Home > TNA > Five Thoughts on TNA Impact 01/14/10

Five Thoughts on TNA Impact 01/14/10

Why am I getting to Impact just now? Because I just saw it. I watch Smackdown first. If I have time on Thursday night to watch Impact live I will, but I wasn’t able to do that this week. Technically this will be more than five thoughts. I’ll write four major points and then go with a random thought format for the fifth part.

1. I liked the reveal of Tomko as the guy attacking AJ Styles because there’s a lot of history there. They also did a really good job of explaining the history between he and Styles as being former tag champions. The clips throughout the show with Tomko talking about why he turned were great in terms of explaining his motivation. TNA really does a good job of looking at history for their feuds. I wish WWE paid more attention to history because the viewers need to understand the motivation behind the characters. The main event was good with Styles winning in about eight minutes. Nothing amazing, but a decisive win for the world champion was the right thing to do in that situation.

2. The way they’ve hyped the mystery superstar appearing at Genesis on Sunday (tonight) has been good. The two big names being rumored are Ken Anderson (formerly Ken Kennedy in WWE) and Rob Van Dam. Considering that Anderson was on the Hogan Australia tour and has been working indies of late he seems like the person that will be coming in. I originally thought it would be RVD due to their easy schedule and lax drug policy, but now I think it’ll be Kennedy. Some even think it might be Sid. I hope not. They need younger people in the company, not older ones.

3. Generation Me vs. The Motor City Machineguns was a hell of an opener. Very exciting match and makes me want to see more of GM. Wish they got longer than four minutes, though. Promoting new, exciting talent is what TNA needs to be about more than promoting people way past their prime that happen to be buddies of Hogan.

4. The Jarrett/Hogan/Bischoff confrontation was awkward again here just as it was on January 4th. The way they shot the scene was weird. I assume they’re going with Jarrett as the heel against Hogan the babyface with the idea that it might lead to a match between the two down the road…if Hogan decides to wrestle. The rumor has been that they would pair Jarrett up with Foley as the heels against Hogan the babyface.

5. Random thoughts:
– I was very happy to see Angelina Love-Canton back. Going babyface makes sense because Velvet tried to replace her, but I’ll miss her entrance with Velvet.

– Why is Samoa Joe being so criminally underused? He needs to be a monster in a main event position, not losing clean in four minutes.

– Good to see Sean Morley (aka Val Venis) out there. His promo fell pretty flat, though. It was the material more than anything. Daniels coming out to welcome him to TNA worked pretty well.

– I have absolutely no interest in seeing the Nasty Boys. They weren’t good in their primes. They’re even worse now. Hogan needs to realize that even though Nobbs is his good friend. Put the company ahead of your own personal needs.

– Scott Hall is wrestling on Sunday? Ugh. Keep your shirt on, please.

– As much as I like Kurt Angle, I think they should have Styles beat him at Genesis. I’m not crazy about Angle being out of the title picture, but they can use him to elevate other people just by being in the ring with them. I’m amazed that Angle is still so good in the ring despite all his injuries. He’s amazing.

– The Lashley angle interests me. I’m shocked at how good Kristal is on the microphone. I think it’s a smart move to have her be Bobby’s mouthpiece because he’s not strong as a talker and is better off in the “silent but violent” role he’s in. Maybe they’ll remember he’s the #1 contender to the World Title and put him against the champion – I assume it’s still Styles – next month.

– The deal with Jeff Hardy is he signed with TNA because he didn’t like WWE’s schedule. His TNA contract calls for no house shows, so he’ll only be working the 3 or 4 days per month where they tape TVs. Good gig if you can get it. They need to use him in a main event role immediately. If he’s not in jail, that is.

– Part of the reason Sting has stuck around is because he wants to work with Flair again. I’m not sure if that means a feud or an alliance, but I’d imagine it would start soon. It will be a cool visual for nostalgia sake.

– There wasn’t a lot of actual wrestling on the show (only five real matches with nothing reaching 10 minutes), but that’s okay. They’re trying to establish an identity by getting characters over. For the most part they did a good job. I liked most of the show. Call it a 6 out of 10.

And that’s that. I think I can handle writing about Impact that much every week. I’ll try to do it on Thursday nights although no guarantee on that.

Not sure when I’ll see Genesis, but I’ll do my best to cover it in some way. Sometimes there just aren’t enough hours in the day, ya know?

Thanks for reading.

John Canton

Categories: TNA Tags: , ,
  1. Jon
    January 17, 2010 at 11:57 AM

    that would be 26 days a month to sit around and smoke meth… er, paint.

  2. January 17, 2010 at 12:02 PM

    I felt that the reason why TNA will sink is the way they push the wrong talent. Nash hall and the nasty boys should be used for nothing more than enhancement talent. They are there to bring the viewers in on a big name. I really hope that they do not bury guys like Joe, or they will be WCW all over again. Lastly, i will REFUSE to watch another TNA show if on a PPV they do a _______ on a pole match. DO YOU HEAR THAT RUSSO???

  3. January 17, 2010 at 12:22 PM

    I’m glad you included a little snippet of Impact! Angelina Love-Canton? Won’t Mickie be jealous!?

    ha.

  4. January 17, 2010 at 12:33 PM

    I saw the show yesterday and it felt really good. Opposed to everybody else I guess I really enjoy “The band” being back together and I really like to see those guys and their egos on TV one more time. I liked all the storylines and how they played out (even the implied heel turn of AJ Styles that Flair seems to push in the end).

