Home > General Wrestling, wwe > Random Thursday: Avoiding Spoilers, Bret, Possible Return, MJC, Age of Wrestlers & More

Random Thursday: Avoiding Spoilers, Bret, Possible Return, MJC, Age of Wrestlers & More

I’m going to try to do these “random” posts three or four times a week. Wednesdays will probably be the day where I don’t post new content although that’s largely because I post two things on Tuesday (or late Monday in the case of the Raw Deal) that take a lot out of me. I’ll try to post retro columns on Wednesday, although I forgot this week. Tuesday’s the day that my blog gets the most views obviously, so I have no problem writing as much as I do on that day. I’m thinking that in the first week of February I’ll seek out some guest writers. Not necessarily columnists, but also people that can comment on the various wrestling news that’s out there. I’ll announce something after the Rumble most likely.

– Before I get started, let me point out that I’m going to talk about some spoilers about what’s to come. If you don’t like that stuff, you should probably stick to reading only the TV reviews where I try to avoid talking spoilers. I will never talk about Smackdown spoilers because I make it a point to avoid them. I go into that show without any knowledge (most of the time anyway – I did get something spoiled this week by an actual WWE performer) and I like it like that. Regarding other stuff, I’m going to talk about it. People want to read about it. Coming up in this post I’ll write about somebody’s possible return as well as when we might see Bret Hart again. If you don’t want to know, turn away. I don’t know what else to tell ya. It’s the internet. If you’re reading about wrestling on the net it’s going to be hard to avoid spoilers. That’s just how it is.

Now, to those that hate the spoilers you can probably just turn away now. You’ve been warned. Or you can just skip the next three paragraphs if you want.

The news as always comes from Dave Meltzer’s Wrestling Observer and Bryan Alvarez’ Figure Four Weekly, both of which are available via subscription at f4wonline.com for just $10/month. They also have a lot of really informative podcasts on there too. Well worth the money, I say.

– The latest on Bret Hart, according to Meltzer, is that they had originally booked him for the 1/18 Raw and the 1/25 Raw, but they’ve changed their mind. The reason is that they felt it was more important for those shows to be booked towards the Royal Rumble, which is on 1/31. The idea is that they want to focus on Bret/Vince on the road to WrestleMania rather than at Royal Rumble when the focus should be on whoever wins that match. I absolutely agree with this thinking. Could you imagine how much better Raw would be on a regular basis if they focused on the actual wrestlers as opposed to the guest hosts? I don’t know for a fact, but I would guess the next time we see Bret Hart is at Raw on February 1st. I don’t expect him to be at the Royal Rumble although it wouldn’t be a bad idea to advertise him for that because it could help the buyrate. They seem to care more about Raw ratings, though. Either way, Bret’s going to be back on WWE TV soon. It might not be until February 1st, though.

– The other big rumor (it’s not right to call it news) coming out this week is that my boy Edge, who I first saw in the indies as Sexton Hardcastle in 1997, is slated to come back at the Royal Rumble in a surprise return. Ideas change all the time, though. Last year at this time we were told Christian was going to return at the Rumble to cost Jeff Hardy the title against Edge, but it ended up being Matt Hardy after word leaked on the internet. The idea with Edge’s return is that he would come back to screw Chris Jericho out of winning the Rumble. That would set up the match at WrestleMania. I’m not sure how ready Edge would be at the Rumble. The best idea would to keep him limited up until Mania. I actually have a very good fantasy booking idea on how to book Edge/Jericho up to WrestleMania and beyond. I’ll try to find time to write it out this weekend at some point.

– I’ll have a column probably on Monday (I’m trying to write feature columns every other Monday) about the build from the Royal Rumble up to WrestleMania 26. I’ve done similar columns in past years that I called, “Rumbling to Mania” and I’ll try to follow up in the same mold. I’ll look at likely scenarios stemming from the Rumble as well as potential matches being talked about or being rumored to happen at Mania. I’ll try to avoid fantasy booking in that one. It’s more about what I think will happen rather than what I want to see happen.

