Home > The Raw Deal, wwe > The John Report: The Raw Deal for 01/18/10 (“The Flame”)

The John Report: The Raw Deal for 01/18/10 (“The Flame”)

Welcome to the Raw Deal. Commentfest to be added in the AM.
————–

Live from Knoxville, Tennessee this is the Raw Deal…
(No banner here. There’s one for Commentfest and one at the very end that I think you’ll like.)

I usually go from the start of the show to the finish. This week, because the end of the show disappointed me so much I ended up writing the main event and my post show rant first, so these other parts are going to be shorter because of that. Makes sense? I don’t know. Does Raw make sense? Not usually. Let’s get to it.

Crazy Old Man Vince, The Undertaker Works Monday & HBK
Vinny Mac comes out ranting about Bret Hart. He’s basically saying he’s coming back on Raw again. We won’t say when, but keep watching because it could be anytime. I thought it was this week. Guess not. Undertaker comes out. He looks pissed that he has to work more than one day a week. He tells Vince that he was there 12 years ago in Montreal and that he screwed Bret. You go, girl. I mean man. Deadman. Anyway, Vince leaves and out comes Michaels. Undertaker says he has nothing to prove to Shawn since he beat him, so he won’t accept his match at WrestleMania. He says, how about tonight? Shawn says no, he wants it at Mania. Undertaker says fine, win the Rumble and you can get me at Mania because I’ll still be champion. Shawn says I guess I’ll do that. Undertaker says fine. Shawn says swell. Undertaker says okay. Shawn says alright. Undertaker says let’s make a deal to take the summer off after the Mania match again without giving an explanation? Shawn agrees to that too. They’re very agreeable. I don’t want to claim 100% accuracy in my recap of this, but I’d say I was close.

On a serious note, it was a good confrontation. It would be nice, however, if two people that weren’t combined age of 90 years were able to build a match like this. I know that MVP/Miz had time last week, but when is their match? We have no idea. The Undertaker’s a very skilled promo man when he’s not doing his 1991 style promos talking about the reapers, the souls and his other Ultimate Warrior-like language. Talking like a human leads to much more effective promos. Michaels is so much better when he talks with a purpose instead of acting like a buffoon all the time. He’s a funny guy, but I miss the good Shawn Michaels that actually gave a shit about his performances rather than coasting through them. You could tell he was really into this one.

They showed Orton winning the #1 contender match last week. No replay of the “STUPID~!” though. That’s a shame.

Sheamus d. Evan Horowitz (1/4*)
Bourne is so far down the ladder he doesn’t get an intro. Why does he smile so much when getting introduced? Everybody knows he’s losing. What a trooper. Evan Horowitz is such a positive fellow. He got a two count with his knees off the top rope, but then Sheamus kicked him and finished him off with the Celtic Cross. That’s what they are calling his Razor’s Edge. That’s the name everybody and their mother suggested for the move even though Finlay’s finisher has had that name for several years now. Orton was out during this to do some vintage staring. Fans chanted for Orton. I think that’ll happen at the Rumble too, which is probably not the reaction that WWE wants.

Backstage, Hunter wanted to talk to Shawn. It was really important. Huge! Too bad Don Johnson showed up and he didn’t know where co-host Jon Heder was. Michaels had no idea who Heder was. HHH told him he can just host himself. What a segment. Then Johnson walked into Carlito dressed as Heder from Napoleon Dynamite. Hilarious! Not really.

Mark Henry d. Jack Swagger in a All-American American Jobber Royal (-*)
Swagger came out. They replayed the entire battle royal challenge that he lost to Santino because it was so good. He called Santino out. He was dressed like Don Johnson in Miami Vice. It wasn’t that funny. Then SOMEBODY NEEDS SOME KOOL-AID started playing as Mark Henry came out. He picked up Swagger and tossed him out of the ring. Way to put over the young talent. Mark Henry has been “threat” to win the Royal for well over a decade now, yet has never come close to winning. Don’t tell the announcers though. He’s a huge threat! Huge! Mark Henry is going to quench his thirst at the Royal Rumble and win the damn thing! I mean darn. Of course he is.

