Home > TNA > Five Thoughts on TNA Impact 01/21/10

Five Thoughts on TNA Impact 01/21/10

Technically this will be more than five thoughts. I’ll write four major points and then go with a random thought format for the fifth part. This will be even shorter than the one I did last week. If you want a recap of the show, look elsewhere. I’m writing this assuming you saw it or read a recap. Cool?

1. They ended the main event by having the ref, Earl Hebner, screw Kurt Angle out of the TNA Title when AJ Styles put the ankle lock on him and they rang the bell. Angle went nuts, cursing all over the place and even spitting on Hulk Hogan. Obviously it’s a re-enactment of Survivor Series 1997 with Hogan in the Vince role while Angle is in the Bret role. Of course, in this case there’s no real life controversy or any reason why this even happened other than to re-create one of the most famous things that’s ever happened on a wrestling show. Hogan reacted to it all like he had nothing to do with it while Angle said he quit and would go work for Vince McMahon again. What was great was the crowd cheered when he spit on Hogan, who I guess is supposed to be a babyface? Who really knows? I give Angle a lot of credit for his performance. Problem is, who really believes it? I guess some might, but if wrestling fans are smarter these days (I’d like to think they are) then they know this is just another lame attempt to re-create Montreal by a company that claims to be different than WWE. And how is this different? That’s what I’d like to know.

2. Instead of ending the show with that, which they should have done if they actually wanted people to believe it, they ended it with Bischoff walking out with blood on his face saying Mick Foley was fired. This was set up by Foley being alone in Bischoff’s office, so the assumption is that Foley beat the crap out of him.

Within five minutes they had one top guy quit and another top guy get fired even though 90% of the audience doesn’t believe either. What I’m saying is you’re hurting yourself when you do two angles that are supposed to be big, back to back like that. The show should have ended with a top guy like Angle “quitting.” Instead, it ended with Bischoff, who we still don’t know if he’s a face or heel.

3. Opening the show with Ric Flair and AJ Styles coming out with women was the smart thing to do considering Styles turned heel at the PPV last Sunday. It’s interesting to note that Styles is a very committed husband, unlike the 3 time divorcee Ric Flair, who has wrestled for years with his wedding ring on his necklace as a commitment to his wife. His interaction with the women seemed very forced, but I did like the promo. It’s a good idea to have Flair calling him the “new” Nature Boy because Flair does have a lot of credibility with the fans. The thing is AJ’s turned heel in the past (remember dumb AJ that followed around Christian as well as Angle?), yet they act like it’s some new thing that’s never been done. I also don’t know if he can really pull it off, but I think he’s an awesome performer. I’ll give him the benefit of the doubt.

4. The Bubba/Jarrett segments did nothing for me. I don’t care about Jarrett vs. Hogan. All anybody wants in TNA are meetings, apparently. Does that mean we’ll get another brutal Jarrett/Hogan meeting like last week when it ended up with Bischoff doing most of the talking?

5. Random thoughts:
– Good to see my girl Angelina Love-Canton back in action with the lovely butt wiggle entrance too. I really like Madison Rayne and Velvet Sky a lot too. Lacey Von Erich looks worse while “fighting” than most of the WWE diva search girls.

– None of the matches did much for me. They spent all of last year trying to push Hernandez & Morgan as credible singles wrestlers whose stars are on the rise, yet what are they doing? Teaming up. It’s a step back for both guys.

– Ken Anderson’s debut has been lukewarm at best. To me, he’s always been one of those guys that has the potential to be great, but really he’s just a slightly above average talker that has a tough time keeping the fan’s interests in his matches. I’m trying to like him. I just think he needs to be better.

– Why is an average wrestler like Orlando Jordan going over somebody good like the Pope? Oh right, because he’s a friend of Hogan.

– Why is a way below average tag team like the Nasty Boys going over anybody? Oh right, because they’re friends of Hogan.

– I don’t care about The Band. I did 14 years ago. Not now. Sorry.

I thought this was a bad show. Thankfully I read the spoilers for the next show and it looks better. That’s promising, at least.

3 out of 10. Just as shitty as Raw was. Thank God for Smackdown.