– To address what has become a commonly asked question, a lot of people ask me about Mickie James, so I figure I’ll lay it all out here. I always get asked if I know her and things like that. I don’t know her in person. Never met. Maybe we will one day, maybe not. Prior to when she signed up on Twitter in early December I had no contact with her. I started calling her Mickie James-Canton in my columns in October (as a joke of course) with no knowledge that she’d be online soon after. It just happened. About a week or two after she signed up she started following me on there after I got some of my Twitter friends to say nice things to her on my behalf. I don’t have any aspirations of being in a relationship with her. I’m 29 years old, I know it’s not realistic and the fact is she performs in front of millions of people every week. She could probably be with any guy she wanted to. I doubt she has much interest in a guy that lives in southern Ontario. I’d rather have a girlfriend that I could see every day or at least nearly every day. I’m very content in knowing we’ll be just friends.

She is well aware that I’ve been calling her Mickie James-Canton or MJC for a while now. She’s cool with it. I asked her if she had a problem, she has never said that there is. She even likes when I call myself John Canton-James. If she had a problem with it I would stop. I’m flattered that of the 25,000+ people she has following her on Twitter, I might be the only one she’s following that she’s never met in person. I don’t know what I said or did to make an impression on her, but I’m grateful that she takes the time to respond to me when she could easily just ignore it. We exchange direct messages (private messages between two people on Twitter) a few times a week, which is cool. Most of the time it’s for a laugh. She’s got a good sense of humor as I think do, so it’s easy to converse with her. I think she’s a great person that’s not only beautiful, but she has a great mind for the business as well as for life. It’s hard not to admire somebody as driven as her. I have no idea how long she’s going to be in WWE considering she’s got a country music album out in March. I’ve never asked, nor do I think she would tell me. I also have no idea if she’s read my columns. I know she read the Johnny Awards one where she won the award for best female, but other than that I have no idea. She could be reading this right now for all I know.

To sum up, I think Mickie’s an amazing person. I feel pretty damn lucky to have been able to get to know her at least a little bit over the past month. I hope it’s the start of a good friendship, albeit one from afar. For those that are sick of me writing about her, I did this for you too. I’ll stick to writing about her on TV and leave it at that. I felt the need to address all the questions I get asked, though.

– To bring this home, here’s a listing of the ages of WWE superstars. Somebody emailed this to me, got this from another board. I know they put this in the Observer once a year. It’s listed from oldest to youngest. I’m not sure if it’s 100% accurate, but I will assume that it is.

Finlay – 51 (October 20th, 1958)
Undertaker – 44 (March 24th, 1965)
William Regal – 44 (May 10th, 1965)
Shawn Michaels – 44 (July 22nd, 1965)
Goldust – 43 (April 11th, 1966)
Kane – 42 (April 26th, 1967)
Kung Fu Naki – 41 (August 24th, 1968)
Batista – 41 (January 18th, 1969)
Triple H – 40 (July 27th, 1969)
Chavo Guerrero – 39 (October 20th, 1970)
Chris Jericho – 39 (November 9th, 1970)
Mark Henry – 38 (June 12th, 1971)
R-Truth – 38 (January 19th, 1972)
Big Show – 37 (February 8th, 1972)
Charlie Haas – 37 (March 27th, 1972)
Vladimir Kozlov – 37 (April 27th, 1972)
The Great Khali – 37 (August 27th, 1972)
MVP – 36 (October 28th, 1973)
Edge – 36 (October 30th, 1973)
Christian – 36 (November 30th, 1973)
The Hurricane – 35 (July 12th, 1974)
Matt Hardy – 35 (September 23rd, 1974)
Rey Mysterio – 35 (December 11th, 1974)
Shelton Benjamin – 34 (July 9th, 1975)
Gail Kim – 33 (February 20th, 1976)
Vance Archer – 32 (February 28th, 1977)
John Cena – 32 (April 23rd, 1977)
Yoshi Tatsu – 32 (July 1st, 1977)
Abraham Washington – 32 (1977, can’t find his exact birthdate anywhere)
Sheamus – 31 (January 28th, 1978)
Ezekiel Jackson – 31 (April 22nd, 1978)
Layla – 31 (June 25th, 1978)
Mike Knox – 31 (July 17th, 1978)
CM Punk – 31 (October 26th, 1978)
Tyler Reks – 31 (November 1st, 1978)
Carlito – 30 (February 21st, 1979)
Melina – 30 (March 9th, 1979)
Santino Marella – 30 (March 14th, 1979)
Slam Master J – 30 (March 23rd, 1979)
Mickie James – 30 (August 31st, 1979)
John Morrison – 30 (October 3rd, 1979)
Rosa Mendes – 30 (October 25th, 1979)
Michelle McCool – 29 (January 25th, 1980)
Randy Orton – 29 (April 1st, 1980)
Caylen Croft – 29 (May 2nd, 1980)
Tyson Kidd – 29 (July 11th, 1980)
Dolph Ziggler – 29 (July 27th, 1980)
Jillian – 29 (September 6th, 1980)
The Miz – 29 (October 8th, 1980)
Katie Lea Burchill – 29 (November 10th, 1980)
Beth Phoenix – 29 (November 24th, 1980)
Shad – 29 (January 13th, 1981)
Jimmy Wang Yang – 28 (May 13th, 1981)
Kofi Kingston – 28 (August 14th, 1981)
Maria – 27 (February 25th, 1982)
Jack Swagger – 27 (March 24th, 1982)
Natalya – 27 (May 27th, 1982)
Ted DiBiase – 27 (November 8th, 1982)
Primo – 27 (December 21st, 1982)
Chris Masters – 27 (January 8th, 1983)
Maryse – 27 (January 21st, 1983)
Evan Bourne – 26 (March 19th, 1983)
The Bella Twins (Brie & Nikki) – 26 (November 21st, 1983)
Luke Gallows – 26 (December 22nd, 1983)
Eve – 25 (August 21st, 1984)
JTG – 25 (December 10th, 1984)
Zack Ryder – 24 (May 14th, 1985)
Drew McIntyre – 24 (June 6th, 1985)
Cody Rhodes – 24 (June 30th, 1985)
Tiffany – 24 (December 28th, 1985)
Hornswoggle – 23 (May 29th, 1986)
Alicia Fox – 23 (June 30th, 1986)
David Hart Smith – 23 (August 2nd, 1986)
Kelly Kelly – 23 (January 15th, 1987)
Trent Barreta – 22 (March 30th, 1987)

