Home > wwe > News on Bret Hart’s WWE return…

News on Bret Hart’s WWE return…

This is from today’s Wrestling Observer newsletter (f4wonline.com). A source (meaning a WWE higher up) tells Meltzer that Bret Hart has signed a talent contract with WWE from 1/1 to 4/10 meaning the January 4th Raw through to WrestleMania 26. He’s agreed to do an angle based off Survivor Series 1997 and has agreed to one match (probably against Vince @ WM, but that’s just a guess on my part). A second DVD (expected to be Hart Foundation material) is part of the deal.

Meltzer is close with Hart (if you read Bret’s book you know that) and says all Bret told him is that he wasn’t going to lie about anything and thus wasn’t going to say anything on the story.

There’s no confirmation that he will host the January 4th edition of Raw, but that’s what the speculation is. The idea would be that some sort of angle would start on that show with him hosting leading to a Bret/Vince confrontation of some kind at WM26. It could also be some kind of multi person tag with the Hart Dynasty if Bret doesn’t want to wrestle singles. We’ll probably learn more about that in the future.

This is pretty huge and has me very excited about something in WWE for the first time in a long time.

  1. December 16, 2009 at 4:26 PM

    John, I’ve said this before, Bret Hart is my all-time favorite wrestler. This has me near goosebumps. I will definitely be DVR’ing WWE programs for the next four months. If this has any truth to it–this is going to be a historic moment! I’m gonna go nuts when I hear his theme music haha, I feel like I’m 12 again!

  2. December 16, 2009 at 4:33 PM

    Also, I’d lean more towards a multi-person tag with the Hart Dynasty. With the way Bret’s career ended, I can’t see him taking too many shots a street fight would require…plus what better way to return then in the squared circle–where he was THE excellence of execution!

  3. Bubble
    December 16, 2009 at 5:33 PM

    Vince told us, when Piper was the guest host, that he officially retired from in-ring action.
    Oh yeah… it’s the WWE.

  4. kris Karcher
    December 16, 2009 at 6:06 PM

    ohh myy… i call this a direct result of tna pushing wwe. it’s paying off already.

  5. Evan
    December 16, 2009 at 7:58 PM

    I would love to see Bret vs. Shawn at WM

    • Anonymous
      December 17, 2009 at 1:31 AM

      Hart has had a stroke and hasn’t wrestled since 2000. That match would not be what it once was.

  6. bill fedde
    December 16, 2009 at 8:59 PM

    bret is the best of all time with the worst ending to a legacy of all time he needs to end it right the wwe needs to end it right and most of all the true wwf-wwe fans need to give him the proper send off cuz he has urned it i just hope it ends well and i hope he can help with the crappy shows the wwe is putting out there TLC sucked oh yea thanks to hulk hogan for maybe waking up the wwe i doubt it thou

  7. Swanni
    December 16, 2009 at 11:11 PM

    I don’t know whether to slap myself or throw cold water over my head. Bret Hart, back in the WWE. I’ll toast to that. Maybe they can do a screw job at WM26

  8. Adam Neal
    December 17, 2009 at 12:12 AM

    Sweet mother of pearl, the cost of my Royal Rumble tickets quite possibly just became priceless. If Bret comes back, I can die a happy man!

  9. Brian Fedotoff
    December 17, 2009 at 1:05 AM

    Yes!!! Now i’ll actually watch raw instead of just reading the john report. this makes me less sad that jerishow lost the titles to dx if they work with the hart dynasty. (as long as hhh doesn’t bury anyone) btw john love the blogs and columns especially commentfest

