is half way decent if they could do something with him

  5. Yosh
    December 7, 2009 at 6:32 PM

    Jericho, Punk, and Christian for best. Hardy, HBK, and Edge (I’m biased) were gone too long to make the top 3.

  6. kris Karcher
    December 7, 2009 at 7:11 PM

    Man i am so pumped for the johnny awards. It’s wierd that i am way more excite for the johnnys then the slammys. hmmm…

    • kris Karcher
      December 7, 2009 at 7:11 PM

      excited*

  7. December 7, 2009 at 7:40 PM

    Ha, maybe that should be a poll. What are you more excited about, the Johnny Awards or the Slammy Awards? Nah just kidding. My ego’s not that big. Yet.

    • VINCENT K. MCMAHON
      December 8, 2009 at 8:13 PM

      I WILL CRUSH YOUR AWARDS. I HAVE PYRO,MIDGETS,DANCING PECS AND GROWN MEN IN UNDERWEAR. YOUR THE EQUIVALANT OF TNA IN MY EYES DEAR OLE JOHNNY BOY.

      P.S PIGGY JAMES GOT HER JOB HERE AT WWE BY SUPPLING BEYOND AWESOME BLOWJOBS TO ME MY UNGRATEFUL SON SHANE AND THE FUTURE 25 TIME WORLD WRESTLING CHAMPION TRIPLE H.

  8. Michael Ryne
    December 7, 2009 at 8:31 PM

    Johnny awards would win in a land slide ;)

  9. Kiefer
    December 7, 2009 at 8:57 PM

    i would choose edge but he hasn’t been around for much this year. It’s jericho, punk and had a hard tiem choosing between christian and morrison but i went with morrision. i’m a big fan of his can’t wait for his DVD.

    I think worst is the awful khali, hornswoggle and cena (i don’t think he is entertaining).

  10. Chris Rizzuti
    December 7, 2009 at 9:31 PM

    How could you have a worst wrestler poll and not include Mark Henry? He is the very definition of bad wrestling.

  11. Exodecai
    December 8, 2009 at 7:28 AM

    A shame that Kane has had so many bad feuds over the years, because it’s not him that makes him stand out as a bad wrestler, it’s the god awful feuds that he’s given.

  12. matthew
    December 8, 2009 at 11:25 AM

    i personally would like to see kane and knox tag up, the few times they have tagged they had good chemistry. and Khali is a shoe in for worst wrestler. I would bet a lot of that. I also agree jericho is the best wrestler of the year, while some superstars do only one show, he has done all three in one week, not to move him up the food chain, but to better the product, thats why he has been doing the things he has. Building the tag belts, ic belts, and all three shows. I wasnt a jericho fan at all lately until i really pondered that.

  13. Aaron
    December 8, 2009 at 3:12 PM

    Here’s the sad thing; Noone tood out above and beyond the rest. Arguements can be made for many. Last year Jericho was the man, hands down. I did also vote for Jericho just becuase he does stand out above the rest and he is the ebst at what he does, and I also gave a vote to Ounk just because he’s had to do more with less (Meaning he’s not a 2nd or 3rd generation wrestler, he’s not a McMahon, he doesn’t have a Cena physique). I’d rank it Orton, Punk, Jericho from 1 to 3.

    I’ll be in the minority but I nominate Orton for wrestler of the year. The man may be robotic on the mic at times, but he can get ANYONE over as a face, and does it well. He carries the weight of champion very well, was extremely good in the Hunter ‘McMahon Family Avenger” Hearst Helmsley angle and it’s build up.. had solid in ring action this year (while not 5 star, was very consistant and entertaining). Raw revolved around Orton during the beginning of this year and he did well in his spot. It’s not his fault he’s getting booked in a fresh feud FINALLY, but evidence shows that he can get anyone over. That’s talent, and he’s my choice for best wrestler.

    On the flip side, I cannot vote for Khali simply because he is in a class of his own. He must be related to Giant Gonzales and I think that should disqualify him. Nod here goes to Hornswoggle for ruining too much air time.. TOO much. Khali mildly entertained me with Ozzy and Sharon. Rosa Mendes got a vote becuase.. wow. Horrible in ring work. Best example of why WWE needs more Terri Runnels types and less of this.

    Looking forward to the awards. BTW, did Eve show a little “lip” with that pin? I give the camera man a star for last Monday.

    • vince
      December 9, 2009 at 6:56 PM

      yeah, orton is a great heel. One of the few guys i can actually mark out to. The feud with Kofi just shows he’s gold with any face

  14. Cam
    December 8, 2009 at 7:59 PM

    You know whats weird. Iv’e never thought high of this guy at all but i just gave him the vote for wrestler of the year. Jeff Hardy. I mean he had a great year and fially got elivated while pushing CM Punk to top level…Even though creative can just bring him slowly back down again. and fuck I voted for Ricky Ortiz for worst but i didnt fucking see Hornswoggle. Oh I fucking hate him

  15. December 8, 2009 at 9:09 PM

    If there was a “most improved” category, The Miz would be winning hands down.

  16. Madraf
    December 9, 2009 at 11:21 AM

    The results for HHH are alarming. Is it that the rebel DX image doesn’t fit with him well anymore, maybe just unremarkable matches or “i’m from the Vince’s” label or all of the above?

  17. Vianna
    December 9, 2009 at 11:40 AM

    Christian is definitely superstar of the year to me. He’s been working really well with pretty much all of the ECW roster. Most of his matches has been either good or really good. Hell he even had an entertaining match with Kozlov. CM Punk is up there too. His heel turn was awesome and he developed his character tremendously. And of course Jericho. Though I think Jericho has gotten a little stale as of late, but the guy is still the best in the world at what he does.
    Most improved: The Miz, Dolph Ziggler, Ted Dibiase, Jack Swagger. :)

  18. robyn
    December 9, 2009 at 3:57 PM

    I might be having a blonde moment, but isn’t Ricky Ortiz in the future endeavors club?

  19. December 9, 2009 at 6:27 PM

    Yep, Ortiz got axed.

  20. Dan O
    December 9, 2009 at 9:32 PM

    I didn’t vote for Khali, because as limited as he is in the ring, he’s not shoved down my throat. Abraham Washington has never even wrestled on WWE yet.

    For my vote, I looked at the whole package. The one that’s been shoved down our throats so much…. the freakin midget. No, not Slam Master J.

  21. December 10, 2009 at 7:24 PM

    One of my top three in the best wrestler category didn’t even make the top five with you guys. I’ll give you plenty of reasons why in the column.

  22. Marc
    December 11, 2009 at 12:01 AM

    Jericho has been on a role since he turned heel after WM 24. he went from a great talent to one of the all time greats in the span of about a year and a half. His greatest accomplishemts have been his consistent match quality, and his amazing transformation from Y2J to super serious but just as hilarious righteous jericho. Simply nobody is better today.

  23. Anonymous
    December 14, 2009 at 8:26 PM

    RANDY IS THE BEST

  24. Anonymous
    December 14, 2009 at 8:26 PM

    FUCK CENA HE SUCKS

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