  1. jake c
    January 24, 2010 at 9:48 AM

    Amen. Amen…

  2. Buddy Manning
    January 24, 2010 at 10:22 AM

    Hey John, you may have had this up for discussion at a previous time and I just missed it, so forgive me, but you know I try to follow you as much as possible. You’re my boy Blue! lol anyway, I think that you hit the nail on the head about the fans being smarter now than even ten years ago. I think that even though the bookers, Vince, Hogan, and the rest don’t like it, they need to find a way to adjust booking styles and storylines b/c we have internet spoilers and have a lot more knowledge beforehand (or at least a lot more of us do now than back then). Two points come to mind: 1. Lex Luger showing up on the very first Nitro. It was a shock because there weren’t as many internet spoilers if any. 2. of course Scott Hall showing up on Nitro. I can still remember, it pulled me in and kept me interested. I know u ytr to stay away from S.D. spoilers most of the time, and sometimes i think if i did yhe same it would make the shows better

  3. Johnny
    January 24, 2010 at 10:26 AM

    I spend the whole show waiting for the Motor City Machineguns and all I got was Whoopi, Nasty Boyz, doped up X-Pac, Hogan who talks like he is still living in the 80’s, Montreal Screwjob…damn how much TNA sucked this week.

    • Aaron
      January 25, 2010 at 9:49 AM

      gotta agree.. and I’m pulling for TNA to succeed.. but this was a step backward.. I liked the realism angle of ANgle saying he can go to WWE.. but it was so forced and rushed.. and made no damn sense! I like Naitch and AJ.. I see potential.. Keep the belt on AJ.. and give Joe a face turn and time time to build credability as the bad ass wrecking ball he should be..

      Pope had a nother solid promo.. Whoopie.. made me chuckle. (Orlando referred to as a woman, who’d think that?)

      Hope it gets better.. please I missed SMackdown this week and got Raw and TNA.. eww…

      • Johnny
        January 25, 2010 at 11:34 AM

        I’m probably the only one wishing Alex Shelley would go on as a singles competitor. That guy has great promo skills and he has wrestling skills too so in my wrestling fantasy world, I think he could roll with the likes of AJ, Joe, Angle…

  4. Jason H
    January 24, 2010 at 11:10 AM

    How could a show start off solid but go to hell so damn fast? I have always considered AJ the face of TNA and i like him and Flair together. Now he can just be a cocky heel instead of the lame “Prince AJ” heel when he was with Christian and Angle. Funny how last week you praised TNA for actually recognizing the past history with Tomko and Styles, yet this week everyone forgot about AJ’s past heel turn.

    I absolutely love your girl MJC but Angelina Love = Best Ass in the Business. Great ring entrance and glad to see her back. Way too much make up on though.

    I just want to say good job Hogan for putting over the young talent in TNA by having all of your old washed up has been friends get over the current talent. Sean Morley over Chris Daniels (whos already the least utilized but best wrestler in the damn company); Orlando Jordan over The Pope and The Fucking Nasty Boys over 3-D (I haven’t thought about the Nasty Boys since the 90’s). Please break up The Band for good, this is one reunion tour no one asked for.

    Really, a Montreal Screwjob finish for Angle/Styles? Really? way to separate yourself from the WWE, by doing a blatant rip off of an incident from 1997. Way to be innovative and fresh. Also by putting the Tag Team title on 2 single wrestlers when you have an actual tag team division with real teams. Put the title on Beer Money or the Motor City Machine guns and let the tag team division shine on its own.

    Damn TNA is so fucking frustrating. Stop trying to be Monday Night Raw, RAW Sucks! Focus on being like Smackdown; 10 minute matches, limit the promo time to your top guys, a tag team match with actual tag teams, a Knockouts match and at least 1 X division match up and advance your story lines through in ring action than lame backstage interactions.

  5. January 24, 2010 at 11:23 AM

    Great recap, TNA was a disaster this week as was RAW. Sadly Smackdown sucked too, the only good things were the Morrison tag match and Mickie’s amazing promo. TNA has become one massive freaking headache to watch. I’m glad to have Angelina back as well, but a three minute match? Is this what the knockouts are going to be now? Bad enough we lost Kong and Melissa this week. What a bad week to be a wrestling fan….

    Check out my site for recaps and classics at
    http://nala310.wordpress.com/

  6. Lou
    January 24, 2010 at 12:52 PM

    I haven’t watched TNA since Hogan was rumored to be joining. I knew him and his “friends” were going to come in and ruin what was a up and coming company. My buddy has been watching the past few weeks, hopeful that Hogan would be doing more good then bad. He was sadly disappointed to see the 6 sided ring removed in favor of a four sided ring and he was really upset when one of his favorite and one of the best TNA workers Christopher Daniels lost to freaking Val Venis.

    I can’t bring myself to give these guys any more ratings. None of them can hardly wrestle anymore and all of their ideas come from 10-15 years ago. They are alienating the hardcore TNA fan base (as noted by the all of booing from the fans when they announced the switch to a 4 sided ring) and I don’t think that is a good idea.

    Anyway, thanks for your thoughts John, I enjoy reading them and I hope you keep doing them like this. Also, I really hope to see Awesome Kong in WWE, there are no other women even close to her in WWE, I think she would be a great addition to the women’s division as a huge threat to take the title at any time.

