Home > Movies & TV > Top 5 Movies & TV Shows of the 2000s (Drama/Comedy)

Top 5 Movies & TV Shows of the 2000s (Drama/Comedy)

I write about wrestling and sports obviously. Wrestling is the main thing I write about on this blog and it will continue to be. However, with the decade winding down I thought it would be cool to look back on the best of the decade in movies and TV. I nearly went into film school out of high school, but decided against it. I did take some university level film classes out of curiosity more than anything. It helped me appreciate film more, that’s for sure.

Here are my top five dramatic and comedic movies of the 2000s as well as my top five dramatic and comedic TV series of the 2000s. If you don’t like spoilers for stuff then leave. I’m writing about stuff that took place over the course of a decade. It’s not like you haven’t had time to see this stuff.

Top 5 Movies of the 2000s – Drama

It was a decent decade for movie dramas. I liked the 90s more (Pulp Fiction, Shawshank Redemption, American Beauty) while the 80s gave me my favorite drama ever (Goodfellas) and the 70s of course had the two Godfather films. I don’t know if any of these will crack my top ten all-time, but I still liked them a bunch.

1. No Country For Old Men (2007) – One of those movies that when you watch the first you realize it’s really good, but when you watch it a few times you see just how smart it is. Great dialogue, strong acting and a simple story that they pull off really well. I absolutely love the main heel character, Anton. What a cold hearted killer.

2. The Departed (2006) – Probably the movie with the best cast this decade (Nicholson, DiCaprio, Damon, Wahlberg, Baldwin, Sheen, etc.). The plot is very good with a lot of funny dialogue mixed into it. The ending is a bit cheesy with the rat, but not enough to tarnish it for me. I’m a huge Scorsese fan.

3. 300 (2006) – I think I like this more than most do. I’m a Greek male, though, so this was right up my alley. You know how the Spartans were the badasses while the Arcadians were the ones that didn’t fight because they thought they were crazy? My family is Arcadian. Yeah, I’m a wimp. I can live with that.

4. Gladiator (2000) – Another great guy movie. I remember seeing this in the theater and people reacted to some of the scenes with cheers. No movie reminds me of pro wrestling more than this. The babyface had to overcome so much to find happiness and when he does you love him for it.

5. The Dark Knight (2008) – I saw this about two weeks after it came out. Everybody was telling me how great it was. I liked Batman Begins, but didn’t love it. I was a fan of the 1989 Batman. This one, though? Wow, it’s amazing. From the first scene in the bank you really can’t turn away. Love it.

Others I really liked: Almost Famous, The Wrestler, There Will Be Blood, Traffic, Inglourios Basterds and Michael Clayton

(Late Edit: Throw in American Gangster too. Good film. Didn’t love it as much as I thought I would and it was a bit too long.)

Top 5 Movies of the 2000s – Comedy

For me comedy means it has to be funny pretty much the whole time. I don’t consider a movie like Sideways to be a comedy even though some might.

1. Borat (2006) – I hyped this up for most of my friends. I was a huge Ali G fan, so when Borat was announced I was so excited. It came out on my birthday. I went with about 20 of my closest friends. I can say without a shadow of a doubt I’ve never had more fun watching two men wrestle naked in a hotel room, in an elevator and in a convention. I’ve probaly seen it 20 times by now and it never gets old. I still laugh at the jokes. My favorite scenes are with the driving instructor. “I eat your shit! Fuck my mother!” It’s probably my favorite comedy ever.

2. Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy (2004) – No movie this decade has caused me to recite lines from it as much as this one. I remember it came out and I’d have friends who I’d chat with on MSN/AIM where all we would do is throw in lines from this movie. It didn’t get old. Always worth a chuckle. And remember, 60% of the time it works…every time.

3. The Hangover (2009) – Proof that you don’t need a Stiller or Vaughn to carry a comedy. Good writing goes a long way. It’s silly the whole way through. That’s what I love. I think Zack Galifanakis’ Alan character is the star of this one. So many funny one liners and he’s great at physical comedy too although we saw way to much of his ass. The scene when they wake up from their bender is fantastic.