The guest hosts came out with Bella 1 and Bella 2. Then Bella 1 and 2 left. They got paid for that, keep in mind. Don Johnson played the babyface while Jon Heder went heel, referencing Lane Kiffin (the college football coach that left Tennessee for USC), which drew good cheap heat. Miz came out, he’s apparently buddies with Heder. He ripped on Miami Vice, specifically Tubbs (the black dude that was on the show with Don Johnson) and the crowd had no idea what he was talking about. I’m 29 years old and I barely remember the show aside from the white suits they always wore. Who wears white suits? This all led to MVP coming out. He talked some smack back to Miz. Cue the Big Show. MVP goes after Miz, then turns around and he gets…stand up…say it loud…say it proud…KNOCKED THE FUCK OUT~! by the Big Show’s right hand. Heder explains that he’s got the same agent as Show, so they’re boys. He announced DX vs. Big Show & Miz for later in the night. Then Heder yells: “Let’s hear it for friendship!” If the show ended right there it gets an 8 because it was so cheesy it was good. I actually liked Heder through most of this. He’s probably a wrestling fan because he knew what he was doing.

John Cena & Kofi Kingston d. Ted Dibiase & Cody Rhodes (**)
This was fine. The match of the night. I like how the announcers put Kofi over as this huge threat even though he’s lost clean to Orton three times in the course of two months. He’s on a roll…if he didn’t lose all those matches. I understand what they’re trying to do, but to the fans he’s the guy that can’t beat the main event guy because they saw him lose to him multiple times. The story was the heels worked on Kofi, he got the hot tag to Cena, who then got Kofi back in and they gave Kofi the pinfall win to try to make us think he’s back on that roll. Good effort booking wise and the match was fine. I’ll never complain about a match on Raw getting over 10 minutes.

They did a backstage seg where they ended up booking DX & Hornswoggle vs. Show, Miz & Heder. Heder ended it by asking, “What just happened?” I found myself asking that all night, Jon. All damn night.

Gail Kim & Eve Eve d. Alicia Fox & Maryse (1/4*)
Just to give you an idea of how this match went, they did the hot tag after two whole minutes. Eve missed a dropkick on Alicia by about a foot. Alicia sold it, then Eve did another dropkick that actually hit. Then, Eve finished her off with an armbar that she applied after sitting on the top rope. Well, she is apparently dating one of the Gracie’s. I guess this means Eve’s a threat in this tourney. Of course she’s a threat…as long as she doesn’t throw any dropkicks.

They had a promo of Steve Austin on that show Chuck. Remember when Steve Austin was on Raw? Oh, how I miss those days. Looking forward to seeing him on Raw on 3/15 so he can drink some beers…err milk and give us the middle fingers…err thumbs up. Hello PG!

Backstage, Johnson was reading Kelly Kelly’s palm, I think. Why? I have no idea. She got paid for that performance just like the Bellas earlier. Hard working women. Big Show and Miz showed up with gear for Heder and a jacket that said “The Flame.” The crowd Woo’d because it looked like a Ric Flair robe. Show made me laugh when he said: “No one can extinguish The Flame!”

Hunter talked with pop in law, Vince. Basically called him a wimp for not going after Bret aggressively. I thought this would lead Vince to announce Bret on the show next week, but it didn’t. Probably be in two weeks. Who knows, really? Then Michaels came in, Hunter had that really important thing to say until the midget interrupted. I feel so sad not knowing what was so important.

Randy Orton d. Chris Masters (*)
Eve came out with Masters. She did nothing. Masters actually got the Masterlock on for about a minute as Orton struggled to reach the ropes. He finally got there. Then he hit the RKO “out of nowhere” even though, like usual, he was actually in front of the guy. This was better than some of the other times they say it, though. Out of nowhere would be if the guy has his back to him, he turns around and then Randy hits him with it. That’s what it means. Not when he’s looking right at the guy. Anyway, post match Sheamus came in and booted Randy in the head. I had absolutely no problem with the staring of Orton/Sheamus. Words are overrated sometimes. Their actions spoke volumes. It worked for me. The best part of this match was when Lawler said “Randy Savage” instead of Orton. Not one of Vince’s favorite people. I bet he was pissed, which is great.

The movie that Johnson & Heder are promoting barely has them in it from the trailer they showed. They booked two guys that are in a romantic comedy, a chick flick, to host Raw? This actually happened. The dude that cheated on Fergie with a stripper is in the trailer more than these two were. I’m actually glad I broke up with my girlfriend two weeks ago because if I was with her I’d have to sit through this piece of shit drivel and pretend to laugh in order to get some action that night. Now? I’m free. Cheers to that. Anybody got Tiger Woods’ number to hook a brother up?

Next week’s guest hosts: “Psych” stars James Roday and Dule Hill. No idea who they are. Lawler and Cole think they’re great, of course. If they think they’re great then they must be because the announcers aren’t total douchebags, right? Wrong.

