Home > General Wrestling, TNA, wwe > Random Friday Wrasslin’ Thoughts

Random Friday Wrasslin’ Thoughts

I’m bored at work on this Friday afternoon, so I’ve written some stuff out this afternoon. Here ya go.

– I avoided Smackdown spoilers this week. That’s pretty rare for me. I always try to do it, but I succumb to them. This week, though, I don’t know. It probably helped that a Smackdown performer sent me a message on twitter saying “spoilers ruin everything!” that made me hold to it. I’ll try to do it every week. I’ve always said that if a show’s good then it’s good. Results don’t matter. If you can tell the story, portray storylines properly and have good matches then it shows in what you’re watching. I understand those that say they can’t get into a show after knowing the results, though. I can definitely watch wrestling while knowing the results. Can’t say the same about sports. I can’t enjoy a game after knowing the results. Never. Wrestling’s different.

– I read Hulk Hogan’s recap when he was on the Bubba the Love Sponge radio show. Usually he spouts BS, but in this case I agreed with him on something. He said that they made a mistake by not doing a new episode of Impact on Thursday (January 7). I 100% agree with that. They re-aired the show from Monday. While I understand why they re-aired, the problem is they’re going 10 days (from the 4th to the 14th) between shows in their new era with the results of the 14th show out there on the net for everybody to read. A lot of the momentum they had is going to be gone. Also, Thursday night is a much more difficult night to draw ratings than Mondays especially with wrestling fans. We know Monday’s wrestling night. Thursdays? Not so much.

– On another TNA note, I think by the summer or maybe the fall they’ll be on Monday’s every night. TNA execs had to have been impressed with their ratings (an average of 1.5, but they peaked with about 2.8 million viewers at one point – shattering previous numbers) and they should know that fans will be more likely to tune in on Mondays. I also think they should try to go live every Monday. It might not make economical sense at the moment because they save money by taping on back to back nights, but from a competitive standpoint it would be better to go two hours live every Monday. Don’t go three, that’s too much. Two hours is plenty. Go 9-11 just like Raw. That’s the best way to go. With Hogan onboard and positive ratings to build off of, there’s no reason not to. Just please limit the shots of Dixie Carter in the crowd, okay?

– The Jeff Hardy story is so foggy right now. There have been so many reports out there. Who knows what’s true at this point? I’ve read that he failed a third drug test prior to Summerslam, I’ve read that he had a verbal agreement to come back to WWE at some point this year and I’ve read, from his girlfriend’s Twitter, that it’s absolutely false. Really, at this point, I have no idea. Dave Meltzer reported that he could have made $2 million (probably what he made last year) in WWE based on a salary as well as PPV numbers and merchandise figures. TNA does pay pretty well, but not as well as WWE could. Of course the schedule’s a lot lighter as is the drug testing. As I wrote about earlier in the week about TNA, the lack of penalties for drug failures really upsets me while it was probably a reason for Jeff heading there. Sad, but true. It’s not like he’d admit that, of course.

– People often ask me why I don’t review ECW. I think two reviews a week is enough. On top of that, it’s not even on TV in Canada anymore. It used be on Fridays at midnight – maybe the worst timeslot ever – until it magically disappeared last week. I had it set on my DVR and now all of a sudden it’s no longer on the air here. I don’t know why. I could watch it on youtube or other means, but frankly I don’t have the interest in it. Maybe I’ll get somebody to review it and I can post it on the blog. I’m contemplating the whole guest writer thing. It’ll probably happen. I’m still figuring it out, though.

– Just saw this at Rajah’s. “Survivor Series 2009 in November drew only 225,000 buys, down a sharp 29.5% from Survivor Series 2008, which did 319,000 buys. Compared to 2007 (when the event drew 341,000 buys), this year’s show is down 34%.” – 225K is TERRIBLE for a big four PPV. Remember how bad the Cena/HHH/HBK hype was? I’m sure they’ll blame one of the midcarders for it. “It’s Kofi’s fault, Vince. Not me.” Thanks for the input HHH. That was the PPV where Kofi’s team beat Orton’s team. Two months later Kofi’s lost to Orton clean a couple of times and is back to where he was before. I’m sure this was part of the reason. Maybe you shouldn’t base a WWE title feud around a midget. You think? Typically PPV numbers for the big four are into the 300K’s and higher. Not in this case. Triple threat matches don’t sell as well as singles feuds, not to mention when they are based around Hornswoggle.