4. Knocked Up (2007) – Pretty good story of a fat stoner without much of a life knocking up a hot chick and then seeing how their lives mesh together with news of a baby. I think what makes this one great are the roles of the main character’s friends as well as the sister/brother in law of the pregnant chick. Those scenes are classic. I also thought Dr. Ken was fantastic in the delivery room. The best scene is the deleted one where he goes nuts about how they called him while he was banging his wife. It’s on youtube, I think.

5. Tropic Thunder (2008) – Silly all the way through without ever trying to be serious. The entire cast is great with Stiller as the lead (how can you not love a name like Tugg Speedman?), Downey as the white guy that thinks he’s black, the rapper that’s gay and Black as the raving drug addict. What shocked me so much was how great a robot like Tom Cruise was. I was stunned that he could be that funny.

Others I really liked: My Big Fat Greek Wedding (as a Greek I’d say it was pretty accurate), Best In Show, 40 Year Old Virgin, Meet the Parents, Wedding Crashers and Old School

Top 5 TV Shows of the 2000s – Drama
I think it was an awesome decade for TV dramas. Easily the best ever. Blows the 90s away. I’ve become pretty obssessed with these top five of mine. Never got sick of any of them and always got excited about the next episodes.

1. The Wire (HBO) – Ended in 2008. I watched the entire five seasons over the course of a few months from like May to August. So glad I did. It was better than advertised by my friends that had seen it. It’s an amazing look at the Baltimore drug scene featuring a lot of diverse characters, funny dialogues and a hell of a lot of murder. You know it’s a special show when after you watch a lead character die you almost feel bad for the person because you feel like you got to know them. That’s what makes it special to me. The fact that this show wasn’t even nominated for an Emmy as best drama should be enough reason for you to realize award shows are worthless.

2. The Sopranos (HBO) – Ended in 2007. Right up my alley as a fan of mafia films. Great casting the entire series (could anybody else pull of Silvio or Paulie Walnuts as well?), smart dialogue and every season was really good for the most part. Don’t let the ending tarnish it. So what if it leaves you asking questions. Would you be happier if the guy died at the end? I wouldn’t. It leaves it open to interpretation.

3. Lost (ABC) – Ending in 2010. By far this is the show that makes you want to read up on it before the season, after an episode airs and frankly all the time. What’s happening next week? What did I just see? What did I miss in the last episode? So many freakinq questions. And the cast is marvelous too. There weren’t many name people going in except Matthew Fox, but now you realize just how good some of them are. My two favorites are by far John Locke and Ben while Kate is easily my TV crush of the decade (aside from Trish Stratus).

4. 24 (Fox) – Ending in 2010? I was a late bloomer for this one too, having caught up on the first three seasons before watching it regularly since season 4. It’s pure action without any comedy or desire to be what it isn’t. I like that. It knows it should be violent and to the point with its stories. No show is better at providing twist and turns over the course of a season. Is it realistic that a guy would have seven days as bad as Jack Bauer has? No, of course it’s not. Big deal. In terms of action, this is the show that delivers the most and makes you feel like you’re watching a movie every week rather than a TV show. I love me some Jack Bauer. Yeah, I said it.

I’m going to be sad in May when Lost airs its series finale and 24 might be done too. I will need to be loved after I experience those losses.

5. Rescue Me (FX) – Ongoing. This is the best show on television that not enough people are watching. It’s a great show that is almost never cheery or campy. It’s always raw, miserable and it pushes the envelope quite a bit too. I really enjoyed this past season with Michael J. Fox doing an amazing job playing a crippled guy that dates Tommy Gavin’s (the main character) ex-wife. I don’t think I’ve ever been sadder watching a TV show then when Tommy’s son dies due to a drunk driver.