DX & Hornswoggle d. Big Show, The Miz & The Flame (1/2*)
I feel like a stupider person for having written that Hornswoggle and The Flame were in the main event of the longest running episodic television show in the history of the world also known as the universe including the planets Saturn, Mercury, Jupiter and maybe Uranus. The Flame? With a Ric Flair type robe. What was the point of that, to call Ric Flair a flamer (meaning gay) or something? I actually thought Heder was funny through most of it. He’s a funny guy, at least to me. The material wasn’t that great, though. The “match” went about four minutes. Did I just see Big Show sell the tadpole splash from Hornswoggle? Yes, HBK superkicked him, but apparently a midget jumping on a 480 pound man can send him to the floor. Then Jon Heder, who got sat on by Big Show, was able to walk off while Show was laying there on the ground. This actually happened. Show did get up later to cut a promo, but the fact that he had to sell for Hornswoggle is wrong.

The show ended with HHH, Michaels, Cena and Big Show all saying they’re going to win the Rumble. DX cleared the ring and then HHH threw Shawn out. After two hours of watching this show we learned this: Triple H might win the Rumble. Finally a new star will be created by the Rumble! Amazing! (Is that the reaction I’m supposed to have, WWE?) You know what would have been great here? If The Miz cleared the ring of all these guys and said HE was going to win the Rumble. That would have meant something. Triple H, a main eventer for 10 long years, saying he’s going to win the Rumble adds nothing. Where was Miz in this? He just kind of disappeared. Want to build to the future? Want to claim to make new stars? Give the Miz the microphone to end the show. Have him stand tall. Not the son in law. I know Miz isn’t winning the Rumble and you know he’s not winning the Rumble, but if he could have made a statement here it would have made people think at least he has a chance.

Why not have Miz throw out HBK here, and then they have a 12-15 minute match next week? Shawn’s the best worker on Raw. Miz is a star on the rise. Put them together. It benefits both of them, plus us as viewers. It’s not hard to book this stuff.

Three Stars of the Show
1. “Randy Savage” – When Jerry Lawler said that instead of Orton.
2. The Miz – They have SO much potential with him and they could have pulled the trigger tonight. Instead? Same old shit.
3. “Let’s hear it for friendship!” – It was so cheesy that it gets a star of the night.

I missed Chris Jericho on this show. Did you?

3 out of 10
Last week: 3

Last week’s was probably better. I don’t like going lower than three, but if I did it would be for this show. I’ll give it a 3 because at least the effort by the wrestlers is still there. I wish the booking of the show had the same kind of effort. The only thing I really liked was the Orton/Sheamus build. It’s hard to book heel vs. heel, but they did a slow build here and it worked fine. I’m interested in the match too.

To WWE’s Creative Team, I will write this clearly so you can understand: We know every main eventer not in a match at the Rumble is in the actual Royal Rumble. It’s been happening for TWENTY FUCKING YEARS now. EVERY FUCKING YEAR. It’s not a selling point. People are not at home saying: “Gee, I wonder if that HHH feller is going to be in the Rumble.” WE KNOW. Even the stupid people that think wrestling is real know. You know that Youtube clip where the guy cries talking about how it’s real to him? That FUCKING GUY knows that everybody is in the Rumble. That’s how FUCKING obvious it is. It’s not a major deal to announce it. We already fucking know. And I don’t swear much, but I am here for emphasis because it pisses me off. Say that these guys are in the Rumble, that it’s every man for himself and move on.

I have a rant on the announcers too. When Cena announced he’s in the Rumble and Lawler’s like: “Oh man, and Cena!” Um no, Jerry, he’s going to stay home that night and watch the fucking Grammy Awards! That’s what he’s going to do. He’s going to be off the card. Then Lawler is amazed that all four guys are going to be in the Rumble match. Why do they have the announcers act like such idiots? It’s lame. It really hurts the quality of the show. On Smackdown, the announcers are normal, they don’t say stupid shit that insult our intelligence and it works. Why does Raw have to be different? I’m not even blaming Cole or Lawler. It’s a production issue. I blame Vince McMahon and executive producer Kevin Dunn. They produce these two just like they do the Smackdown guys. Look at the difference.

I’m really tired of the guest hosts. I’m excited to see Steve Austin on 3/15, but after that I really hope that they stop after WrestleMania as rumored. The quality of Raw has been destroyed largely because of the guest hosts. Yes, there have been some good moments, but the bad far outweighs the good.