The closest to me in age is Katie Lea Burchill. MJC’s a year older. I like older women. The Undertaker’s dating Michelle McCool, who is 15 years younger than him. Go Taker.

What’s funny is I remember writing an article in like 2000, maybe the best year ever in terms of quality PPVs in WWF history, about how great WWE was in part because they didn’t have many people over 40. I think they had nobody over 40 at that time although Ron Simmons/Faarooq might have been. They didn’t even have that many over 35. Now they have way more than that.

That’s all for this post. There’s a slim chance that I’ll write about Impact tonight after that show. It might be Friday in the afternoon, though. Depends on when I find time. I think I might be watching Lakers/Cavs tonight.

Have a good day.

JC

  1. Adam
    January 21, 2010 at 1:22 PM

    John, thanks again for taking the time to write for us. As I sit here at work, bored to tears, it’s nice to stumble upon 5 minutes of wrestling related material. I appreciate what you do, and for the record, even being “web-friends” with Mickie James is more than most of us will EVER get to be! AND, to borrow a phrase from Mr. Hardcastle himself, it REEKS of AWESOMENESS!

    • January 22, 2010 at 9:52 AM

      Ha Mr. Hardcastle. That name always made me laugh.

  2. Stu Scholes
    January 21, 2010 at 1:31 PM

    Good Article JC, looking forward to Brett’s re return. Found the ages of the wrestlers very interesting, Drew Mcintyre is only 24? thought he was older then that. the closest birth date to me is Hornswoggle im 14 days wiser then him and about 3 and a half foot taller too.

  3. Anonymous
  4. Andy
    January 21, 2010 at 1:59 PM

    Three paragraphs praising Mickie James-Canton and then you mess it up by forgetting women stop ageing when they get to 21.

    Mickie James – 30 (August 31st, 1979)

    Someone’s going to be in the doghouse tonight!

    • January 22, 2010 at 10:08 AM

      I have permanent residence in the doghouse.

  5. Edswoggle
    January 21, 2010 at 2:11 PM

    So you like older women, huh? I think somebody with the initials JC wants to hear the pitter-patter of a little hand running around the house….if you know what I’m saying ;) lol

    • January 22, 2010 at 10:08 AM

      You love Mae Young. You’re sick.

  6. January 21, 2010 at 2:20 PM

    wow luke gallows is alot younger than i thought. Hes younger than teddy.

    • January 22, 2010 at 10:09 AM

      Yeah guess a lot of people thought Luke was older.

