Home > General Wrestling > What Types of Columns Do You Want to See?

What Types of Columns Do You Want to See?

I love taking suggestions from my readers, so what I’m doing today is taking a poll about what types of columns you want to see. This doesn’t mean I’ll stop writing about Raw or SD. Doesn’t mean I’ll be writing columns every week. It’s just a way for me to gauge what you guys want to see. The six options are:

List columns (best matches, best feuds, worst angles, etc.) – These would be done with a theme. Maybe in January it would be the “10 Best Royal Rumble matches” or something of that ilk. I know some like lists while others do not.

Retro PPV reviews (nearly into 1998 now) – I stopped at Survivor Series 1997. I might just skip the DX PPV because it’s awful and go into 1998.

Columns about single great matches – I wrote five of these in the past. I’m going to re-post the HHH/Cactus one from the 2000 Royal Rumble later this afternoon most likely. Been editing it in between breaks at work. I’m considering doing these again. They are a lot of fun to break down what makes an individual match great.

Columns on individual wrestlers. Not a bio, but a feature piece – Just like it says. Not a biography, but a column that focuses on an individual. Lots of people to pick from obviously.

General columns (What makes a good feud?, The art of being a heel, etc.) – Pretty self explanatory. It would be my take on different aspects of what works and what doesn’t work in the business.

More TV reviews (ECW & Impact) – I’m tired of writing TV reviews, to be honest. Two a week is enough. I will still do my “five thoughts on Impact” though. With that said, if it gets the most votes I will listen.

The poll is below. If you have other suggestions feel free to add them in the comments below. This is my way of finding out what types of  columns you people want me to write.  Thanks for voting!

Categories: General Wrestling
  1. Omar
    January 14, 2010 at 12:14 PM

    my vote is for the lists. Decade is over you could do a top 75 matches of the 2000s. WordPress mobile is a god send for me.

  2. toby tobias
    January 14, 2010 at 12:45 PM

    i would like to see a best big men list.

  3. Mark Skuba
    January 14, 2010 at 12:54 PM

    More in-depth TNA coverage and thoughts on everything they are up to.

  4. Michael Ryne
    January 14, 2010 at 1:11 PM

    I personally think you don’t have to go more in depth with TNA until they prove they are going to make some substantial noise. Maybe once they go live every week and consistently draw solid ratings then you could include them in a weekly column.

  5. John
    January 14, 2010 at 1:13 PM

    Lists. Let’s see what you think are some of the best crowd chants in wrestling!

  6. Pete
    January 14, 2010 at 1:16 PM

    investigative reports, backstage politics, power couples in wrestling, wrestling scandals mainstream press reports.. etc

  7. Pete
    January 14, 2010 at 1:17 PM

    investigative reports, backstage politics, power couples in wrestling etc

  8. Dangerzone
    January 14, 2010 at 1:32 PM

    I would go for the lists as well;

    for Toby, my personnel “10 best big men”-list, just for fun ;-)
    1. Undertaker (not a super-heavyweight, but certainly a big man; and in that category he has to be #1)
    2. (the early 90’s WCW) Big Van Vader (great worker; great heel gimmick en amazing agility for such a big man)
    3. Yokozuna (tremendous agility for such a huge man)
    4. Andre the Giant (must be on every big men list; I wouldn’t put him the first place; it was more about his aura and not so much about his work-rate)
    5. Big Show (can be really good and entertaining; but never reached his full potential in WWE (why he needed to job to Austin in his first WWF-match is still not logical to me?? The giant-aura was gone right away…)
    6. Sid Vicious (allthough it was more about his “look”, he still had some good matches with the right opponent)
    7. Kevin Nash (as WWF champion Diesel he worked hard (for that era); he was fine and was a good talker)
    8. Big Boss Man (Ray Traylor had some really good matches as a big man in the late 80’s)
    9. Kane (not a favourite of mine, but should be included in a big men list (certainly if Nash and Sid are…)
    10. Earthquake/John Tenta (versatile worker who moved well in his heyday)

    Off course you have honorable mentions like Giant Gonzales, Great Khali, BASTION BOOGER (!), Mantaur, Tugboat/SHOCKMASTER ;-),…
    No seriously now: honorable mentions go to: Gorilla Monsoon, King Kong Bundy, Big John Studd, the Headhunters and off course, Abdullah the Butcher!

    Hope you can agree?

  9. esfjellin
    January 14, 2010 at 1:39 PM

    Lists are always good, but focusing on individual talent would be awesome as well. Don’t do the big names, like HHH/Angle/Jericho/S. Michales/Taker etc.. but maybe on up and coming young talent like a CM Punk/MVP/AJ Styles/Miz.