One last thing. Sometimes I get hate mail from people saying you should like Raw if you’re a WWE fan. No, I should not. I should like it if it’s a good show. If it’s a bad show I have every right to rip it. It’s the same thing if my sports team signs a bad player or makes a stupid draft pick. It’s the same thing if I pay $10 to see a movie that I thought I’d like and it ended up pissing me off. Hell, I don’t like ripping it. I hate wasting an hour of my time writing negative things about a business I love, but with Raw for the last two months – aside from when Bret hosted – it has been a terrible fucking show week after week. And I’m tired of it.

Man, I feel better. I think I might need a massage, though.

——


Commentfest goes here. I’ll put it up by 12pm ET on Tuesday. It’ll be a doozy, I’m sure.

Thanks to Steve Thewissen for that banner. Here’s a message/plug from him: “It would be very cool if you could plug the Dutch wrestling community/forum that I moderate. It’s been up for over 8 years now and handles everything wrestling related for all Dutch speaking people (which includes the Belgians). The URL is http://www.wweholland.nl and it’s, how appropriate, called WWE Holland. We’re pretty up to speed with what happens in WWE.” Done.

————

I added a donation button on the page. I’m not begging for money. I do okay. Work a regular job like most people, have bills to pay and debts that I’ll probably never catch up on. That’s life, right? I’ve had people email me or chat with me about wanting to donate as a thank you for the writing I’ve done. I figure hey, why turn down generosity like that, right? I will most likely use any donation money I get on improving the blog down the road and also investing in some wrestling DVDs that I may not have otherwise purchased in order to review them for you. I’ve got the button on my blog and it will always be there, but you can also read this for more info about it. I’ve already received some donations, which has been great, and I’m very thankful for that. I write for you and I will continue to do so.

If you’re not doing so already, check me out on Twitter at Twitter.com/johnreport where I try to have a lot of fun with some of the performers in WWE. I thought it was pretty cool that during Smackdown Matt Striker mentioned the feud with Beth and Mickie carrying over to social networking sites. It even involved me at one point. I got in trouble from Mickie when I praised Beth for being funny. It’s tongue in cheek stuff (they like it better if you don’t use insider terms like “angle” for example), but we have fun with it. I also do my best to reply to every message sent my way. I’ve eclipsed the 550 follower mark, which is cool, but I want more. I’m nearly at 1500 on Facebook, so come on Twitter people, get on that!

Going forward into 2010 I want to know what kinds of columns you want to see from me. I threw up a poll on my blog with six options. Please check it out. The link is here and I’ll keep it open for another week or so. Better yet, just bookmark the blog, subscribe to the RSS feed and save yourself the work. The internet is the lazy person’s paradise, isn’t it?

Thanks for reading. Here’s a lasting image that will remind you of Raw this week:

John Canton – oratoryjohn@gmail.com
Visit the blog: johnreport.wordpress.com
Check out the petition to get me hired by WWE with nearly 600 signatures.
Add me on Facebook at Facebook.com/thejohnreport and Twitter at Twitter.com/johnreport
AOLIM: OratorJC MSN: oratoryjohn@hotmail.com

Visit My Archives to view ten years of The John Report columns.

  1. Adam Dawes
    January 19, 2010 at 2:29 AM

    I actually thought it wasn’t as bad as it could’ve been. The Tag match was decent. The MVP promo was good as well, but a shame that he was KO’d by Big Show, thus showing his inferiority within the company.

    The Orton stuff was pretty good, considering its heel vs. heel, and the opening segement was the best in terms of quality Raw has had in absolutely ages (admittedly the Bret Hart meant more and felt better, but the promos were all good here.)

    The Miz stepped up into his first main event, well aware that before a feud with DX, he actually is in the middle of a feud with MVP. Perhaps the team will continue after the Rumble, and Miz and Big Show will be in the Elimination Chamber.

    The final match was brutal, but Heder was funny, with the feathers and everything, and fair play to him for showing his body for comedy value, and delivering a really stiff kick to Horny.

    I would’ve liked to have seen the DX confrontation be a purely verbal exchange, with HHH saying that some things are more important than friendship, like the Main Event at Wrestlemania, and saved the physical image for the Rumble itself, where we could have a final four of Cena, HHH, HBK and Roidtista, which would get a huge pop.

    We didn’t need to see Cena again, but I have a feeling the heat of the crowd had something to do with it, and Big Show is not a threat to any of them, even if he did go under the ropes a la Edge.

    Compared to a lot of the clusterfuck Raws we’ve had, it was much better than all of them, and I urge you to reconsider your verdict. Watch it again, and you’ll see, its a decent 6.