  7. John Clair
    January 21, 2010 at 2:30 PM

    wow… i would have imagined that luke gallows was older than that… im shocked im older than some of those people… and maryse is 3 days older than me… i thought she was older, given i went to school with her and she doesnt even recognize me lol

  8. Chris Greene
    January 21, 2010 at 2:51 PM

    I’m surprised Taker hasn’t gotten Swagger pushed really hard since they share the same birthday. And no, I’m not obsessed with the dates, it’s just that they’re both one day before mine. Thanks, John!

    • January 22, 2010 at 10:09 AM

      Swagger just needs to suck up more, that’s all.

  9. E
    January 21, 2010 at 3:16 PM

    If mickie is so “driven” she probably wouldnt weigh 400 Pounds

    • Ivan Isaza
      January 21, 2010 at 4:29 PM

      Thanks for posting, Michelle McCool

  10. scoot
    January 21, 2010 at 3:32 PM

    Melina is one day older than me . . . ah yeah yeah!

  11. JB McMurtry
    January 21, 2010 at 4:17 PM

    Awesome article, man. As always. I actually just joined Twitter today, and since I know of none of my real friends that are on it, I am following WWE performers and you. Mostly Divas, although one just has to follow Chris Jericho. The closest in age to me in WWE is Maryse, who is but only 6 days older than me. I will admit that I’m not as sexy as she is. I’ve always loved the Rumble event, almost or maybe more so than Wrestlemania. Some years, it even falls on my birthday. For as long as I can remember now, that’s always been my mother’s gift to me. She’d let me order the Rumble when I was a kid and even now, she’ll ask me if I’m going to watch it, and next thing I know, January’s cable bill is paid for me. Also, I’m so glad you found out what was up with Bret. My wife and I are attending the Raw on February 1st, and the ONLY reason I got tickets was for the once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to see the Hitman. Thanks again for all you do, John. It has to be tough to find the time to write as much as you do and I want you to know that we all appreciate you, man. Awesome read!

    • January 22, 2010 at 10:11 AM

      Yeah I think you’ll see Bret. Pretty lucky for you. Sucks for the people going to the show this week, though.

  12. Ivan Isaza
    January 21, 2010 at 4:34 PM

    Closest birthdate to mine would be Edge’s. He’s October 30th while I’m October 31st.

    And closest to my age would be The Bella Twins (I just CANNOT find them sexy at all), Luke Gallows and Evan Bourne.

    Great read, John, as always.

  13. Lou
    January 21, 2010 at 4:37 PM

    i’m jealous of you and Mickie. Direct Messages!!?? I’m from her hometown of Richmond, VA and I have tried a few times to get her to reply to me on twitter to no avail. If it wasn’t for the fact that you seem like such a cool dude and write such great articles that I enjoy, I just might hate you.

    • January 21, 2010 at 8:02 PM

      You can mention my twitter account when you message her, it might help. What’s your twitter name? I’ll see what I can do. Just say you know @johnreport or something like that. She’s a very busy person these days with her country album about to kick off, but she’s also very kind.

      • Lou
        January 22, 2010 at 12:50 AM

        @louie52, I follow you. I’ll drop you a message next time i’m on. i’ll have to think of a smooth way to name drop the @johnreport to mickie lol.

  14. rob
    January 21, 2010 at 4:38 PM

    Alright, since we are sharing, my Bday falls almost exactly between Shelton Benjamin, and Rey Mysterio. Yeah, I know, Im old.
    Great Mickie article. In case she cares, you can tell her that I find the fat jokes horrible, unfunny, and a bad example. Im with you, she is far and away the sexiest diva on WWE (and TNA) for that matter.
    But, if Trish comes back…..Mickie has to go to #2.

    • January 22, 2010 at 10:20 AM

      I did like Trish more, absolutely. Now? Probably not. I don’t talk to Trish. Haha.

      Shelton’s been in WWE since like 2002. I didn’t realize he was 34, though. I thought he would have started right out of university, but I guess he started when he was 25 or 26.

  15. bigmark
    January 21, 2010 at 6:53 PM

    CM Punk and I have the same birthday, that’s cool. He is two years older though. Thanks again for the blog and keep up the great work.

  16. Michael Ryne
    January 21, 2010 at 7:47 PM

    Hah, I have the same birthday as Tiffany. Too bad she’s 5 years older than me.

    • January 22, 2010 at 10:20 AM

      You’re probably smarter. But a blonde with a nice body will have more money than you ever will. God Bless America.