  10. Adam
    January 14, 2010 at 1:40 PM

    I want more fantasy booking columns!

  11. Aaron
    January 14, 2010 at 2:12 PM

    I put my vote in for lists.. however, if I had a second vote, it would be for great matches. (I would chose the rgeat matches over the retro PPV’s becuase it focuses on the core of what made a ppv, a great ppv).

    Don’t know if you ever did a column on Shane McMahon v. Kurt Angle at KOTR but that one was incredible.

  12. Aaron
    January 14, 2010 at 2:16 PM

    Also, I think lists have to win out.. if ever something sparks a debate, it’s lists.

    Ever watch Who’s #1 on ESPN (usually ESPN classic now)? I am always shaking my head at that one.

  13. Jacob
    January 14, 2010 at 2:17 PM

    I wouldn’t mind more features on current young wrestlers with promise. I really like the columns reminiscing about your favorite wrestling moments, but I’d like to see some more in depth analysis about what’s going on right now in the wrestling world.

  14. puta kau
    January 14, 2010 at 3:02 PM

    diva of the night!

  15. Dangerzone
    January 14, 2010 at 3:39 PM

    Another suggestion: I was just watching the Royal Rumble 1993; it got me thinking… How about a column about the lost art of the heel commentator? Remember Bobby Heenan? Jesse Ventura? Jerry Lawler when he was still good?
    Their commentary added an extra dimension to a match; they rooted for the “bad guys” (remember how Bobby cheered for Flair when he first arrived in WWF? Or how Ventura idolised Mr. Perfect or Rick Rude?). WWE commentary would be a lot better if they put someone like Ventura or Heenan next to JR. A nice candidate to follow in the footsteps of Heenan could be ROH’s Larry Sweeney???

  16. Adam
    January 14, 2010 at 3:44 PM

    One day I will PERSONALLY bring back the art of the heel commentator! My “demo” dvd is being finalized as we speak.

  17. Kiefer Outram
    January 14, 2010 at 4:38 PM

    I think it’d be good to do some individual superstar colums because they’d rack up and you’d be able to look back on your Miz and other superstars colums in 5 years and compare. I also like reading things i never knew about certain superstars. you should do this anyway no matter what the vote.

  18. Mitch
    January 14, 2010 at 5:11 PM

    I would enjoy seeing lists with commentary as to why you chose each one. similar to the way NFL network does it’s “best” list. It would be interesting to have various readers submit their commentary for various picks.

  19. Tyson
    January 14, 2010 at 5:40 PM

    All of the above. If you could do one column on each per month (maybe two per month on PPV Flashbacks, which I usually find extremely informative), that would be awesome. But, I understand there are only so many hours in the day and you are busy.

    Also, I always thought an interesting idea would be a career retrospective on an individual wrestler with lists incorporated. That would allow you to kind of “double dip.” For example, if we were looking at Bret Hart, you could write an introductory paragraph or two about what you think of Bret Hart and what he means to the industry. Then, you could compile a group of lists like “Top 10 Bret Matches”, “Top Five Promos,” “Top Five Moments,” “Top Three Feuds,” etc. I think that could be some fun for both you and your readers.

    • January 14, 2010 at 7:16 PM

      I like this idea a lot. Something to consider for sure. Maybe I’ll do that for my HBK column in February.

  20. January 14, 2010 at 6:32 PM

    list columns are the shit. don’t waste your time with anything else.. i want lists dammit!!!!! wooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!! u know it!

  21. January 14, 2010 at 7:17 PM

    I knew lists would win. I know my readers.

  22. Justin
    January 14, 2010 at 11:43 PM

    I would love to see a column on Triple H. While you make comments about him here and there and obviously respect the work he’s capable of doing, I still have no idea what you think of him as a whole.
    Also fantasy booking columns are really fun, and you’re really good at them.
    I also really want to read the column about the art of being a heel. I hope you included that because you want to write it.
    I think it’s awesome that you’re taking input like this, thanks a lot.

    • January 15, 2010 at 8:43 AM

      That would be cool. Lots of people think I hate him. I don’t. I just dislike how he’s been booked a lot of the time.

  23. Josh McMillan
    January 15, 2010 at 2:07 AM

    I’d love to see a mix of all of them John, I enjoy reading pretty much everything you write. Keep it up man

  24. Jay
    January 15, 2010 at 10:26 AM

    Lists = rainy day topic idea. Problem with lists are once they are done, they are done. Sporadic = greater impact.