Others I like: Mad Men (I like it fine although it’s a little too slow for me), Friday Night Lights (underrated), CSI Miami (I like two of the women on it), Six Feet Under (dark, dreary, depressing)

Need to watch: Dexter, Breaking Bad, The Shield

Top 5 TV Shows of the 2000s – Comedy

I’m counting TV series here. Shows like the Daily Show and Colbert Report are great, but they are more like variety shows.

1. Curb Your Enthusiasm (HBO) – Easy number one for me. Took off where Seinfeld stopped although at only ten episodes per season I crave more of it. I love how neurotic Larry can take a simple thing like a woman asking for too many samples in an ice cream store and make it funny. I love the supporting cast like Jeff, Marty, Leon and Larry’s dad among others. The season finale of the third season (the restaurant one, which is also the best season) is one of the best episodes ever of any show. I’m pretty sure it’s on youtube, but here it is in written form from imdb’s quote page.

Restaraunt Chef: [Larry hires a chef who has Tourette’s Syndrome] Fuckhead shitface cocksucker asshole son of a bitch!
[the restaurant suddenly turns silent]
Larry David: [Remembering seeing some high school students support a kid with cancer] Maybe one day I’ll get a chance to do something good for somebody like that.
Larry David: [Aloud] Scum-sucking motherfucking whore!
Jeff Greene: Cock! Cock! Jism! Grandma! Cock!
Michael York: Bum! Fuck, turd, fart… cunt, piss, shit, bugger and balls!
Restaurant Manager: Dammit… hell… crap… ssssssshit!
Cheryl: Ya goddamn motherfuckin’ bitch!
Susie Greene: [Thinking Cheryl is yelling at her] Fuck you, you car wash cunt! I HAD A DENTAL APPOINTMENT!
Cheryl’s Dad: Fellatio, cunnilingus, french kissing! Rimjob.
Richard Lewis: Pussy pig fucker!
Jeff Greene’s Dad: Boy cock, girl cock, E-I-E-I-O!
[Everyone in the restaurant is now laughing hysterically]

2. South Park (Comedy Central) – I think they’ve improved as the years have gone on. It’s silly, over the top and raunchy, which is why I love it. My favorite character is Cartman of course although the evolution of Randy Marsh has been phenomenal to watch. Best scene ever is the cripple fight with Jimmy vs. Timmy.

3. Family Guy (Fox) – I’m something of a late bloomer with this one although I like the fact that I can watch it on reruns and always laugh my ass off. I’ve seen every episode of the Simpsons and Seinfeld too many times now, so this is my go to rerun show. It basically takes all the great things that the Simpsons did in the 90s and puts more of an edge on it. I love the Griffins.

4. The Office (US Version – NBC) – The best episodes are some of the best 30 minutes (or an hour) of comedic television I’ve ever seen. The problem is sometimes the weaker episodes are too over the top and too silly even for me. I get a kick out of the relationship between Jim and Dwight, I like Andy being the nerd that he is and Kevin as the weird fat guy. I love the cast with Creed being my favorite although that might be because he’s used in such small doses. His lines are fantastic, though.

5. Chappelle’s Show (Comedy Central) – Forgot about this one? I didn’t. One of the biggest TV tragedies of the decade was that David Chappelle went nuts after he became a success. I guess in hindsight it might be a good thing because it never went past its prime like most shows do. This show was huge for the two main years it ran. My favorite sketch has to be the one where he goes into the hood with Wayne Brady, the whitest black guy ever. The parodies of Rick James, Lil John and Prince are classic too. I miss Chappelle’s Show. I need to re-watch it again soon.

Others I like: Entourage (loved the first three season although it gets worse every season), The Simpsons (well past its prime, but still good on occasion), Eastbound and Down (love it even though there’s been only six episodes).

Need to watch more of: 30 Rock, It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, Californication and Arrested Development. I don’t watch the CBS ones like Two and a Half Men or How I Met Your Mother. Maybe I should.

That was fun. What are some of your faves?