– Happy Birthday to Chris Masters. He’s 27 today. His hair plugs? 3. Sorry, I love those jokes. What’s even funnier is somebody’s going to argue with me about how long he’s had his hair plugs now. I know it’s coming.

– Lastly, I am as big a fan of Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson as anybody, but the commercials for “The Tooth Fairy” movie he’s got coming out looks terrible. He needs to get the hell away from Disney. Go try an action movie, Rock. Maybe a comedy. You have the talent. This movie will not help your career. I understand it’s a kids movie. I have three nephews and a 8 year old niece; I take them to these movies. When my niece saw this one, though, she didn’t take to it like she does the ones she might like. It looks too stupid.

I’ll have Talking Smack posted Saturday at some point while Monday will be the posting of one of my favorite columns that I’ve ever written. It’s nearly done now. It’s the one about why we still watch wrestling although I’m still working on the title of it. I have one in mind. It’s not official yet, though.

Now my work day is nearly done. This was a good time killer. Have a great weekend.

  1. Dave K.
    January 8, 2010 at 4:50 PM

    Fun thoughts, although I worry now for you that you’re opening up the floodgates with this “Guest Writer” thing. Today’s been a slow day for me as well … my remedy? Wikipedia … bounced from WWE Champs to Big Gold Belt to all sorts of stuff … it all started when I called bullshit on my friend who said Jericho was the last WCW Champion. Shocked me.

  2. Aaron
    January 8, 2010 at 5:11 PM

    My time killer? Reading John’s time filler ramblings. Slow day at work for me as well.. been reading NFL reports, other times I’ll bounce around Wikipedia…

    Yes Jericho is the last WCW champ.. but IMO, I’d go with the actual WCW (before being incorporated into an invastion angle). I’ll remember Booker T as the last WCW champion.. He beat (Steiner?) on the last Nitro for it, and that was the last days of turner’s WCW.

    IMO, that’s where WCW’s history ends. After that, that’s when we had that problem of like 14 belts running around one company.. ick.

  3. Andy McKellar
    January 8, 2010 at 5:17 PM

    I can watch wrasslin when I see the spoilers, if its a good match I always try to see it. With football I cant watch a recorded game at all, i’ll always find out the score. Love highlights programmes though..!

  4. January 8, 2010 at 5:18 PM

    Lets hope that if you do introduce a “Guest Writer” slot, it doesn’t bomb as much as the Guest Host situation has. I can barely remember any of them, let alone anything of note that they did – besides Cuban being put through a table and of course Bret!

    As for Dave, above, I love those moments where you look at something on Wiki that leads to something else, to something else and on and on until you’ve just killed 2 hours of your day on nothing… but it feels great to find this stuff out! I usually do it at night so before long it’s like 3am and I’m ready for sleeping. Brilliant!

    I fear for ECW and SmackDown this year, with changes rumoured to be on their way. SmackDown is fine the way it is – it’s just lacking in main-event babyfaces (hence Rey being pushed to the hilt now!) – and ECW, while not exactly the biggest draw, TV-wise, in the company… the way they tell stories, go about feuds for the belt etc is exactly how it SHOULD be done. It’s like watching something written by the Raw writers back in 2000ish when they weren’t on crack or whatever they’re on now that Hornswoggle is on their roster of “talent”.

  5. mr. W
    January 8, 2010 at 5:30 PM

    please for the love of god, do not allow the yaz report to come to fruition, i think it would be a good idea to get like 3 guys who want to write the ecw report, post all 3, and let us vote it out. Democracy! American style, and if yaz wins, than by god, he will have earned it.

    • Yaz
      January 8, 2010 at 5:39 PM

      Wow… You got some real beef son. Awful, just awful.