  10. J.B. McMurtry
    December 17, 2009 at 1:33 AM

    To quote Joey Styles: “Oh My God!” The day that all true life-long wrestling fans have waited 12 years for! The return of Bret “Hitman” Hart has me excited, yet somehow a little apprehensive. Today’s wrestling fan has become accustomed to short matches, inconsistant storylines and high spots. I can almost see it, Bret’s music hits, about a quarter of the arena will give him a standing ovation, while the rest will be sitting there silently because WWE is PG now and the kids in the audience will have no idea who Hart is. Those of us in our 20’s and older will no doubt love to see Hart end his career on a positive note. Perhaps as Guest Host leading to managing The Hart Dynasty and helping them achieve the greatness that we all know is in them. However, this is WWE, they might turn this into a huge mistake. I don’t Hart vs Michaels happening for a wide variety of reasons. First off, we sill don’t know is Bret would even work with Shawn. He wouldn’t even do the HOF in 2005 unless HBK wasn’t there. Secondly, even if they buried the hatchet long enough to work together, I doubt Shawn would lose at two Wrestlemanias in a row. Especially to Hart. I also don’t see Bret being comforatable putting HBK over, simply because of the bad history involved. Even though it wouldn’t really be believeable to have Bret go over because he’s a 52 year old man who has been retired for a decade now because of health issues. Thirdly, would today’s audience even care that the Hitman wants revenge against McMahon from Survivor Series 97? I would NOT miss the opportunity to see that match, but I’m about to be 27 next month and remember watcing The Screwjob happen live on PPV when I was 14 years old. In any case, Bret Hart coming back is good business all around. I just hope they don’t drop the ball on this one like they did in 2003 when they brought so many well-known stars to lose to HHH. That year, we saw HHH beat Scott Steiner, Kevin Nash and Goldberg. I’m sure that it was WWE’s way of showing that HHH was the most dominant wrestler of the time. But that’s another discussion for another time. If I were a betting man, I’d say bank on Bret managing The Hart Dynasty to greatness or leading to a feud with McMahon. Like I said, in any case, 2010 is going to be an awesome year for wrestling fans and WWE in general. At least until Wrestlemania. Trust me, I won’t be missing a minute of it!

  11. J.B. McMurtry
    December 17, 2009 at 1:34 AM

    Sorry John, I got carried away. I’m pretty excited over here! =)

  12. Adam Coyle
    December 17, 2009 at 5:05 AM

    Im not even gonna try and hide the fact that i totaly MARKED OUT!! when i heard this news. Bret was my childhood hero and i actualy can’t wait to see him back where he belongs. Please WWE don’t screw this up Bret would be such an amazing asset to the company in so many ways!

  13. Cody Badger
    December 17, 2009 at 2:34 PM

    Wouldn’t Brets “lifetime” contract that he signed with WWE be ending right about now if Vince had been able to afford it? Thus making the Montreal Screw Job an event that never would have occurred?

    • Aaron
      December 17, 2009 at 2:48 PM

      Bret’s contract that he signed (I believe it was ’96?) Was a 20 year contract at 1 mil per year. Someone correct me if I’m wrong here.

      • December 17, 2009 at 6:49 PM

        It was 20 years for $20 million. The first three years would be as a wrestler while the rest would be as an agent and an ambassador for WWE. That’s what Bret says in his book.

        • Aaron
          December 18, 2009 at 12:02 PM

          So, I was right in the dollar amount then.. thought so.

          I believe I’ll be getting his book as a gift for christmas, looking forward to reading it. As from what I hear, it’s one of the top wrtestling autobiographies printed.

  14. Aaron
    December 17, 2009 at 2:45 PM

    I also think the current WWE product NEEDS Bret. And on top of that, the current WWE product SUITS Bret. It’s not “smut” TV as Bret often referred to it. He was not an advocate of the risque storylines and scantily clad women of the attitude era. Bret I feel will enojy the product as a whole at this time. Perhaps his influcne will put a little more focus on wrestling, and less on entertainment.. but I highly doubt that. It’s great news to hear, but it’ll take more than Bret alone to make the WWE a consistantly better product to the fans.