Categories: Movies & TV
  1. Grant C
    December 27, 2009 at 11:54 AM

    Cant believe as a fan of gangster movies that American Gangster wasn’t on your top 5 list. Amazing story (that was based off the lives of two harlem drug dealers combined into Denzel Washinton’s character) and even better acting. In fact it was so good that I would say imo its a better movie than American Beauty and Pulp Fiction but slightly below goodfellas and certainly bellow shawshank redemption.

    Btw, Godfather 1 by far the best movie ever, Godfather II by far the second best movie ever

    • December 27, 2009 at 12:37 PM

      Ah shit, I forgot about American Gangster. I did enjoy it, but didn’t love it as much as I thought I would. It was a bit too long for me.

  2. December 27, 2009 at 11:56 AM

    Long time reader (like must be 5 or 6 years now?) first time responder.

    Loved the list, but there was one glaring piece on it that made me do a double-take. Borat as #1 comedy. You are the very first person I’ve known, both on and off the internet, who’s actually said something positive about Borat. There were a couple of spots that got legit laughs out of me (national anthem comes to mind) but overall I thought this was probably one of the stupidest movies I have ever seen, and not in a funny way. It honestly reminds me of what Monday Night Raw is now when you compare in terms of actual comedic value. Really, really stunned with that pick.

    Movies/Shows/Cartoons I enjoyed (you did ask for our feedback, right? xD):

    1. The Dark Knight (2008; HUGE batman fangirl)
    2. The Venture Bros. (2003; cartoon sitcom/johnny quest kind of idea, probably the funniest thing on TV these days. Favorite show ever.)
    3. Gran Turino (2008(?) Most badass old man ever. Al Wilson would hang his head in shame, god rest his smutty soul)
    4. Clone High (2002; Cartoon again, was put on hiatus after the guy who voiced abe went to SNL. This show was kinda the last thing me and my best friends – guys n gals – watched before we all did the growing up – splitsville thing. Lot of funny cameos, from Jack Black to Tom Green. It’s only 13 episodes, worth a spin!)
    5. Lost (You rock, John!)
    6. Big Fish (2003; my favorite movie of all time)
    7. Donnie Darko (2001; never had so much fun with a mindfuck. Way better than that Katie Vick fiasco.)
    8. Gladiator (dont think I need to explain this one)

    I’m gonna stop there cuz my brain is starting to hurt.

  3. December 27, 2009 at 12:27 PM

    Love the list of comedy films. Borat was OK, but nothing special – in the sense that because there was no real “deeper” story than here’s this bloke taking the piss, it wasn’t as funny.

    My list would be;

    1. Anchorman; “I’m Ron Burgundy?” “Damnit, who put a question mark on the tele-prompter?!”
    2. 40 Year Old Virgin; “I need some poooooooon….”
    3. The Hangover; Even if it’s just for the highly camp gang leader they have naked in the trunk of their car.
    4. Superbad; “Can I shoot it?” “Go for it…” *shoots gun* *sirens in the distance* “SHIT, THE COPS!” *run off towards their own cop car & speed off*
    5. Tropic Thunder; “I’m the dude, playing the dude, disguised as another dude! YOU’RE THE DUDE WHO DOESN’T KNOW WHAT DUDE HE IS!”

    Honorable mentions for Knocked Up – I got the double-DVD set with that & Superbad and I much prefer Superbad, Old School (double DVD set with Anchorman, again, Anchorman is much superior), Evan Almighty & Bruce Almighty – the latter, I think, is better because I love Steve Carrell (as you can probably tell from Anchorman/40 Year Old Virgin!).

    Scrubs is one of my favourite TV comedies, so that would have to be on that list, along with Arrested Development that I’ve only just started to watch, but I’m in love with it already!

    Over here in the UK we don’t get everything that’s on your list – at least not on the free-to-air channels, so I haven’t seen them (or I haven’t searched them out on the internet or on more obscure free channels when they’ve been on).

    LOST and 24 would certainly be my 2 top TV Dramas. Can’t get enough of them. Criminal Minds would be somewhere on there as well. I’ve re-watched Season 1 through to the newest episodes of Season 5 (downloaded because it’s not aired in the UK until the New Year probably on a channel that I don’t have!) and I still love it.

