Home > General Wrestling, wwe > TJR: Thoughts on WWE’s Tribute to the Troops 2009

TJR: Thoughts on WWE’s Tribute to the Troops 2009

I ended up watching WWE’s Tribute to the Troops 2009 special this morning. I DVR’d it from last night and it was inspiring stuff, as always. I’m not sure what kind of rating it’s going to get from being on a Saturday night on NBC, but that’s irrelevant in this case. It was about performing for those that protect us.

It’s not the kind of show where you worry about match quality or star ratings. Yeah, the matches like Miz vs. Morrison and Cena vs. Jericho were both good, but what matters is seeing that crowd react to the matches in the way that they did. The video packages that WWE ran all night were fantastic as we heard from soldiers sending messages to home as well as WWE’s performers posing with them.

I thought John Cena’s speech to the troops in the center of the ring was excellent. This is why I have a hard time ever criticizing the guy. I think he’s somebody that’s genuine in the things he says and does. Yes, his wrestling character may be too kid friendly at times and they may script him to say things that make you scratch your head. However, if you heard what he had to say to the troops you know that he spoke from his heart. I’ve never thought of him as being a “corporate puppet” as some might say. He’s always come across as being a legit, real guy to me. I wish some of the Cena “haters” that constantly complain about the guy saw this and if they did hopefully they can separate the man from the character.

On a personal note, every so often I get emails from people stationed overseas in Iraq or Afghanistan. They write to me about how they are WWE fans that miss following the product. They read columns like mine to keep up to date on what’s happening, which is honestly the biggest reason why I write as much as I do. I try to be thorough in my descriptions because of guys like that who have no other way of really following the product. When they thank me for writing I feel almost guilty. Thanking me? I’m just some guy sitting in my house watching and writing about the wrestling business. They’re the ones that have left their loved ones behind to serve their country. I’m always quick to thank them for what they do for us because without them who knows what our lives would be like. I don’t want to post any emails without asking for permission, but in the future I will make it a point to ask and share some of them with you on my blog.

As much as I enjoy watching Tribute to the Troops, I hope that a day comes where there’s no need for that kind of show. I want the troops to be safe at home. I want countries like Iraq and Afghanistan to find peace. I know that’s the mission and while George Bush’s “Mission Accomplished” speech was very premature all those years ago, I can only hope and pray that the mission of those serving overseas is a successful one.

I’ll end this by saying please try to watch this show. I don’t think it’s asking too much to give up an hour of your day to watch this. The smiles on the faces of the people from WWE as well as the troops is more than enough to give this a look.

After all they do for us; it’s is the least you can do for them.

Thanks for reading. Have a safe and happy holiday season.

John

P.S. Regarding ECW and TNA, I have both sitting in my DVR. I don’t see myself having time this week to watch and write about them. I’ve got family coming in from out of town that I haven’t seen in months and we’re going to spend time together all week. Aside from Raw and Smackdown, I doubt I’ll watch much wrestling this next week. In those cases, I doubt I’ll even watch the shows without fast forwarding a bit. We all need a break sometime, right?

  1. Mark T
    December 20, 2009 at 12:09 PM

    Thanks for all u do John….have fun

  2. tony m
    December 20, 2009 at 12:38 PM

    john , that is really kewl that u write as much and the way u do for the troops . you see the big picture in ur columns and i think that is kewl . The matches were good but they werent even close to the main point of the show because of all the highlight clips of stuff they did with the troops . On one hand , this is something i look foward tp every year but like u hope one day there is no more need for it.

  3. Lacie
    December 20, 2009 at 3:07 PM

    Soldier, that was mean! He can have his own opinions if he wants to! He’s not being a kiss ass, more of being a gentleman who is aware of the the horrible crap going on in the world, and realizing that whoever decides to sacrifice many things (including their lives) for freedom should be recognized as heroes.

    John, your writing is wonderful, I’m glad you feel that way!

  4. Dangerzone
    December 20, 2009 at 3:09 PM

    Enjoy the holidays John!

  5. Adam Dawes
    December 20, 2009 at 3:17 PM

    There are Canadian troops in Afghanistan, and they fight alongside everyone else to secure our freedom, and help bring peace to that country for their people, so keep it shut U.S.A Soldier. You shouldn’t claim to be such things when in fact the message that you are trying to get across would disgust the vast majority of the U.S Army. Merry f’n Christmas, douchebag.

  6. December 20, 2009 at 4:28 PM

    I took out the comment by the “soldier.” It was BS. Hopefully it blocks him from being able to post in the future.

  7. Brian
    December 20, 2009 at 5:49 PM

    I’ve never liked the character, but as you say, the man seems to be genuine in what he says, and that is a good thing.
    But I bet every single soldier over there (from any country) could sell a move better than him hahahaha!
    Lol

  8. December 21, 2009 at 12:34 PM

    We still get the tribute to the troops shows here in Australia and I tear up every year they’re on. Something about those messages to back home really hits me in my sad spot.

  9. Aaron
    December 23, 2009 at 2:18 PM

    It’s a nice show and I atch it sometimes.. And I agree with you on some points about Cena..

    But whicle I try to distance myself from “Cena Harters” I can’t help but think of the guy as a puppet. The man could stand up and say “you know, this sucks. I’m not doing this”… It’s easy in my position not collecting 7 figures like Cena is, so I don’t blame him. But I think he’s in a strong enough position (and I respect Bret Hart for this) to where he can throw out a veto every now and again.. unless he thinks his character is really that interesting.

    He could aslo sell a move a little longer, and no I don’t mean a beat down culmiantion, I mean mid match selling….

    He should rap again too. :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

