Home > Movies & TV > My Favorite Christmas Films, TV and Music

My Favorite Christmas Films, TV and Music

I can’t be all wrestling and football. I need to expand a bit. Every year at Christmas time I go through the same routine as far as what movies or TV shows I watch as well as my listing of favorite songs. I figured I might as well share that here and see what you guys tend to watch.

Movies:
A Christmas Story – It’s on as I’m writing this. Is it wrong that I cheer for Ralphie when the scene comes with him beating the crap out of the bully that tortures him? It’s one of the greatest babyface moments in the history of movies, right? At least for Christmas movies.

Home Alone – I watch this one with my three nephews and niece every year. We watched it a couple of nights ago. The movie was one of the first ones I ever saw in the theatre when it came out (I was 9 years old) and I still find it to be pretty funny to see a kid outsmart the burglars the way Kevin did.

Bad Santa – I was so happy this movie has come around as a Christmas classic. It’s raunchy, but in a funny way. Perfect casting with Billy Bob Thornton too. He pulls off the miserable bastard character so well. A natural at it.

National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation – Tremendous fun. There are so many good scenes in this one including when he puts the lights on the house and also when he’s talking to the hot chick with the nice “ornaments.” You watch this and you remember that Chevy Chase really was funny.

Elf – I’m a Will Ferrell guy. Anything he’s in, I’ll give it a whirl. This is a bit cheesy at times although the more I’ve seen it the more I’ve liked it. I couldn’t see many other actors carrying this movie the way Will did.

I can’t watch “It’s a Wonderful Life” in full anymore. I can watch it in pieces, but I’ve seen it too many times now. I need some comedy to keep me watching.

TV:
The Grinch Who Stole Christmas – The original one. I’ve probably seen it every year and I will see it again this year. It’s the most classic Christmas movie or TV show that there is.

Mr. Hankey’s Christmas Classics from South Park – The episode where they sing the Christmas carols is one of the ten best episodes they’ve ever done and that’s saying something.

Denis Leary’s Merry F’N Christmas – Leary’s probably my favorite comedian ever, so this makes my list. I wish he did it every year.

I like others like Rudolph and Frosty, but they’re not must watch for me anymore.

Music:
Jingle Bells – Unquestionably the number one Christmas song. I will not listen to any arguments that oppose that statement. It’s Jingle Bells.

Deck the Halls – A solid tune. Easy to remember the words even though nobody ever uses the word “boughs” in everyday life. The version of this song that is sung by the Asian guys in the restaurant in “A Christmas Story” is the best ever.

Silent Night – Good lyrics. Nice peaceful tune. I am a fan of it.

A Lonely Jew on Christmas – By Kyle from South Park. Is it wrong that I know every single word to this one? I do.

The Hannukah Song – By Adam Sandler. There are three different versions with the second one being my favorite of the three. Highly recommended if you’ve never heard them.

I also want to punch the person that wrote Joy To The World. They’re too happy. Must have been on the sauce when they wrote that.

I wrote this in about ten minutes. I might be forgetting stuff, but this is what came to mind.

Please add your own below. Merry Christmas!

  1. Priceless
    December 23, 2009 at 1:39 PM

    Excellent choices on your top two moves. “A Christmas Story” is on my yearly to-watch list, though they killed “Home Alone” for me by following up with five bastardized spawn that they call sequels.

  2. December 23, 2009 at 3:46 PM

    My favorite Christmas movie has, and always will be, Die Hard. Its a modern tale that emphasizes the same morals as other Holiday classics.

    • Aaron
      December 28, 2009 at 2:53 PM

      How the hell is Die Hard a christmas movie? Becuase it takes place at a Christmas party?

      No.. not a christmas movie.

  3. Andy McKellar
    December 23, 2009 at 3:58 PM

    ELF is my fave ever Xmas film.. Its just on my level..!

    I also love all South Park work but I remember the xmas episode with all the songs.. Dradle and all that.. lol

    I aint seen alot of ur stuff there John.! Pogues in my fave xmas song although I’m a sucker for White Christmas, sad I know..!

    Merry Christmas :)

    • December 23, 2009 at 7:14 PM

      Yeah, I figured Elf was a fave of yours since you’ve got the pic from the movie on your fbook page.

  4. Andy McKellar
    December 23, 2009 at 3:58 PM

    ELF is actually in my fave top 5 films

  5. December 23, 2009 at 4:09 PM

    Man this is a fantastic list, Christmas story will be on my tv from Christmas eve til Boxing Day in Canada. See I love my neighbors to the north.

    • December 23, 2009 at 7:02 PM

      You get a point for the Boxing Day reference. It’s basically a BS holiday that’s just made up so we can have a day off after Christmas and everything in the stores are on sale at really good prices.

      • December 23, 2009 at 7:41 PM

        I always wondered what that was when I saw it on the Calendar but never remembered to ask a Canadian. Thanks for the explanation.

  6. rob
    December 23, 2009 at 4:36 PM

    Music –
    The entire Charlie Brown Christmas soundtrack, done by (there is no way i am spelling this right, so , appolgies…) Vince Guardino (?)

  7. Michael Ryne
    December 23, 2009 at 5:19 PM

    My absolute all-time favorite Christmas movie is easily, ‘The Nightmare Before Christmas’, absolutely amazing.
    I also love ‘The Grinch Who Stole Christmas’ with Jim Carey in it, and also ‘The Santa Claus’ with Tim Allen.
    The Charlie Brown Christmas special is timeless, and so are the Rudolph and Frosty specials.
    I also love ‘Elf’ for sure, and even ‘8 Crazy Nights’ is pretty good too!
    The South Park singing episode is excellent like you said, and I also love the episode ‘Merry Christmas, Charlie Manson’

    My favorite Christmas songs are Rudolph, Frosty, 12 Days Of Christmas, and of course, Jingle Bells.

    • December 23, 2009 at 7:13 PM

      Good choice. I think I was too old by the time The Santa Claus and Carrey’s Grinch came out. Maybe if I was ten years younger they would have had more of an impact on me. It’s no surprise that A Christmas Story and Home Alone hold a lot of memories for me since they were movies of the 80s.

      All the South Park Christmas episodes are really good. The first one, with the birth of Mr. Hanky, was epic at the time.

  8. Jay
    December 23, 2009 at 9:40 PM

    National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation and Bad Santa are 2 of the top 25 movies of all time. (They may even make my top 10.) While Chevy Chase is good in this movie, Randy Quaid shows his comedic genious. The scene where Billy Bob Thorton and the “little person” teach Therman Merman how to box is amazing.

    Elf isn’t bad either, but none of the rest can touch Christmas Vacation or Bad Santa.

  9. Anonymous
    December 24, 2009 at 11:20 AM

    Christmas story rocks…best Christmas movie ever PERIOD!!!

  10. December 24, 2009 at 12:05 PM

    I think christmas story is such a great movie. I have seen it 3 times, and I plan to see it again this christmas. Merry Christmas!!

  11. Nathan
    December 25, 2009 at 6:49 PM

    Home Alone 2 was a great sequel…. TURTLE DOVES! (in creepy old-man Duncan voice)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

