Home > NFL > NFL Picks for Week 15

NFL Picks for Week 15

This has been a weird season for me. My favorite team, the Rams, are having the worst season in the history of the franchise (and that’s saying something). However, this is by far the greatest fantasy season of my life (and I’ve been at it for about 15 years now) and gambling wise it’s been the best of my last five years without question. I think maybe I’m paying more attention to fantasy and gambling because my team sucks so much. I don’t know what it is, but at least I’ve had something salvageable this season.

Last week: 13-3
Season:137-71 (.659) – If I can make it up to the .667 mark I’ll be very pleased.

All game times are Eastern.

Dallas at New Orleans 8:20 PM (Sat)
I’m not picking against the Saints at home. Maybe in the playoffs I will if they’re home to the Vikes and if Minny looks good the week before, but other than that I think they have the best home field advantage in the NFL. Dallas is still trying to find themselves, which is not a good thing to be doing on the road against an undefeated team like this. Drew Brees continues his MVP march with a dominant performance here. I like the Saints to win and cover the number pretty handily. Saints 37-20

New England at Buffalo 1:00 PM
Last year I went to Pats at Bills. It was so windy that when the Bills attempted a 25 yard field goal, it missed wide by about 5 feet because the wind carried the ball so far to the left. We left midway through the third and I spent the next three days curled up in a blanket because I was so sick from it. The Pats won 12-0 I believe. Worst sporting event of my life, no question. This year it’s going to be cold there again although not as windy, so while I expect the Pats to win I think the Bills will cover. Patriots 24-20

Arizona at Detroit 1:00 PM
What Cards team will show up? The dominant one that beat the Vikings in impressive fashion or the one that got destroyed by the Niners? I guess it doesn’t matter that much against a terrible Lions team that is playing in the confines of a dome, which will suit the Cards passing attack just fine. Cardinals 34-14

Miami at Tennessee 1:00 PM
This is a game with two defensive, running type teams fighting for the playoffs. I like how Miami’s playing lately. The defense seems to be improved from earlier in the year, Ricky Williams is running well and Chad Henne’s confidence grows by the week. For fantasy purposes I hope Chris Johnson has a fantastic game again for the Titans, but I’ll pick against them. I like what the Fish are doing right now. Dolphins 23-20

Cleveland at Kansas City 1:00 PM
Chiefs are decent at home, and I’m betting on them. “Hi, my name is John and I have a problem. I bet on the fucking Chiefs/Browns game!” Hey, in the name of gambling, there’s no bad game. Chiefs 24-10

Houston at St. Louis 1:00 PM
My Rams are done. Backups at QB, backups on the OL and Steven Jackson might be out with the H1N1 flu. I hate this season. The Rams have little chance with Jackson. They have no chance without him. The Texans should win rather convincingly. Texans 37-10

Atlanta at NY Jets 1:00 PM
I’m going Atlanta. No rhyme or reason, I just am. It’s one of those games that jumped out at me as a good underdog pick. The fact that it’s cold and might be snowy in the Jersey area means it’ll be a low scoring, ugly type of game. Injuries don’t matter as much in games like that. Plus, I really don’t believe in the Jets. Falcons 14-13

San Francisco at Philadelphia 1:00 PM
I made a mistake underestimating the Niners last week at home. They’re pretty good when they play at the Stick. On the road is a different story. I think Alex Smith gets rattled a lot more. He’s not experienced enough to have good games away from home in a tough environment like Philly. The Eagles are playing for a division as well as a potential first round bye if the Vikings slip up, so I think they’ll have an impressive outing here. They’re notorious for playing well in December too. Eagles 27-14

Chicago at Baltimore 4:05 PM
The snowstorm that’s devouring the eastern US right now is supposedly the worst in Baltimore, which is why they’ve moved this game from 1pm to 4pm. The reason is because they want to have more time to clean the roads to allow people to get to and from the game. Low scoring game here. Baltimore’s the better team, though. Ravens 13-6

Oakland at Denver 4:05 PM
Picked the Raiders last week. Never again. I don’t think Brandon Marshall will catch 21 again going against the great Nnamdi of the Raiders, but they are too good defensively at home for the Raiders to do much. Broncos 24-10

Cincinnati at San Diego 4:05 PM
This is the battle for the #2 seed in the AFC. I liked the Chargers the minute I saw the game. However, with the passing of Chris Henry this week there’s a chance that the Bengals overachieve a bit especially on offense. Maybe they up their game in memory of their deceased teammate to the point where they pull out the win. Could happen. They are talented. I just like the Chargers more. Phil Rivers is playing at such a high level right now that it’s hard for me to go against them at home. Chargers 31-14

Green Bay at Pittsburgh 4:15 PM
I’m tired of picking the Steelers and losing. I the Packers are one of the five best teams in the NFL (after the Colts, Saints, Vikes and Chargers in some order), so I’m going to pick them to continue their hot streak. The Steelers secondary is banged up. Against a good passing attack like the Packers have that’s going to be a problem. Packers 24-20

Tampa Bay at Seattle 4:15 PM
Long flight for Tampa. They’re not any good at home. They’re even worse on the road. I’ll go with Seattle rather comfortably. Seahawks 31-10

Minnesota at Carolina 8:20 PM
Matt Moore against this defense? No thanks. Panthers have pretty much quit on coach John Fox, who is going to get fired in about three weeks. The Vikes need wins to clinch the two seed, so they should roll here as the Brett & AP Show continues to produce. Vikings 27-13

NY Giants at Washington 8:30 PM (Mon)
I like the Skins here. Wait, I should rephrase that. I don’t like the Giants very much right now. That defense has become below average after being the best for most of last year. Even the Redskins should be able to pick it apart because they’re passing the ball a lot better since bingo man Sherm Lewis has been calling the plays. Also, remember, Jason Campbell’s playing for a contract and he’s been decent the last few weeks. Redskins 20-17

JC’s Money Picks
Every week I’ll pick four games against the spread or using the over/under. I was 3-1 last week (stupid Cards!). These odds come from pinnaclesports.com as always.

Season: 34-25-1 (.576)

Ravens/Bears UNDER 39½. By Sunday this number will probably be 33 or 34, so I’ll gladly take the under at this number.
CHIEFS -1 over the Browns. Yes, I already know I’m a degenerate for betting on this game.
CHARGERS -7 over the Bengals. Wish it was 6½, but I think SD should be fine at 7.
Dolphins +4 over the TITANS. Rolling with the road underdog. I think they’re the better team.

See you next week for week sixteen. Merry Christmas and if you’re not celebrating happy holidays anyway.

Enjoy the games.

John Canton
oratoryjohn@gmail.com
johnreport.wordpress.com

Categories: NFL
  1. Aaron
    December 23, 2009 at 2:28 PM

    Not a lot of money made based on those money selections… Ouch.

    And a Rams fan? I’m a Lions fan so… who feels more depressed at the end of the day (Though boith teams put up a fight this week on home soil, good for them. A 1UP for moral victories!)

    Agreed on the gambling aspect.. and I think when your team sucks, you invest your time elsewhere. And if you love football as much as I do, you’ll invest your ffort in other areas of the sport. As far as fantasy, in 4 leagues, and made the semi-finals in all four… unfortunately, I had some bad luck and matched up against the only guys I could lose to in three of the 4. So It’s three consolation third place games in $100 leagues, and one trip to the finals in my $250 league… so, I won’t be picky I guess.

    Best of luck these final two weeks. Go Lions… to the top 5 of the draft.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