    • Yaz
      January 8, 2010 at 5:41 PM

      And by the way, I would never write for ECW – Now if John needed some help on some TNA reviews and opinions, well, I’m there… Naturally. ;)

  6. mr. W
    January 8, 2010 at 5:36 PM

    no jay report either! his ramblings make me yearn to watch andy rooney as the old man has a good pace compared to this jay fellow

  7. Jay
    January 8, 2010 at 5:38 PM

    Does anyone know a site where demographic information on the impact that midgets have on the general population? Are they influential, and do they inspire brand loyalty?

    Are midgets influential in general, or do factors like the racial background or religious beliefs of the midgets factor in their impact? Do they have more impact when they are impersonating a normal sized person or if they are wearing a mask? Are evil midgets unpopular, or do Americans prefer lucky leprechauns?

  8. Jay
    January 8, 2010 at 5:39 PM

    Mr. W.: Your welcome.

  9. Edswoggle
    January 8, 2010 at 6:35 PM

    zzz…..zzz…..huh what? Oh I’m sorry- wake me up when Wrestling is relevant and good- nah, scratch that- GREAT- again…..I was promised a bunch of shit and all I got to show for it are the side effects of downing a bottle of NyQuil still….maybe I demand too much as a fan- fuck that-it’s not my fault. Good night….zzz….zzz…

  10. Eli
    January 8, 2010 at 7:54 PM

    Thursday night going up against a big NCAA National Championship Football would’ve been rough. Maybe it was better they ended on that first high note.

  11. mr. W
    January 8, 2010 at 9:18 PM

    jay i give you props, you take criticizm in stride my man,and yaz, you are entitled to your opinoins, dont consider this beef though, i just have a lot of downtime at work and sometimes just write what i think.i gots no intention of making these boards hostile. keep posting guys. sorry if i come off like a dick, its just that i kind of am a dick in general

    • Yaz
      January 8, 2010 at 10:05 PM

      W, I have no intentions of making these boards hostile either – totally joking with the whole ‘beef’ thing. It’s all good. Just don’t cross me again. Again, kidding. But yeah, don’t cross me again.

    • Yaz
      January 8, 2010 at 10:05 PM

      Kidding.

  12. Chris
    January 9, 2010 at 11:05 AM

    Well John, you need to quit slacking off. I expect to see a detailed ECW recap next week , and the following week there needs to be a detailed Superstars recap as well. haha

  13. rob
    January 9, 2010 at 12:09 PM

    Here is a random suggestion for ECW, they should defend the title EVERY week. Maybe this will undervalue the title (if it isn’t “undervalued” already).
    Any thoughts?

  14. Rated R
    January 9, 2010 at 4:30 PM

    You really should review ECW. It’s way better than Raw most often. For a show with one hour, we can good matches and they focus on mid carderes a lot and create small feuds for them. You probbably know this by now, so I don’t see why you shouldn’t be interested in watching it on YouTube.

  15. Daniel Hutchinson
    January 11, 2010 at 3:27 PM

    Frankly, I don’t want to go see “The Tooth Fairy”. It just seems to follow the same old tired formula — successful guy with young child (sometimes with an estranged wife/ex-wife/whatever) doesn’t believe in fairy tales and the like; guy bizarrely ends up taking on a mythical-esque job, such as (in this case) being a tooth fairy, or being Santa Claus in the case of Tim Allen; guy struggles to get the hang of it due to his over-realistic values and lack of belief and magic and stuff; child eventually finds out; guy (and child sometimes) complete some daunting task to save the holiday or something; guy and child bond over experience; guy promises to be better person/father; end credits. Yawn.

    And as for ECW, I still hold to this theory…we’ve all read, I’m sure, by now that ECW is pretty much on its dying limbs, and that they’re looking to replace it in that time-slot with something else. Think about it, though — what is ECW right now, considering there’s nothing really “Extreme” about this Championship Wrestling. It’s basically FCW call-ups looking to get over on a semi-big stage before perhaps going to Raw or SmackDown!, and some WWE vets like Goldust there to help the call-ups get better (and hopefully, over with the crowd); why not just give FCW that time-slot altogether? Call it FCW TV or something. That way, the FCW guys get a chance to prove themselves to a big audience, before going on to one of the big two brands that most fans actually care about, and that way, maybe the letters “ECW” can stop being used to line Vinnie Mac’s pockets. Just saying.

  1. January 10, 2010 at 3:10 PM

Leave a Reply

