Home > wwe > More Thoughts on Bret Hart’s WWE Return

More Thoughts on Bret Hart’s WWE Return

The news of Bret Hart signing a talent contract with WWE is catching fire all over the internet. The gist of it is he’s signed with them from January 1st through April 10, 2010, which will allow him to guest host Raw on January 4th as rumored and appear in some kind of role at WrestleMania 26. Couple of points to discuss here:

– I think WWE had the deal signed before Monday, or at least verbally had it done. They knew this was going to get out, so they had Dennis Miller drop the “Bret Hart” line and it got everybody buzzing. Nobody in WWE has confirmed it as being true, but if it wasn’t true they’d be denying it. So would Bret. It’s true. It’s not an “if” anymore. It’s happening. This backs up the rumor from the late summer that Bret was interested in doing some kind of work with WWE again. I wouldn’t be shocked if we got the official word on Monday’s Raw that he will be hosting on the 4th. It would be wise of WWE to make the announcement two weeks beforehand.

– The idea is he’ll host on January 4th, some kind of confrontation will be had with Vince McMahon and that’ll keep him around on TV for the next three months as they build to WrestleMania. I’d love to see him in a permanent GM role down the line. Maybe they’ll do that after the WM period. It’s at least something to consider.

– The next question is will he be involved in a match and if so, how? He’s apparently agreed to one match (presumably at WM). Does that mean a singles match with Vince? Does it happen maybe with a heel HHH or even Shawn Michaels? I’m not sure. I’d venture to guess that it’s with Vince and that it would be some kind of street fight because that’s really all Vince can do. Plus, I don’t expect Bret Hart to work like he did 12 years ago before he had a stroke. That’s unrealistic obviously.

– The thing about a match is when he retired he collected a handsome monetary figure from the Lloyd’s insurance company. I’m pretty sure that if he wrestled a match again he’d have to give that money back. Again, I’m not aware of the full details of it, so we’ll have to try to find more info on that one.

– How does this involve my Mr. Perfect Johnny Award winners (Most Underused), the Hart Dynasty? David Hart Smith is his nephew, Natalya is his niece and Tyson Kidd (TJ Wilson) practically grew up with the family. He lived nearby in Calgary and trained to wrestle with the family. I hope this elevates that trio. If it led to a six man tag with the Hart Dynasty as faces with Bret against Vince plus a heel duo like CM Punk and Luke Gallows for example it would work well.

– It’s cool that they’ve agreed to release a Hart Foundation collectors DVD too. They were one of my favorite teams growing up.

– On a personal note, I’m so excited for this. Shawn Michaels is my favorite ever, but I love Bret Hart too and the way his WWF career ended was sad. He was so big for the popularity of wrestling in Canada. I fully believe that without Bret Hart’s presence and his carrying of the Canadian flag on a national scale that pro wrestling wouldn’t be as popular as it is. He was huge for the business growing in this country. I am now seriously considering flying to Phoenix (I live near Toronto) for WrestleMania weekend and then heading to Vegas after. Smackdown’s there on Tuesday after Mania, but I’d rather have a debauchery filled time in Vegas. Still, being at Bret’s WrestleMania return would be huge, not to mention the presumed Undertaker/Michaels rematch.

– Regarding the January 4th Raw, it’s still two hours. If it goes to three hours it would be the decision of USA Network, not WWE. At this point they haven’t changed it.

I’ll be reposting my review of Survivor Series 1997 on this blog late tonight at some point. I won’t have time this afternoon. I just wanted to get these thoughts out here while I had time.

Feel free to discuss it more below.

Have a good one,
John

  1. tony m
    December 17, 2009 at 2:16 PM

    the thing bout dropping the name is doesn’t mean it was a done deal considering there constant disses at him like when raw was in canda and they played his music only to have hacksaw come out . I wonder if he can actually wrestle in any way shape or form because of helth issues . can he confront shawn and vince and help elavate the dysasty yes but he not going to realy wrestle . its like with hogan and tna do u realy whant him to get in the ring and hurt himslef or mess up his legasy ? I would love to see him back in the ring but i dont think it will hapen nor should it happen .

  2. Jens
    December 17, 2009 at 2:19 PM

    The Hart Foundation dvd would be cool. If it’s anything like the Bret Hart dvd, it’s gonna be great! I’d buy it. I loved Hart Foundation when I was little.