    CSI:NY is my favourite of that group of programs. It feels more raw in the sense that it’s in the big city, there’s rough areas to contend with so it feels like the crimes fit the location moreso than in Miami where it’s always sunny, there’s all these holidaymakers etc and someone gets shot on a boat because of a tennis match that went awry. Doesn’t really engage me that much.

    Fringe would also be somewhere there, but again, it’s purely because the stuff on your list I haven’t seen because it’s not readily available for me.

  4. December 27, 2009 at 12:57 PM

    I posted on Twitter as a general post: “Toughest decision in my best of 00’s was Borat vs. Anchorman. I went with Borat, but it’s so close. Great success!”

    Mickie saw it and replied: “@johnreport really? I only liked parts of borat! Others I cringed… Lol. Anchorman however! Amazing. Well pretty much anything ferrell does”

    I replied to her: “@mickiejamesdiva Agree about Ferrell. Love that guy. Most girls don’t love Borat, which is understandable. Very nice, how much?”

    It’s nice to know she reads my shit even when I don’t message her. And people wonder why I love this woman. :)

    I’m off to watch football for the day. I’ll respond to stuff later. It’s only been 30 minutes and I’m getting a ton of responses on twitter and facebook. People love lists. I need to write more lists.

  5. German
    December 27, 2009 at 1:44 PM

    In my opinion Ben Stiller is the best actor in comedy – movies.
    I love “Meet the Parents” and “Meet the Fockers”

    best regards from Germany

  6. December 27, 2009 at 2:14 PM

    Awesome list man. South Park is a favorite of mine as well and I completely agree on the whole Randy Marsh thing. His character is one of my personal favorites now as well. And as far as the movie list part, The Hangover was absolutely incredible. I just hope they can live up to all the hype when The Hangover II comes out sometime in 2011. I have faith that they will.

  7. December 27, 2009 at 3:00 PM

    As TV comedies go you should def check out How I Met Your Mother, Neil Patrick Harris is great.
    My Top 5 TV Comedies
    1. The Office (US)
    2. Curb Your Enthusiasm
    3. How I Met Your Mother
    4. Entourage
    5. Family Guy

    As for Movie Comedies go, I know you didn’t mention I Love You, Man but to me that was the best comedy of 09. If you haven’t seen it, def check it out. Jason Segel is nuts in that movie, he’s the reason I got into HIMYM
    My Top 5 Movie Comedies
    1.Superbad
    2. 40 Year Old Virgin
    3. The Simpsons Movie
    4. Just Friends
    5. I Love You, Man

  8. Jason H
    December 27, 2009 at 4:44 PM

    Can’t go wrong with your list of Drama’s, The Departed was the first movie in recently memory that actually made me gasp at a plot twist I didnt see coming with Leo DiCaprio but left me satisifed with what happened to Matt Damon in the end. If you were doing a top 10 I’d probably add Memento. Great flick that I think went under the radar for a lot of people.

    Love the comedies but I would go with Superbad or The 40 Year Old Virgin over Knocked Up. The Hangover made me want to leave the theatre and drive to Vegas. But nothing was better than the Anchorman News Team Battle Royal.

    TV Shows were a good call, for some reason I never got into The Wire or 24 when they started but I think I will check them out on Netflix. If you dont watch it now I would suggest Criminal Minds on CBS, the only CBS show I watch besides CSI: Miami, which I only watch because of Emily Proctor (Callie Duquense) damn she is almost Mickie James Canton hot.

  9. FaceInYourCrowd
    December 27, 2009 at 5:19 PM

    No Forgetting Sarah Marshall?