    • kris Karcher
      January 19, 2010 at 9:44 AM

      ha… im not one to rip peoples opinions… but ill just say that your in a league of your own. quick thought. if every Monday im not getting good wrestling… and the only thing raw is trying to do is entertain me. then they do a shitty job of it and i should just fucking watch a movie every Monday. not like ill miss any wrestling. just comedy that’s not funny. i should just turn Monday night into movie night. wouldn’t make to much of a difference.

      • John
        January 19, 2010 at 3:12 PM

        I’ve been wondering along the same lines. What incentive does Vince have to change the way Raw is handled? TNA isn’t an impact on ratings or the almighty buck. And everyone is still watching RAW, even though people think it stinks the majority of the time. Arenas are still selling out. 1600 comments are posted to Canton’s Facebook. AND THIS IS DURING A TIME OF POOR PERFORMANCE? Unless HHH, HBK, Jericho, Undertaker, and the big dollar draw people jump ship to TNA, there is not going to be a change. Why should Vince change? Because then you’ll ask him to change after you watch next week’s Raw? The week after? …? …?

    • January 20, 2010 at 5:01 PM

      I’m not watching it again. It already hurt my brain for two hours. The use of Miz was brutal because he had to lay on the floor for five minutes while the real main eventers did their talk. If they utilized him better it would have turned the show around for me.

  2. Vince
    January 19, 2010 at 2:54 AM

    “Then Heder walked into Carlito dressed as Pedro from Napoleon Dynamite. Yes, let’s dress up the latino jobber guy as the latino guy from the movie.”

    Actually it was Don who walked into Carlito dressed as Napoleon from Napoleon Dynamite. And Napoleon wasn’t latino.

    YOU’RE FIRED~!

  3. mr. W
    January 19, 2010 at 3:11 AM

    i would never question the overall rating by john, watch some of the older raw’s and you’ll see this show was crap. Btw i don’t see this donation button, i’m using mobile, perhaps It’s only on the standard site?

    • January 20, 2010 at 5:12 PM

      It’s on the standard site. I don’t know if it will show on a mobile.

  4. countessplaten
    January 19, 2010 at 3:50 AM

    I thought that Bret Hart was going to be on tonight. :((

    • January 20, 2010 at 5:12 PM

      I thought so too. Maybe next week, but I doubt it.

  5. robyn
    January 19, 2010 at 3:54 AM

    James Roday and Dule Hill are pretty funny on Psych. If Creative can let them play off of their natural sense of comedy and not force them into the Raw drivel, it should be okay. But I think we all know that’ll never happen. Wish Vince would find another way to annoy the fans and quit calling in random people to host the madness.

    • January 20, 2010 at 5:13 PM

      I’ll take your word for it. I don’t even care for star power. I just want people who give a shit about the product and aren’t pushed more than the wrestlers.

  6. Yaz
    January 19, 2010 at 8:31 AM

    Hey John… I agree with your thoughts on the end of the show completely. So ridiculously bland. I was like, is that what I just waited two hours to see? Holy crap it was bad. The crowd didn’t even care, because, like you said, WE ALL KNOW THESE GUYS WILL BE IN THE RUMBLE!!! Who gives a shit? It’s information we know. Even they didn’t seem into ‘announcing’ it. Geez. Gone are the days where RAW used to be at least somewhat entertaining. Awful.

    • January 20, 2010 at 5:14 PM

      It bothered me a lot. I understand why they do it, but to make it a big announcement that show is built around is lame. HHH in the Rumble? Wow, what a shock.

  7. Evan
    January 19, 2010 at 8:32 AM

    Roday/Hill are like Braff/Faison from Scrubs. Good chemistry between them. A final four of Batista/Cena/HHH/Michales would be a terrible thing in my humble opinion. I’m sorry but this is how you are starting the new decade by featuring the same old people in the final four that have been shoved down our collective throats for the last 5 years (or longer in HHH/Michaels)? I have no problem if one of those four wins (Michales is my pick. The other three will be the favorites to win the Elimination Chamber) but please put over the young talent. Would it really hurt one of them to be eliminated by a young gun like the Miz or Kofi or Swagger or Morrison or Christian? It would help in setting up a nice feud for the future (ala Kofi/Orton).

    I was hoping that creative (aka Vince and family) would get the idea and give us a new winner to help skyrocket his push and have this guy be the leader going forward (Morrison or Christian). I am almost at the point where I hope that HHH/Michaels/Taker/Batista/Mysterio/Cena get hurt for an extended time and Vince is FORCED to use the young talent in a greater capacity than what they are doing with them now.