  7. Yaz
    January 24, 2010 at 4:09 PM

    Impact this week was shit… I think giving this show even a 3 is all too generous of you John… And this is coming from someone who actually enjoys TNA. Shit.

    First off – where the hell is the wrestling? I can justify one or two shows at the beginning of the whole Hogan regime being storyline driven – but now, it’s fairly established. We know he’s there to ‘shake things up’ – can we please see some wrestling? It’s the strongest part of TNA.

    More and more I believe that Hogan coming in has been a carefully strategic plan by Vince. I know – conspiracy theory galore here – but honestly, I would not be surprised if Hogan is playing TNA for Vince. Would not surprise me at all.

    Re-creating the Montreal Screwjob is the most pathetic thing I have ever seen on an Impact broadcast. It would have been fine if they had just made it a storyline where Angle got screwed out – bam. Done. Fine. But to go as far as they did in re-creating the actual screwjob – Hogan coming out, and staring at Angle, Angle leaning on those ropes just like Hart did, Angle spitting on Hogan… Man – so amateur. It doesn’t help their product. If anything, it reminds people of WWF/E. That’s all it does, it gets viewers to remember Bret Hart, and how he’s coming back to WWE television. How stupid are these guys?

    I’m really glad the TNA fans are booing Hogan, and I can only hope that he goes heel sooner rather than later. He pretty much is a heel in the audiences eyes at this point: He’s changing the ring, he’s putting over his ‘friends’… Why not just go with it and go heel? At least then the audience can hate him for the changes and it WORKS. Right now he’s making these changes (like the four sided ring) and its not getting over cuz the audiences HATES it. But if he were a heel doing that, it would work – I think…

    Anyway, I’m done ranting. Very disappointed in this week. The wrestling blew, the talent I wanted to see didn’t even appear and if Hogan’s gonna help, then he should really be thinking about separating the product from WWE’s. At least Joe is back on TV next week…

    Geez, TNA, what the fuck are you thinking?

  8. Mr.ken
    January 24, 2010 at 4:29 PM

    im very suprised the pope lost to whoppie. (i love that) and we didnt get the young bucks. Did they even hear how much the crowd went wild for these guys last week. Did they even watch the match? But no. We get the nasty boys who seem to scream Nasty! After every fucking thing they do. Wheres hardy? Wheres machismo? I enjoyed watching jay leathal doing his randy savage. Calling the guns michals and jenette. Calling abyss andre. Classic funny. And no joe. What the fuck! I guess he could go to wwe and be samoan joe. But hes not related to the rock so he proly dosnt have a chance.

  9. David K
    January 24, 2010 at 8:12 PM

    Haha, where are all those WWE haters now? Where are all the guys that said that TNA would just destroy anything that Raw put out?

    • Yaz
      January 24, 2010 at 10:21 PM

      I for one still feel that way… And until I see a good raw, I probably won’t change my opinion. You’re making this comment based on ONE TNA show… Not to mention that TNA in general is a very young company by comparison.

      – WWE Hater

      • David K
        January 25, 2010 at 10:08 AM

        I’m making this based on the DIRECTION the ship is going, not a single turn here. There’s been enough evidence to show that the talent is getting over-hauled, and that’s not why TNA couldn’t compete with WWE. The reason they couldn’t compete was the production value and lack of exposure. Here, they got both of those things down, but destroyed what made them unique and fun. It’s almost a detriment to WCW to call them WCW 2.0, cause at least WCW ran with the big dogs at one point, instead of being the one that needs to be taken out back and put down.

        • Yaz
          January 25, 2010 at 11:27 AM

          I disagree strongly. You say there has been enought evidence to show that the talent is getting over-hauled… You think a few weeks with Hogan in charge has given enough evidence? They’re bringing in new talent and yes, those older wrestlers are going over – right now. Who’s to say that this isn’t a part of the booking and in a matter of weeks the younger wrestlers will be getting put over? You want the younger wrestlers to get put over, true, but if you do it right off the bat against the older talent, then it’s not really putting them over… They’re winning, sure, but it doesn’t matter as much. It’s as good as them not going over the other wrestler as well.

          I have faith, and despite what you think, THAN does not need to be put down in any way. They are a good company trying to find their footing, and most of their shows are on part with the shittiness that is RAW… So, what does say about WWE’s product? I guess they should be taken out back too.