    I think you’re right John. WWE would never mention it if they ahdn’t sorted something out. Otherwise both parties would have shot down that rumor VERY fast.

    Seing Bret in a match again – however limited his presence might be – would be a huge nostalgia trip for me. He was my favorite until another “canadian” called Christopher Keith Irvine showed up on my TV screen. But I’m still a huge fan. (Youtube people. Do it now!)

    If he’s supposed to wrestle it should be a gimmick match. And it should be against Vince. Wouldn’t it be the obvious choice? Allthough a 6/8-man tag match isn’t unlikely either. Dependeing on Bret’s health/condition. Either way, it could be awesome!

    Just wondering about the insurance. If he gets enough money from this WWE deal, maybe that could cover it?

  3. Dave K.
    December 17, 2009 at 3:09 PM

    I’m just beyond words for this right now. People are going to say this and that about TNA, saying this is how WWE is fighting back, yada yada yada. Plain and simple, this could be the biggest move this century (since it’ll no longer be the decade). I know kids of the 80’s will profess that Hogan is wrestling, but I think if you look a little deeper, Hogan was sports entertainment – Bret Hart was wrestling. If you asked a thousand people who their top three technical wrestlers of all time were, Bret would be on 90% of their lists. Bret was the reason I watched WCW, plain and simple. He’s how I got to find out about guys like Jericho, Misterio Jr, Benoit (rest in peace) … and now to see him come back home … well … this is big.

    Everybody wants him to feud with McMahon. I’d love to see that from an entertainment aspect I guess, one last f#@$% Vince match. But what a waste of talent that would be. Although I will say this right now: if they tag him with anybody other than Jericho, Edge, or Christian, I’ll be pissed. I can see them doing that, as it would be a lesser role.

    As for the Hart Foundation, I can see it going down like how Legacy was formed. Bret does his thing, but each week they’re trying to “prove” themselves to him, with him dismissing them, until the later weeks of March when they’re challenging for the Tag Titles, when he finally puts his stamp of approval. Indirect storyline, not too much, but just enough to keep fans interested.

    I’m going to type more on this later, but this is a monumental day in the history of professional wrestling if it’s all true.

  4. Daniel Mckay
    December 17, 2009 at 3:11 PM

    How bout Bret and Hart Dynasty vs Vince and DX???

  5. Ryan E
    December 17, 2009 at 3:37 PM

    Or even the Harts w/ Bret vs. DX w/ Vince. Bret’s chances of wrestling seem remote to me.

  6. hellboy
    December 17, 2009 at 4:47 PM

    getting bret hart for 4 months in 2010, is a reward for sticking with raw in 2009.

  7. rob
    December 17, 2009 at 5:24 PM

    I was one fan who was absolutley furious with Vince/Micheals/WWF…anyone who screwed Bret. I swore it off. Well, it lasted maybe 2-3 months, especially since the shows got so much better as he left (that had nothing to do with Bret, and more with how the show was changin at the time).
    Seeing him (potentially) back, really gives me mixed feeling.
    I just hope he doesn;t end up looking like a chump.

  8. Anonymous
    December 17, 2009 at 5:57 PM

    I’m just excited by this.

  9. Yaz
    December 17, 2009 at 11:23 PM

    They screwed him once, they’ll screw him again.

  10. Grant
    December 18, 2009 at 3:22 PM

    I’m bored sitting in an airport, so I’ll make a sceneario that could be fun with the return of the hitman. If the Undertaker vs Shawn Michaels rumors are true it could be fun to have Brett Hart as a speacial guest referee. He has previous storylines with both (the obvious being the montreal screwjob). It would make it interesting becuase the whole match you would have to wait and see if he was going to screw over Michaels. Of course the match would have to end in a clean finish, you never want to end a great match with interference.

    On a side note i think it would be interesting if you had a poll asking if “Vince screwed Brett” or if “Brett screwed Brett”. I personally think Vince did what he had to. I belive Brett’s integrety when he says he never would of gone on WCW with the belt, but Eric Bishoff could not be trusted. Those Monday Night wars were nasty with alot of dirty tricks. I could divulge into this longer, but don’t want to bore anybody. Once again I love the blog and you have alot of great wrestling insight.

  1. December 19, 2009 at 12:37 PM

Leave a Reply