  8. Geckle
    January 19, 2010 at 8:40 AM

    Cena is guest starring on psych on the 27th so I’m sure that’s why Rody and Hill are hosting and MJC guest starred on one of the episodes of psych and i think roday is actually a wwe fan

    • January 20, 2010 at 5:14 PM

      I saw the one with her in it. I’ll take your guy’s word for it when you say they’re funny. Let’s hope they are on Raw, though. I have no idea if they will be.

  9. January 19, 2010 at 9:03 AM

    Yet another brutal monday night. i grind my teeth when i saw that big toothed assclown heeder. Raws a mess now. Lets face the facts. Jack swagger should be us champ. He was great at ecw. The sheamus thing is starting to lose its flavor ( spit em out!) the guests hosts took up more time dicking around than anything. If the guests host where mostly retired wwe wrestlers i would mind so much because it would be a wrestling show. 2 weeks in a row we had dx team with a host for a craptastic raw ending. I turned it off before the ‘main event’ but after reaing raw deal. I see it was a wise choice. Anybody want to get the ‘f’ back. Or tell vince we dont need ‘attitude adjustments’ our attitude was fine. Now i feel like a tool for even tuning in. No bret? Must of been hhhs idea.

  10. The Flame
    January 19, 2010 at 9:50 AM

    Did they show the person who was in the limo?

    • January 19, 2010 at 9:52 AM

      The idea is that it was The Miz. And LOL @ signing in as The Flame.

  11. Jacob
    January 19, 2010 at 10:12 AM

    John, I defended the RAW brand last week, but I have absolutely no defense for the crap they put out this week. I think there was 3 minutes of actual wrestling in the first hour of the show. The show was so bad, I turned it off before the main event. I read about what happened in your report. I made the right decision.

    The Miz and MVP had great chemistry last week. Why sully their feud by adding guest hosts into the mix? Why couldn’t they have had an actual fucking singes match? The assholes who run RAW have this uncanny knack for crushing any momentum from their younger talent. Also, I love Michaels as much as you do, John, but did you hear how cold the crowd was to the idea of Michaels winning the Rumble?

    I’ve been saying it for weeks, the most interesting angle going into wrestlemania would be Orton winning the title from Sheamus the same night Dibiase wins the Rumble. But if can’t have my wish, please let someone fucking new win it!

  12. Tabitha
    January 19, 2010 at 10:20 AM

    My favorite part was actually when Vince talked to us all like we were first graders.

    “You take a piece of gum, and you chew it, and when it loses its flavor, you what?”

    Class: “Spit it out, Mr. McMahon!”

    Then he repeated himself to let it sink in.

    I wanted to raise my hand to ask if I could go to the bathroom. Then I remembered I’m THIRTY FREAKIN FOUR AND PAYING FOR THE BATHROOM!

  13. Sam
    January 19, 2010 at 10:28 AM

    My wife was watching with me last night. She watches with me every once in a while. Usually she has a good perception on what is bad in the show and what isn’t…Then last night came and she was laughing hysterically at everything hornswoggle did in the match…so I told her if she ever laughed at anything with hornswoggle in it ever again I would divorce her…Did I overreact??

    • Tabitha
      January 19, 2010 at 10:41 AM

      No, and we’ll all testify for you at the divorce hearing.

      • rob
        January 19, 2010 at 4:33 PM

        Depends…
        Was she laughing AT him, or WITH him.
        My wife watches as well from time to time, and she thinks a little person in there is (generally) not funny.

    • kris Karcher
      January 20, 2010 at 12:03 PM

      nope.. get out while you can… anyone that thinks thats entertaining is headed down a long road.

    • January 20, 2010 at 5:21 PM

      Ha. This made me laugh. I have no advice, but just the story made me laugh.

  14. Evan
    January 19, 2010 at 10:34 AM

    The big reason why the young talent is being held down is because of the massive egos of the big 4 (Taker/HHH/Michaels/Batista). Despite the fact that their bodies are wearing down rapidly they still have to hang onto the main event scene and heaven forbid if someone comes knocking on the doors to the pedestal. I don’t include Cena and Orton in this becasue as much as I hate how Cena is put over to be Superman, I really think he would have no problem putting over young talent. Orton has put over young talent but his ego could lead him to being the new HHH/Taker.

    And like a few of you have mentioned that you turned the TV off before the main event? Yeah, I did that too and felt better for doing it.