    So far TNA is really doing a great job of luring me in as a viewer. It just feels right at the moment and has that great “We are a little show” feeling that you just cannot find in the “over the top” WWE. I like it.

  5. Priceless
    January 17, 2010 at 12:51 PM

    *tsk tsk* Sounds like Mickie James Canon needs to slap straight that wandering eye of yours!

  6. Dangerzone
    January 17, 2010 at 2:04 PM

    Kristal is one of the bright spots on Impact (who would have ever thougt???)
    And I think Sid will be the one debuting on Genesis…

  7. Tim Kelly
    January 17, 2010 at 2:29 PM

    I like what Bobby Lashley is doing now. He and Kristal make a great wrestler/manager tandem. I don’t like that they had to show him off at the expense of Lethal and Consequences. Again with the “pushing big names over homegrown talent.”

  8. Jay
    January 17, 2010 at 2:52 PM

    A push for Hogan and his buddies = a redux of the fall of WCW. I didn’t buy the DVD because it would be too painful to watch. Why would I watch it 10 years older, slower, and fatter. Hogan, Bischoff, 123Pac, Big Erectile Disfunction, the Gross Nasties, SidBrainDammaged, and Jeff Jarret = Enhancement talent on their best day and a car crash with fatalities on every other day.

    The others have a little potential, but I don’t feel like a one by one analysis.

    A one by one analysis like your WWE year end grades might make a good column Break it down into a roster evaluation over 3 or so columns. Value going forward or something.

  9. Adam Bomb
    January 17, 2010 at 4:32 PM

    I agree completely about the nasty boys. They never put even one ass in a seat in their entire careers. And if they did, I feel sorry for the sad person that wanted to see them.

  10. Daniel Villalobos
    January 17, 2010 at 8:56 PM

    I want to start off by saying i enjoy your blog. After reading your stuff on TNA, i have a suggestion on a topic you can write about if you ever get the time: why do wrestlers in their late 40’s, 50’s and may I dare say 60’s who are clearly past their prime and have no business being in a ring continue to drag their battered bodies out to the ring to wrestle? And more importantly, why do “wrestling fans” cheer these dinosaurs when most of the time, it just makes me feel sorry for them for not having the brains to save or invest some of the money they earned earlier in their careers? There are a few exeptions (i.e. Shawn Michaels) who can still perform at a high level despite their age but most are a shadow of their former selves and it’s painful to watch them make a living doing something that clearly they can’t do anymore.

    • David K
      January 18, 2010 at 12:18 AM

      Money.

    • kris Karcher
      January 18, 2010 at 2:09 AM

      its like a drug. do you wonder why cocaine addicts do cocaine. they like it. love it. need it. I’ve read and watched my share of “old timers” doing interviews and you can just tell that no one really ever retires from professional wrestling. it truly does become your entire life. and there is almost no escaping it. and as long as they are not going over any of the younger better talent in the long run then i am fine with it. who are you to tell someone to quit doing something they have done there entire life and no nothing else but… i respect all wrestlers no matter what age or experience and i think that to just shun them away would be wrong. like i said i don’t want a main event push but give them something to do some ware. i really don’t think it would hurt the product.

      • Ryan
        January 18, 2010 at 4:17 AM

        yeah but the guys they are bringin in to TNA (i.e. Hogan, Hall, Waltman, Nasty Boys, etc.) will hurt the product cause they are and always have been about themselves. Hell they are gettin rid of the six-sided ring, which is one thing that differentiated TNA from most other wrestling promotions, because Hogan does not like it. I would not be surprised if Hogan and Bischoff turn TNA into WCW Lite. Hogan will not be pushing the young talent. Hogan is gonna push himself and his buddies…Always has, always will.

        • kris Karcher
          January 18, 2010 at 11:29 PM

          lets hope not… i could defonitly see it happening but im hoping we’re all wrong.

  11. JG
    January 18, 2010 at 1:01 AM

    Every time I see The Nasty Boys, Hall, Waltman, and that horrible excuse for a human being (Bubba the Love Sponge), I groan. Even Val Venis shouldn’t be there. The company needs to come first. Young, homegrown talent. Gimme more Joe and AJ.

    I hope you do a write up on the PPV. There’s PLENTY to discuss there.

  12. January 18, 2010 at 11:40 AM

    im finding myself drawn to impact more than wwe. Its a real shame joe is bing dicked with. But im sure fiest or fired case is keeping him (simi) happy. Hogan is trying to hard to come off as a face. Now that six sides is gone hes ganna get booed more than ever. Ah finally kennedy is here. Its a good feeling.

  13. Tabitha
    January 18, 2010 at 2:04 PM

    Thank you so much for recapping this so I can know what’s going on without risking a severe allergy attack by looking at Hogan. (It’s deadly and no epi pen can help it.)

    But I have to say..as much as I’m all for the new guys to get their push…I will total risk said attack if there was a Flair/Sting fued just one more time in WCW OMGI’MSORRYIMEANT TNA.

    Or I’ll just Youtube it. Maybe I should just Youtube old matches and shut up. Maybe I should also stop talking to myself.

  14. Darrick Cato
    January 18, 2010 at 3:34 PM

    I for one m glad as hell they got rid of the six sided ring. It made the product look cheap and stupid. I also think UFC should get a ring, so maybe I’m just a traditionalist. I think Hogan will do the right thing this time, and put over the young guys. Why the hell is Joe losing matches? Every match he is in I expect him to win, so when he loses it’s like a shock especially against new guys like Wolfe. I like Sean Morley, but I can’t belive he beat Daniels at the ppv. I guess WWE jobbers equal TNA main eventers.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

