Home > Retro Columns, wwe > Jake’s Snake Bites Macho Man…

Jake’s Snake Bites Macho Man…

One of my favorite moments ever that I forgot to put on my top 29 admittedly. Thought I’d post this for those that might not have seen it. Classic. Keep in mind that WWE was way more PG then they are now yet could they do something today as good as this? This felt so real. Maybe because I was only 11 years old and Savage was my favorite, but I was nearly in tears as this was happening. For those of you that remember it, enjoy the reminiscing. For those that haven’t seen it, enjoy it for the first time.

Have a good weekend. I might be back Sunday in the morning for the TNA post.

Categories: Retro Columns, wwe
  1. Jaykob
    January 24, 2010 at 12:04 AM

    Love the kids crying.

  2. Adam
    January 24, 2010 at 3:38 AM

    Wow, there’s a time warp. Thanks for the memories there, John. I still remember watching it as well. One thing I did notice this time, the snake bites him on the bicep, but Macho comes up bleeding on his forearm. Never noticed that before. Oh, and the kid’s face at 3:26…PRICELESS! Think maybe Orton could get a Viper to bite Cena? I’d pay HUGE to see that!

  3. Brian W.
    January 24, 2010 at 5:26 AM

    This was one of my favorite Superstars segments of all time. It was extremely edgy, especially for the Wrestling Ice Cream Bars era. But I happen to know for a fact that in the original broadcast, the snake bite was totally censored by the red circle and slash, so for someone like me who still has the VHS tape of the original broadcast, it was doubly awesome to see this.

    I always knew Randy Savage was a tough bastard, but to sit stock still and allow himself to get bitten by a goddamn snake makes him an insanely hard bastich.

    I do think you should have included the scenario that led up to the actual biting, where Jake, after a classic squash, grabs a mike and proceeds to browbeat and demean commentator Savage (who was banned from active competition due to his Career Ending Match loss to the Ultimate Warrior at Wrestlemania 7)with one of the most awesome dressing-downs ever. “Hey Macho! Look at you in that pink hat! Don’t you look reaaal sweet! You are nothing but a gutless, yellow, stinkin’ coward, with no guts to step in this ring with me!”

    Academy award nominees for this performance include Jake The Snake Roberts (as The Devil), poor, sweet, long sufferring Elizabeth (who I believe was actually on the outs with hubby Randy at the time!) Rowdy Roddy Piper as the Crazy Rescue Volunteer who does more harm than good), and that damn Cobra, who not only hits all his spots on time, but plays up his ring persona with more emotion and conviction than 3/4 of today’s wrestlers.

    Pure, classic GOLD!

  4. Andrew Jarman
    January 24, 2010 at 2:37 PM

    I literally watched this the other day!! I had the Survivor Series DVD for Christmas and it was the first item on the 1991 Survivor Series. It did feel very real back then as I was like eight at the time!

  5. Tom C
    January 25, 2010 at 1:19 PM

    Roberts was an amazing heel! Even though his snake didn’t have any teeth. All it did was suck on Savage’s arm!

  6. Aaron
    January 25, 2010 at 1:54 PM

    Why didn’t they release the entire Survivor Series set in one collections (Like Wrestlemania, Rumble, Summerslam)? I get this feeling we’re going to get Benoit edits..

  7. Anonymous
    February 20, 2012 at 11:44 AM

    Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is really informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future. Lots of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