  15. Oxide
    January 19, 2010 at 10:48 AM

    I think the announcers think “out of nowhere” means that it’s not obvious that an RKO is coming up…not obvious to THEM (and select viewers like myself) of course.

  16. Sargon
    January 19, 2010 at 12:02 PM

    I love him, or what used to be him, but it’s time to put Jerry Lawler out to pasture. Lawler’s “Oh boy!” is getting older than vintage. Vintage, after Cole’s promo at the Slammys, has worn on me. Oh boy never sells or gets me interested in shit.

    • kris Karcher
      January 20, 2010 at 12:04 PM

      yea but he did say randy savage. the highlight of my night… is that sad?

    • January 20, 2010 at 5:22 PM

      Lawler is so far past his prime it’s not even funny anymore.

  17. Jim
    January 19, 2010 at 12:05 PM

    I was kinda hoping for Kofi to win the Rumble and Orton to beat Shameus to further their feud. I have also heard about Edge making an appearance, and would love to see him cost Jericho the match, just to have that match up at Mania. An Edge sighting would be even better if he helped Christian to win, then move to Raw and get that title shot, but I know that won’t happen because Christian doesn’t work out with HHH.

    As for Raw itself all I ask for is the story lines to make sense. Other than Shameus and Orton did Raw do anything to further any storyline, oh wait I was shocked at the entries of HHH, Cena, and Big Slow. I was sure all three were going to have the Rumble off.

    • roler42
      January 19, 2010 at 12:41 PM

      well we’re in royal rumble build up, as far as i know all the storylines are frozen until one week before the rumble itself, then post royal rumble the storylines can start

      in the meantime the superstars have nothing better to do so they do random matches

  18. Adam Bomb
    January 19, 2010 at 12:57 PM

    The miz is not entertaining and should not be put over against any of the guys that were in the ring during the main event besides the midget. Show is better than him.
    If you had said Kofi or MVP or hell, even Ted, sure that would work I am not a fan of ted but Kofi and MVP are good enough in the ring and entertaining enough to be main event. Miz is not, and probably never will be. He tries too hard to be something he isn’t and never will be.

    • kris Karcher
      January 20, 2010 at 12:09 PM

      i would have to disagree. what good has mvp done in the last two years. while the miz has had a solid singles run and revamped his entire character. while he isn’t at main event level just yet he is pretty dam close… and yes… i’m reaaallly serious.

  19. rob
    January 19, 2010 at 1:26 PM

    from now on, im going to record RAW as usual, and read ur report first, thus wasting 2 hours of my life. i tried to watch it just now, read this instead and im happy i turned off! i agree with pretty much everything written. RAW is nt bad, it is damn right AWFUL and an insult to wrestling fans.
    oh and the Miz really is awesome, please push him WWE.

  20. Adam Dawes
    January 19, 2010 at 2:12 PM

    Just to clarify, I don’t want any of those four (HBK, HHH, Batista Cena) to win the Rumble. My no. 1 would be JoMO, then CM Punk, then Jericho, Edge, Christian etc. I’m just saying that star power wise, it would be the probable final four. And if it were the case, and then HHH finally had the physical confrontation with HBK, it would mean a lot more than some pedestrian toss over on Raw.

    I’m not looking at this in terms of what I would like to see, I’m just saying that having that scenario would lead to a huge pop, and maybe even some seeds being planted for further down the road (Batista/Cena, HHH/Sheamus, HBK/Taker.) That’s all. And Raw wasn’t that bad, except for the Arquette-ness of Heder (apart from the fact that he was funny).

  21. Dave
    January 19, 2010 at 2:33 PM

    You know, there was a moment in the main even where HBK just kinda layed on the apron and you could see a reflective look in his eyes. He didn’t want to get up, he was in a main event with The Flame and Hornswoggle.

    Please…PLEASE….rid HBK of DX. Myself in 1997 can’t believe I just typed that. D-X in a PG world is lame, lame, lame.

    Think of all the good feuds he could have been involved in during this timeframe of this DX reunion?

  22. rob
    January 19, 2010 at 4:34 PM

    It was so boring last night, I chose to go to sleep, instead of watching the predictable main event.