  10. DaveD420
    December 27, 2009 at 6:05 PM

    I can’t belive your from Canada and you did’nt mention The Trailer Park Boys???I’m lived in Maine for a few years and the Bubbles caracter reminds me of about 50 peole I know.Also check out Breaking Bad it’s a great great show.Dexter aswell I just recently got into it but qucikly caught up on all seasons threw netfix very addictive.Very sad for the ending of Lost I love that show but glad the story will end in a complete manor not just dragging on and on

  11. Bryan Kirchoff
    December 27, 2009 at 6:42 PM

    no Entourage…love that show.

  12. Mark
    December 27, 2009 at 8:56 PM

    300 is the only thing on this list that i really hate, i thought the movie looked kinda cool but that was it.

  13. December 28, 2009 at 12:12 AM

    I agree with your selection. I wouldnt count the dark night and 300 as drama though but good movies none the less. Tropic thunder was byfar the funniest movies ive seen in a long time. Its tied with walk hard. Lost is my favorate show on tv. Movie style production plot twist and amazing actors are the perfect formula for a great show. Those who dont watch. Pick it up on dvd. You wont be sorry.

  14. December 28, 2009 at 12:19 AM

    Btw creed is the best on the office. THE ONLY DIFFERENCE BETWEEN ME AND A HOMELESS MAN IS THIS JOB. IM GOING TO FIGHT WITH WHATEVER I CAN TO KEEP IT. LIKE I DID, WHEN I WAS A HOMELESS MAN.

  15. Michael Ryne
    December 28, 2009 at 2:22 AM

    My top 5 favorite comedies of the decade

    1 – Zack And Miri Make A Porno
    2 – Superbad
    3 – Forgetting Sarah Marshall
    4 – The 40 Year Old Virgin
    5 – Charlie Bartlett

  16. December 28, 2009 at 8:26 AM

    Snakes on a Plane deserves some mention of being the most unintentionally hilarious movie of the decade. Other honorable mentions for movie comedies I would suggest are:

    1. Talladega Nights (if you don’t like Big Red gum, then fuck you)
    2. Step-Brothers (your voice is like a combination of Fergie and Jesus)
    3. Dodgeball (you had me at blood and semen)

    As for TV shows, The Big Bang Theory really impresses me. Jim Parsons’ character “Sheldon” may be one of the funniest TV characters I have ever seen. Check it out if you haven’t seen it.

  17. Mark Hallam
    December 28, 2009 at 9:51 AM

    Totally agree with your Sopranos choice. Next to Lost, it’s my favorite TV show ever. Never wanted to eat sole packs of ketchup since the episode where Christopher and Paulie get stranded in the woods! Classic.

  18. Aaron
    December 28, 2009 at 12:29 PM

    without making a list some shows to consider:

    It’s alwasy sunny in Philadelphia
    Flight of the Conchords

    Love both of these.. I wish the Conchords would keep going..

    In full agreement with Borat. Comedy of the last two decades at least..

    300? that I must disagree with tyou.. and would put Sin City well above it, and in my top ten, MAYBE my top 5.

  19. Evan
    December 28, 2009 at 1:14 PM

    The Big Bang Theory is pretty funny, definatley worth a look-see. Good choices on the movies and TV shows overall though. Great stuff as always!

  20. Jared Ralphie Robertson
    December 28, 2009 at 3:09 PM

    John for all time favorite comedy movie, have you had a chance to see Zack and Miri Make a Porno?-hilarious

    and for TV Dramas you absolutely must watch, you need to go out to best buy and get the first season of Sons of Anarchy.I too loved the Wire and this Show has almost taken its place now that The Wire is gone. Sons is amazing

  21. rob
    December 29, 2009 at 1:21 PM

    Glad you had Rescue Me on there. Best Show on TV.
    ’nuff said

  22. January 5, 2010 at 9:38 AM

    Sometimes it’s really that simple, isn’t it? I feel a little stupid for not thinking of this myself/earlier, though.

  23. January 17, 2010 at 11:14 PM

    Cool article! I made a list of my favorite films of the decade as well on my blog. You should check it out! I’d love to hear your opinions.

    PS THANK YOU for agreeing that ‘Rescue Me’ is one of the best on TV.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