    I would like more behind the scenes stuff. Tell me something I don’t know.

    Reviews are nice. They make us reminice, but if done too frequently, they become monotonous.

    An occasional report from Japan or Mexico about something crazy would be interesting. So would something from a deathmatch guy like Necrobutcher. I like road stories from the old guys, but your audience is a little young and inexperienced for this stuff.

    I would suggest staying away from columns about people like H3 or Shawn Michaels. You can read that stuff anywhere, and the people who write about it tend to be either tired hacks or 11 year olds going through a writing stage. I don’t want to read another article about “This is Why H3 Rules!!!”

    Your general column ideas are good articles. You have good opinions, and they make for good debate. Plus it educates the kids who read your stuff.

    Take chances and keep it fresh. You have pretty good insticts. Just avoid having your writing turn into 90% stories about the top 10 WWE guys. That is a snooze.

  25. Jay
    January 15, 2010 at 10:34 AM

    Also, please avoid columns that could appear on ESPN daily programing. That stuff is unwatchable for any one over 8. THe people on the shows would agree with me too if they weren’t busy laughing about getting paid for arguing positions they don’t believe or could care less about. Kobe! Kobe! Kobe!

  26. Mitch
    January 15, 2010 at 2:18 PM

    I like the idea of behind the scenes stuff. That’s the stuff no one really knows about. I just googled it yesterday for my own intrigue so come on John, maybe it will get you back stage at events.

    • January 17, 2010 at 12:04 AM

      If I write about backstage stuff it’s going to earn me the trust of nobody. I do talk to some people within WWE, but if I ever share what they tell me in a public forum I’ll lose that trust. There’s not that much gossip, really.

      I knew Drew was dating Tiffany for months while it was kept quiet. Now they’re engaged. Do people really care about that stuff? I don’t really care. I’m not into TMZ and that kinda stuff.

  27. J.C.- not John Canton
    January 15, 2010 at 5:37 PM

    I like all the ideas.But I would really like to know backstage drama. The backstabbing, the real life fueds, and that stuff. But not just current. Educate us on the Kliq. Tell us what really happened when The Band put WCW in the drain. Tell us the real story of when DX invaded WCW headquarters. The stuff when the camera’s stopped rolling. But at the same time find out current for us… Does the locker room really hate Cena for being “too company”? Does 3H and Bret still have beef? I just would find stuff like that interesting. also a list of best 5 names for the stunner/rko/diamond cutter/ whatever the next big thing or future nobody wants to call it. Thanks

  28. CM Montoya
    January 17, 2010 at 2:14 PM

    My memory is horrible, so the idea of reading your thoughts on “best” and “worst” peaks my interest especially to see if I agree (or even recall those matches lol like I said, my memory is bad). Usually I agree with you.

  29. Simon
    January 18, 2010 at 6:50 PM

    Reading the column on the HHH v Cactus Jack match made me vote for the classic matches option. Loved the background to the match part, i remember watching that match when it was on but i’d forgotten the awesome build up to it so just for bringing back memories i enjoyed the read. This would also help if the column was about a match from before i started watching wrestling properly to bring a bit of context.

  30. January 19, 2010 at 6:14 AM

    It might be a bit of a “negative” column, but I voted for “The lost art of “wrestling” – suplexes, chain & counter wrestling”. Before Raw started last night, discussing this in the Commentfest with J.B (i think that’s what he was called) made me realise just how much I miss the real old school wrestling.
    Jericho and Mysterio have been the kings of counter-wrestling last year with their feud over the IC title while matches like Taker and Michaels and Angle vs Michaels years ago at WrestleMania were prime examples of letting the match build slowly before erupting to an unpredictable finish. How many near falls were there for ‘Taker vs Michaels? The crowd were in the palm of their hands.

    I’d just like your thoughts on whether that’s one of the problems with WWE’s in-ring product these days. Likewise, I’d like to see some fantasy booking columns, maybe booking a show without the top 5 guys on it (Orton, Cena, HHH, Taker, HBK) to almost give a glimpse into the future once those guys have gone.

  31. johnny
    January 19, 2010 at 12:06 PM

    id like to hear your thoughts on tna can it one day challenge raw? wwe is dissapointing these days cant beleive how raw is these days. same thing every week, and there really making viewers feel dumb, has vince lost his touch?

  32. Anonymous
    January 19, 2010 at 11:07 PM

    How about a list of the best talents that went to waste in WWE. Past or Present.

  1. January 16, 2010 at 12:35 PM
  2. January 19, 2010 at 2:11 AM

Leave a Reply