          • David K
            January 25, 2010 at 8:46 PM

            What’s the definition of insanity? Doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different result … that’s right. At this point, if you had made any valid points showing growth with TNA I would have applauded you and been more inclined to have faith in the product. Unfortunately, the product you speak of is no more, and what you’re looking at is a shallow attempt at sucking the life out of what could have been a great company. You know why nobody bashes ROH? Because they do their best, and they stick to their guns. I love the fact that these guys go out there, do what they love, and don’t step on toes … AND get respected throughout the wrestling community. There is not a single motion that TNA has done that makes me believe that they are respected. From the lack of a drug policy that is luring people from other companies with them, to destroying the talent they built within. There’s a great quote from Sting a few years back on why he didn’t go to WWE when the buyout of WCW happened, and he tells us a story about when a new talent on the rise came into the company by the name of Booker T. He came into the ring clearing house with The Rock, and The Rock turned around and looked at him and made the statement “Who are you?”. That statement alone buried everything that Booker T. worked for, and was enough to push Sting away from the WWE. Flash forward to Hogan “buying out” TNA here, and him bringing in formerly established talent to come in and do the same thing to the current roster. You might as well have buried Daniels, Young, and Joe by having them job out to these has-beens. Look what happened to Booker T’s career after that happened from a star like The Rock, and dumb it down to a level where it’s happening from a guy like Brian Knobbs. TNA is a no longer the company that once was, TNA is a piece of trash that is milking an anti-WWE movement. Problem for TNA is you people don’t buy stuff, so that’s why WWE isn’t all that pissed to see you leave.

  10. mr.ken
    January 25, 2010 at 12:09 AM

    i agree. Tna is just working out the kinks. Itll rebound once hogan sees howmuch we want to see the tna originals. I know hogan is trying hard to be face but. Fans dont like em. He needs to realise that and give us what we realy want.

    • Aaron
      January 25, 2010 at 10:10 AM

      Hogan does not care wah the fans want to see. Hogan hos no creativity in terms of an overall show. Could he book a main event? Yeah. But what does Hogan know about bring up a young talent and making him a star? Ntt much at all..

      Pope, Wolfe, Daniels, Joe, MMG, Robert Roode (not as big on Storm).. these don’t stand a chance.

      WWE needs a chance to get younger? They’ll find it with disgruntled TNA talent.

  11. Sam
    January 25, 2010 at 9:38 AM

    this is why I will never watch TNA, never have, never will.

  12. Aaron
    January 25, 2010 at 11:40 AM

    I agree too. I think Alex Shelly is a great talent. What he has going against him is that he is undersized. And I don’t mean height wise only, he doesn’t have a good build. He’s got the Independent star build, which does not go far without a serious gimmick overhaul.

    But I like Alex Shelly.. liked him as a heel too.

    • Johnny
      January 25, 2010 at 12:06 PM

      Well AJ isn’t big either and I for sure don’t find AJ’s promos nearly as entertaining than the few Shelley has had, I’m 20 years old so thats probably why I root for the young guys. As for Shelley’s gimmick goes, he is kinda like Chris Jericho, a small guy with a big mouth. He has the wrestling skills, perhaps little less than AJ but he is also several years younger than AJ so I think he has potential to become main eventer. I just hate that a guy with such potential is active only in tag-team division when he clearly could roll with the big boys in few years but I’ll doubt he will ever be main eventing in TNA, he has said that he enjoys tag-team wrestling very much and Sabin is his best friend.

      • dlowhizite
        January 25, 2010 at 12:13 PM

        shelley needs to find his groove. Of couse as John said, he’s going to probably have surgery soon, so we’ll be missing him for a while. Return of Hail Sabin perhaps? I dunno. AJ is short as well, but he’s got a good body physique (he’s built a little more than Shelley). I think Shelley needs to add 5 to 10 lbs more of muscle mass to get to the enxt level.

        Hey, I like the guy, and would like tosee him progress, but look at the state of the business, you gotta have the look to go along with the package. AJ’s got the look..

        • Johnny
          January 25, 2010 at 12:31 PM

          ohh I agree that Shelley needs to gain some muscle mass, but when you look at him recently he is definitely working on his physique because he has more defined muscles than few months back. As far as AJ goes, I know he is phenomenal in ring but I just dont like his promo skills at all, he looks like a guy who does all the talking in the ring while Shelley is like the guy who can burn and insult people effectively and get himself in trouble because of that.
          I think Shelley has the potential to be a top star but I doubt its happening.

  13. January 25, 2010 at 11:48 AM

    Shelley’s got a herniated disk in his back or neck. He’ll be under the knife soon and out for a while. He’s trying to work through it, but since he’s still in his 20s he’ll likely opt for the surgery.

  14. Gamekeper7
    January 25, 2010 at 4:56 PM

    horrible show, reminded me of early 90 wwe mixed with late 90s wcw. crappy effort by bookers, no reason in hell for the nasty boys to win, or whoopi for that matter. fueding ken anderson with abyss is a waste. but still better than raw most weeks.

  15. Jay
    January 28, 2010 at 1:32 PM

    You should start an over under on how long it takes Hogan and Bischoff to put TNA out of business. They will succeed in much better time than they did when they killed WCW.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