  23. Omar
    January 19, 2010 at 6:38 PM

    I turned off after the Shemus match. And I feel better knowing that I tuned out afterwards. The Flame. WTF! Tadpole splash on Big Show. SMFD WWE!!! Wasting such quality young talent. Where do I begin on the talent being wasted away. Ted & Cody ain’t been the same since getting the kabosh dropped on them by DX. Jack Swagger is being turned into a damn joke. Has an awesome finisher yet he gets punked by Mark G**damn Henry! Kofi was on the verge of breaking through the ceiling to the main event. Now he’ll be back in the MITB. Evan Bourne is over with a everyone. Yet he jobs to Triple H’s spotter for when he works out. ECW & Smackdown are constantly better. The young talent on both shows get a chance to shine. ECW goes under the radar for the fact that it is on a 4th tier cable network. Smackdown is on a network that isn’t even available in all 50 states (ahem Wyoming). Raw is on USA Network, owned by NBC, and Yet the last good Raw was from the Garden. The Friggin’ Garden!! I’m done for now.

  24. Omar
    January 19, 2010 at 6:59 PM

    And another thing. How the hell can Smackdown have such a well done Diva feud involving MJC,Beth Phoenix-Miller (BPM), Michelle McCool and a slowly improving Layla. Yet Raw has the likes of Gail Kim,Maryse & Co. and the Raw Women’s divison blows bile. Eve is pretty. I like her combat sport style of work in the ring. Yet they can’t pull it together. I don’t understand why the WWE can put on 2 shows,that are taped, that are better than a live show.

  25. Anonymous
    January 19, 2010 at 7:29 PM

    Evan :The big reason why the young talent is being held down is because of the massive egos of the big 4 (Taker/HHH/Michaels/Batista). .

    To include the Undertaker in this is a big call and unjustly. How much new talent has Undertaker put over compared to HHH and HBK? As for Batista, he isn’t even in the same league

  26. Jericho
    January 19, 2010 at 8:05 PM

    “Next week’s guest hosts: “Psych” stars James Roday and Dule Hill. No idea who they are.”

    That is kind of sad john considering there are commercials for Psych at least five times on EVERY Raw. So you must have seen these commercials, at least once.

    And besides I hear that James Roday is a legit wrestling fan, so do not go jump the gun and mock Lawler who says they are going to be great. They actually might be.

    • Oxide
      January 20, 2010 at 10:38 AM

      The commercials for “Psych” probably don’t come on in Canada, because I haven’t seen them either. I’m guessing USA Network and The Score have differnt commercials. XP

      • January 20, 2010 at 5:23 PM

        Yep, different commercials for the most part.

  27. CJ H
    January 19, 2010 at 9:27 PM

    While HHH is part of the McMahon family and maybe even has a big ego, don’t forget he put over Orton then Batista out of Evolution years back. HHH does put guys over but it’ll never work as a good guy (I touched on this a bit in my blog: http://regularguy87.wordpress.com amongst lots of other things). I agree, the best match was Cena/Kofi TT vs. Legacy, especially the last couple of minutes.

    Lastly, John, your rant on the Rumble was hilarious.

  28. ark noir
    January 20, 2010 at 2:07 PM

    I touched on this before on this blog weeks ago in a post that it wouldn’t hurt Hunter and Shawn to allow a couple of young wrestlers who aren’t midgets to join kid friendly DX and getting a little exposure to further their careers. Evan Bourne would be one and kofi would be another as he needs a little guidance.

    Another one for pushing talent would be a team extreme stable with Matt Hardy at the helm and young high fliers.

    • Aaron
      January 21, 2010 at 2:10 PM

      Stables (even bad stables), have historically gotten guys over. With D-X, guys like X-Pac (take him for what he’s worth), Billy gunn and Road Dogg were never more over than with D-X. With the Nation, Rock, Godfather, D’lo.. all got over (some promptly pushed to the ground, but got over).

      In the nWo days, Buff Bagwell broke out to be a star in WCW.. Billy Kidman from the Flock. Evolution of course got Orton and Batista over.

      Legacy has not been treated like a traditional stable… hence Orton and Dibiase have yet to get over. I think a new fresh stable would be good… maybe Punk’s assembled crew could do something. I think stables were always a great way to feture multiple talent at once and allow a chance to see if a star could be born. It’s like higher ups just want to put a nix into any stable formations. Dunno why.

  29. Aaron
    January 21, 2010 at 2:15 PM

    Please kill the guest host idea.. and the midgit along with it!

    Hrm.. wonder if David Faustino has a project coming up? Or perhaps Lorenzo Lamas, star of TV’s Renegade? And hey, where’s Lucy Lawless? C’mon WWE, keep bringing in these A-Listers to host the show! There’s plenty of hacks to get over at the expense of your talent… WWE hasn’t scratched the surface!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