    I try to look at the WWE and wrestling from multiple angles. I havea 9 year old son, and he likes wrestling asn is getting into it more and more. What do I want to see, and what does the 9 year old want to see? The 9 year old loves John Cena, Undertaker, and hates Randy Orton, Legacy and Chris Jericho. To WWE’s defense, he is supposed to. I myself amd nearly flip flopped, as I am older, lived through the Hogan era, grew up in my late teens with “Attitude” and am nearing 30 with what I am seeing today which I look at as regression.

    In the end what does my 9 year old and I want to see? WRESTLING!!! My son will ask me before the show (as he knows I read ‘the scoop’ online) “Dad, is this just going to be all talking again, or will they be wrestling?” I sometimes don’t know how to answer him, as I know *I* want to see more wrestling, and to cut the promo times down. It’d be different if we had more guys on the mic then just HBK, Jericho, Orton, and to lesser degrees, HHH and Cena, but We don’t have enough guys to get them selves over verbally. I think Kofi had a chance with his awesome breakthrough in beginning the Orton feud.. but the WWE has seemed to muzzle him. We need less time devoted to promo’s and more time in wrestling. Whatever happended to 90 seconds before your match? Give the guy 90 second to generate his heat (or garner cheers) then introduce the opponent and ring the bell? We’re missing that with too many backstage segments and too many quarter hours devoted to DX comedy routines (which are not very funny).

    I’ve strayed off topic. I guess my point is Bret alone will not save the product, but it will get people our age (22 years old and up) intrigued as to what will happen next.

    Oh and be proud John Report readers, the kid doesn’t like Hornswoggle. I’m teaching him well thus far.

  15. Ryan E
    December 17, 2009 at 3:28 PM

    Bret coming back would/will be awesome. My favourite of all time. He doesn’t have to wrestle, him being there is enough to get me watching again, just to see him. (I haven’t watched it a lot since 2004, though do like to catch WM’s and Rumbles)

  16. December 17, 2009 at 4:46 PM

    regarding vince’s retirement, i believe he said ” im retired until i find better competition” or something very similar to that. Seems like this might have been planned for a month or two before they let word out. Also what are the odds of Hart bringing jericho back to Raw with Hart dynasty, he was trained in the dungeon, so he could be added the same way pillman was

    • Aaron
      December 18, 2009 at 12:04 PM

      I believe the Edge/Jericho feud is inevitable, so the best in the world will be staying put on Smackdown, unless Edge’s injury keeps him out past Mania, and the “draft” would bring them both over to Raw.

  17. ron
    December 17, 2009 at 9:25 PM

    cant wait to see bret back inside the ring..i have a strong feeling there would be a vince and bret match in wrestlemania hbk is the special referee..then hbk will super kick vince and he will raise the hand of bret without knowing bret will give him a sharpshooter..that will rock my world to see hbk tap out

  18. Paul
    December 18, 2009 at 10:43 AM

    Please whatever happens, no more hokey screwjob finishes. It’s about time that Bret got back into the game. This should have happened years ago. Bret’s been holding a grudge for something that was his fault a long time. HBK and Undertaker is going to happen, so it’ll be Bret vs. Vince, and this return will sell a hell of a lot of tickets, which is great for wrestling. Wrestling was getting stale, but the TNA appearance on Monday night and Bret coming back makes it exciting to be a fan again.

    • Aaron
      December 18, 2009 at 12:07 PM

      Hopefully no more screwjobs.. but this is WWE, Vince wants what Vince wants.

      As for tickets, I’m sure ‘Mania will be a sellout.. this would be all about PPV buys… and I did not buy ‘Mania last year becuase I was looking forward to all of two matches (Taker/HBK and MITB) so I felt it wasn’t worht my dollar. Gimme two good matches with a great Bret storyline? Yes, I’m buying.

  19. April 9, 2013 at 10:29 AM

    This was a wonderful article, thanks for the information!

  20. October 26, 2014 at 4:43 AM

    I have been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts
    in this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this site.
    Studying this information So i am satisfied to exhibit that I have
    an incredibly just right uncanny feeling I found out
    just what I needed. I most no doubt will make certain to do not omit this web site and provides it a glance on a relentless basis.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

