Home > General Wrestling, wwe > Random Thoughts, Notes & Donations

Random Thoughts, Notes & Donations

First of all, I’ve set up a donation button in the upper right corner of the blog. I work and I do okay, but people have said that they would be willing to donate. I would try to put the money towards improving the awareness of the blog. I’ll get a new domain without the wordpress name in it and then work on getting it into more search engines. On top of that, I could spend the money on DVDs and review them for your benefit. Things like that. I’m open to ideas. If you read my work, appreciate the time I spend writing and want to help I say thank you in advance for your generosity. Without my readers I wouldn’t be writing. That’s not BS. That’s the truth.

I’ll have TNA Impact thoughts maybe tonight after the show. I’m going to do “Five Thoughts on Impact” rather than some long recap of the show like I do for Raw & SD.

If you don’t like spoilers, especially for Monday’s Raw, stop reading now. You’ve been warned.

Now for some news from the Wrestling Observer newsletter written by Dave Meltzer, which you can subscribe to at f4wonline.com. I’ve been a subscriber for years. I highly recommend it. It’s only $10/month. Some news/rumors:

– Bret Hart apparently didn’t even talk to HHH when he was at Raw on January 4th. I’m not totally sure why there’s still bad blood there. It has been revealed that HHH was the one that came up with the Screwjob idea initially, but unlike Shawn Michaels he’s yet to apologize to Bret or bury the hatchet. He was apparently against bringing Bret back in the first place. That was a Vince McMahon decision.

– Bret Hart talked to Shawn Michaels before their segment aired. Their talk apparently went similar to what we saw on TV. Shawn’s apologetic for his behavior and they’re apparently on decent terms now. It should be noted that prior to 1996 they really got along well for years in the WWF before they were both in the main event picture. Considering that HBK was influenced by the drugs that he regularly used, it’s admirable of him to apologize after all these years. I’m glad that the hatchet is buried.

– They will apparently be using Bret’s stroke as part of the storyline. He suffered the stroke several years ago. They’re going to bring it up somehow in the story.

– Despite what Vince McMahon said on Raw, Bret’s scheduled to be there this week. I guess they’ll do it as a surprise. I don’t understand the logic considering he gave Raw their best rating in years and now you’re going to bring him in without announcing it beforehand? That’s not a bright idea. Then again, they also had Mike Tyson in a match and didn’t announce until during the show. That wasn’t a bright idea either.

I should point out that Meltzer’s very good friends with Hart. Hart wrote about him a lot in his book while Meltzer’s had him as a guest on his audio shows for years.

– The guest host experiment is expected to end after WrestleMania. They’ll have Steve Austin hosting on 3/15 and The Rock might be the week after or one of the weeks before that in March. That’s how you go out with a bang. Personally, I’m not upset about the guest hog gig ending. Too many Raw’s focus on the hosts rather than the wrestlers, which is the wrong way to conduct business at least to me.

– Regarding Booker T., it sounds like he won’t be returning to WWE. He’s apparently not interested in working a full time schedule anymore. Can’t say I blame him considering he’s in his 40s and been working a lot for nearly 20 years. He’s probably not headed back to TNA, though. Right now he’s taking indy bookings and has said that he’d be interested in being a color commentator down the road. I think he’d be okay in the role. Not great, but he can be a funny guy in the right circumstances.

– I am apparently whipped. That is all. Can’t expand. For now.

That’s all I got. Back late tonight most likely.

  1. brian fedotoff
    January 14, 2010 at 7:57 PM

    thanks for the info john, love the blog and commentfest.

  2. mlbtopprospect
    January 14, 2010 at 8:58 PM

    Oh John, don’t take what I say on Twitter so seriously. You know I know it’s Favre. :D

    *cracks whip*

  3. JB McMurtry
    January 14, 2010 at 9:23 PM

    Thanks for the information, John. We really appreciate all that you do. I have no idea how you have the time to write as much as you do. With working and being “married” to Mickie James-Canton, I can’t imagine you doing anything except sleep. Go For It!

  4. Michael Fernandes
    January 14, 2010 at 11:38 PM

    And you say Im the whipped one. HA!

    • January 17, 2010 at 12:13 AM

      You get yelled at for saying a woman on television has a nice ass. That’s whipped. My whipping is tongue in cheek.

  5. kris Karcher
    January 15, 2010 at 8:28 AM

    id like to officially take credit for the donation idea. haha. but seriously i think its a great idea. buy some nice wrestling dvds with it and enjoy yourself. you deserve it.

    • January 15, 2010 at 8:33 AM

      Thanks Kris. You’re officially the first to donate. I appreciate it!

  6. January 15, 2010 at 9:55 AM

    on random thoughts. If tna wanted to do another live show it should be this monday. The guest hosts this week are sure to bomb. Allthough bret will be at raw i dont feel this as a strong show. We may get more plugging than bret just so they can string it along till wm and still get the raitings. Tna is giving me an ancy feeling of whos next. Those young bucks are the best thing ive seen in a long time. They arid tag matches real womans wrestling matches a womans tag match with title (yea womans tag division) stakes. Tna needs to take advantage of the freshness it has by getting it out there. They lost some steam by not airing a new thursday show lastweek. Btw im calling anderson as the man to be at genesis.

  7. rob
    January 16, 2010 at 12:54 PM

    John,
    Looking forward to donate to the cause…
    BUT…
    I get a lot of spam from PayPal, and I have never had an account with them. I know they are used alot, but, are they trustworthy?
    I have to admit, internet security, especially with regards to my credit card scares me. I think Id rather throw a bill in an envelope, and mail it to you using snail mail.
    Any opinions. Is Paypal Ok, and is the spam I am getting just other crap?
    Thanks

    • January 17, 2010 at 12:12 AM

      Paypal is okay and the spam you are getting is other crap. I’ve used it for years. Like ten years. Never had a problem. I do banking online. I shop online. I’ve yet to have any issues with any of it.

      • rob
        January 17, 2010 at 4:15 PM

        Sounds good (i hope).
        Thanks for the input John

  1. January 16, 2010 at 12:35 PM
  2. January 19, 2010 at 2:12 AM

Leave a Reply