  17. Ryan
    January 21, 2010 at 10:06 PM

    i have the same birthday as Beth Phoenix…minus the fact that she is exactly 2 years older than me lol

  18. Jay
    January 21, 2010 at 11:29 PM

    Looking at the wrestler’s ages, it looks like the WWE roster is ready to challange the old WCW roster. (Emphasis on “old”) The future does not look very bright for the WWE. On the bright side, we all can enjoy the DX reunion well into their 70’s.

    Won’t that be fun?

    Mickie seems like a class act. Too classy for the WWE. Hopefully she will find the success in the country music field that she deserves. It bugs me that she is not shown the respect I feel she deserves in wrestling. But Vince McMahon is a success in spite of himself.

    • January 22, 2010 at 10:41 AM

      I agree about the future of WWE. They need more younger wrestlers.

      If she leaves WWE I’d miss seeing her big time, but on a personal level I’d be happy for her. Seems like her country music career is going to kick off with a bang next month. She works her ass off and deserves all the success that she has had.

  19. wes burden
    January 22, 2010 at 12:03 AM

    Hey John,

    One of your biggest fans here just letting you know I am going to Raw this week and was wondering if you have any sign ideas to help promote your writing? If you do not get back to me hopefully you see this or the email I sent you, keep a look out for me, i will be by the announcers in the front row by the ring!!

    • January 22, 2010 at 9:59 AM

      Sent you the reply in email. They’ll probably take away the signs like they always do. They only seem to like ones promoting their storylines. Crazy, huh?

  20. Rated R
    January 22, 2010 at 7:02 AM

    Haha. I feel so young compred to you guys. I’m only 16. :P

    Good that the MCJ comments are going to an end. And of course she doesn’t have interest in a guy like you. It’s a little silly how much you care.

    Oh and Edge better win at the Rumble, or screw Jericho. I don’t want a HBK win whatsoever. I don’t even want the rematch. I’d much rather see Taker vs Cena as it might actually be a little chance of Cena turning tweener or fully heel.

    • January 22, 2010 at 10:06 AM

      Never said I’d stop talking about MJC. Just that it’ll be contained in the SD reviews and wherever else she appears. She’s a good performer on the best WWE show.

      16? Good for you. You have the rest of your life to ruin. Enjoy it.

  21. Jay
    January 22, 2010 at 9:56 AM

    What is most amusing about the age list is that the only wrestlers I can stand in the top 11 age-wise are the jobbers: Finlay, Regal, KungFu Naki, Chavo, and Jericho. (Looking at Jericho’s record over the last 6 months, you would have to call him a jobber.)

    As a person who is an old school wrestling traditionalist, the WWE is being booked terribly. I guess they don’t believe in a reality that extends past 3 months into the future. But I suppose they figure that if the public is dumb enough to root for a dead person for 20 years, they sell any bullshit they pull out of their asses. Glow Stick anyone?

  22. January 22, 2010 at 10:42 AM

    They are definitely not paying enough attention to booking into the future and it’s going to hurt them if they don’t change that philosophy.

  23. Evan
    January 22, 2010 at 12:04 PM

    Wow, Jillian has a birthday 2 days after mine. Lucky me?!?

  24. Aaron
    January 22, 2010 at 1:39 PM

    Random thought:

    Cheech and Chong are hosting RAW 03/01/10!?!?! Just what is WWe trying to appeal to?

    WWE is starting to remind me of a bad family movie that tries to appeal to eveyone but comes off not appealing to anyone.. I love Cheech and Chong, but I’m not even old enough to remember their actual relevance… and I’m going on 30!! For the love of god, please STOP THIS!!!!

    I still want to know where David Faustino is.. I still say he’s the perfect, non-relevant RAW host material. Everyone wants to see Bud Bundy mix it up in the WWE Universe.

    Already predicting a Canton review of the March 1st RAW.. 3 out of 10 baby.

  25. Jay
    January 22, 2010 at 9:34 PM

    It would be fun watching Bud Bundy botch people’s names. Grandmaster-B could tag with R-Truth, “What’s Up? What’s Up?” I wonder if he is larger than Horny…. The bad comedy just writes itself.

  26. RockLTSD
    January 23, 2010 at 6:15 PM

    Wow, Shad is closest to my birth date and JTG is closest to my age. Go Crymetime I guess.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

