Home > General Wrestling, TNA, wwe > Some Pre WWE vs. TNA Thoughts

Some Pre WWE vs. TNA Thoughts

Somebody asked me a good question today at work about my level of excitement to see Bret Hart on Raw tonight. I don’t know. Can you put a number on it? 9/10 perhaps? That’s where I’d be at. I was thinking of writing a preview, but I really don’t know what to put. I’m looking forward to anything involving Bret obviously as well as the Orton/Kingston match that should be excellent and the DX/Jerishow match hopefully leads to Jericho back on Raw. I think Jerishow wins that one. We’ll see. I’m excited about the Hart Dynasty being there too. Should be a fun night.

As for TNA, I’ll watch it on my DVR Tuesday and write about it on Wednesday. I don’t know what to expect. I think it’ll be a good mix of showcasing the good wrestlers they have, but also some kind of WCW reunion with Hogan, Hall, Nash, Waltman, Sting and Bischoff all being there. I don’t know if that’ll work.

I think ratings wise WWE might sneak into a 4.0 or 4.1, which would be huge for them. They usually get between 3.1 to 3.6. I think Bret’s return is going to boost them. Not sure what TNA will get, but a 1.5 as an average is reasonable. I also think a lot of people are going to watch Raw and DVR TNA like I’m doing, so there will be plenty of eyeballs on both. It’s a good night to be a wrestling fan.

Tonight will be a busy night. I’m going to watch Raw live, write my recap immediately after (I like to write after rather than during the show), do the commentfest and post it probably at 3am or 4am Eastern time. So it’ll be up earlier than the norm. Special occasion for special circumstances. For now, here’s a link to Wrestling With Shadows, the Bret Hart documentary from the late 90s that focuses on his last days in the WWF.

Here’s the link. If you want to skip to Montreal, go to the 70 minute mark and watch the last 20 minutes or so. I recommend the whole thing, though. Well worth your time. Enjoy:

http://www.nfb.ca/film/hitman_hart_wrestling_with_shadows/

See you very late tonight for the Raw Deal if I can pull off a long night of writing. My TNA recap – probably not a full segment by segment breakdown – will be on Wednesday afternoon most likely.

Categories: General Wrestling, TNA, wwe
  1. Owen knight
    January 4, 2010 at 6:21 PM

    I think im the first to say it but i think we need to start refering to tna as tnaarp.

  2. CJ Punk
    January 4, 2010 at 8:18 PM

    Just watched the Hitman film for the first time and I have to say it’s given me a real appetite to stay up till 4am to watch Raw. I just hope they book it correctly but I cant imagine Bret would come back without at least some creative input. Anyway, thanks for the link John and keep up the superb work on your columns. It is greatly appreciated.

  3. PJ
    January 5, 2010 at 4:11 AM

    Hey John,
    Just wanted to start by saying as a fellow writer and lifelong WWE/F fan, I think you’re doing an awesome job, and I look forward to your columns each week. We don’t get a hell of a lot of wrestling coverage in Australia besides the net, and you’re always my first point of reference for all things WWE.
    Re: Bret…
    I guess I’m in the same boat as a lot of wrestling fans older than 12, who both love and respect Bret Hart. He was my favorite wrestler as a kid, and the more I learned about him as I grew older, the more I respected him as a man. I’ve watched the doco, read his book, bought the DVD’s, and so on.
    The news about his return is epic, and yet I feel in my heart of hearts that all I can hope for, at best, is that Vince and his buddies in creative don’t burn the man one more time, just cos they can. Notice I don’t say that I hope they won’t screw up this angle; anyone watching WWE for the past 12 months will tell you that’s a given. I just don’t want to see them try to tarnish Bret’s image and his legacy (no pun intended) one last time on the way out.
    I don’t want to see him wrestle regularly. I don’t want to see a strap on him.
    I think we all know he’s heading to a street fight at WM against Vince, which he’ll win (what’s Vince’s record in these matches again?)
    But if I see a HBK double-cross, or a Trips pedigree, or a Hart Dynasty heel-turn on him, I swear to God (hear that, Shawn?) that’s it for me.
    I often feel I’m following the WWE out of a sense of hope for something that I didn’t see coming, and for my love of what the business used to be.
    Given the choice between Hart’s return re-kindling my love of the biz or extinguishing it forever, I hope for the former. But I fear the latter is much more likely.
    Sorry for the long message. Keep up the good work, and tell MJC I said hi!
    Paul J

  4. Paul K
    January 5, 2010 at 5:06 AM

    Great post as always John, quick question though? What would you rate as your favorite Shawn Michaels vs Bret Hart match? Would it be the Iron Man Match from WM12? The first ever ladder match? or something else?

  5. Tabitha
    January 5, 2010 at 9:55 AM

    I only saw the first hour, then bits and pieces of TNA during the WWE commercial breaks, but I gotta say it almost felt like watching Nitro minus about ten thousand people.

    That and say a word, go to commercial. ‘Nother word, ‘nother commercial. “Hulk’s here! Let’s take a break. Hulk’s halfway down the ramp! More after this. He’s on the steps! A word from our sponsor….”

  6. Pudge Jefferson
    January 5, 2010 at 7:49 PM

    Great read. I would like to offer you a joke if I could. I’ve been referring to the nWo reunion in TNA was the “Nostalgia World Order” Feel free to take that.

  7. Darrell
    January 6, 2010 at 9:49 AM

    I was thinking NWO could be “Now We’re Overweight.” Well, in Hall’s case, anyway. Hay-ZOOS!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

