Home > Columns, wwe > Guest Column – The K Files: Road to the Elimination Chamber

Guest Column – The K Files: Road to the Elimination Chamber

Note from John: Last week Andrew Johnson debuted. This week it’s David K.’s turn. He’ll be writing every Wednesday for the blog. Give it a look and let him know what you think.

Welcome to the K Files, I’m your host David K.  To give you a little background on me, I’m 23 years old, and have followed wrestling since the Undertaker was stalking Hogan.   I collect many tapes and DVD’s, so you’ll see me implement a lot of historical information into what I write.  To kick things off, I give to you my preview of the Elimination Chamber main events in a column I like to call …

The Road to the Elimination Chamber

The Elimination Chamber matches have been around since Survivor Series 2002.  This match is now exclusive to the February pay per view, formerly known as No Way Out, and will serve as the launching point for what will become the Road to Wrestlemania.   The championships are on the line in both matches, so let’s take a look at what these matches will have in store for us.

Raw Elimination Chamber

This match will determine who will hold the gold on the flagship program of the WWE, Raw. While the title has been bounced around quite a bit over the years, the latest holder Sheamus has held it amongst a bit of controversy. At this point, many critics agree that his relationship with Triple H has thrust him into the spotlight. The odds of either of those men leaving with the belt are high, as the rumor of them having a match at Wrestlemania has been going around since November. With that being said, it’s hard to see Cena leaving with the belt, as he appears to be set for a program with McMahon, Hart, and Batista. Could the belt be thrown in there for intrigue at Wrestlemania? Doubtful. The fire that feud has going does not need any more wood thrown in for it to be a blaze. Then there’s the other half of this match. I call it the other half, because these three men have been in a pseudo-feud for awhile now. Kofi has been thrown into this match similar to the year before, and the same outcome wouldn’t shock me. If you recall, last year Edge ran in last minute to beat Kofi up, and take his place in the match. Kofi has a great amount of talent, but he’s still a few years off from title contention. Once his character has developed a little bit more, we might be talking about him in a feud with a title. Unfortunately, this isn’t his night. Now, for Randy Orton and Ted DiBiase. This feud needed to start months ago, but they plant seeds and forget to water them all too often. Look for this feud to start blooming here.

Individual Odds (% chance of winning)

Sheamus – (35%)

John Cena – (14%)

Triple H – (30%)

Kofi Kingston – (7%)

Randy Orton – (8%)

Ted DiBiase, Jr. – (6%)

Stats Worth Mentioning

– Triple H has been in the most Elimination Chambers with 5. His record is 4-1. His only loss was to Shawn Michaels in the first Elimination Chamber at Survivor Series 2002.

– John Cena has been in 2 Elimination Chambers, winning at New Year’s Revolution 2006 and losing at No Way Out 2009.

– For Kingston and DiBiase, the odds shrink, as Bobby Lashley is the only Superstar who’s first shot at the title was successful. He won the ECW Championship at December to Dismember 2006.

– Newcomers to the match do have one thing to look forward to. Goldberg, a rookie to the match, holds the record for most eliminations with 3, alongside the Undertaker.

– History shows that the Number 5 draw is the luckiest, having put forth 5 of the 9 winners. The unlucky spot? Number 4, which has yet to see a winner.

Smackdown Elimination Chamber

The Smackdown Elimination Chamber match has to be the more intriguing of the two, as the program has been stellar the past year or so with great matches, and storylines to back them up. With upcoming young talent getting over with audiences, and older talent willing to push them to the limit, it’s hard to say that this match won’t live up to the expectations. Here’s what you should expect from each of the participants:

The Undertaker – I’m nearing the end of my career, but that’s how it’s been now for the past 3-4 years. I get paid to show up to one to two shows a week, and get to go on extended leave after the Granddaddy of Them All. I’ve been in this match twice now, leading off back in 2008 and winning it, but losing last year to HHH after being the last one to enter. I’ve held the belt since October, which is a pretty long time these days in the world of championship belts. I don’t expect to hold on to this one, and I’m sure HBK is going to have a hand in the title changing hands.

History says: Expect a late entry, and a late exit.

Gut says: Enters 5th, Eliminated 4th.

Computer says: Wins

Rey Mysterio – Boy, am I hurting. I should be gone on leave right now to fix my lingering knee injuries. With the age I’m approaching, and the style I have, my knees may be the downfall of my career. With younger talent moving faster, flying higher, and getting bigger pops, I have to wonder what is left for me to prove in the ring. There’s little chance they put the belt on me and let me perform on the biggest stage of them all. I’ve been hurt the past few years, and there’s not a chance in hell I’m missing this year. Hopefully whatever happens here will lead to some time off from in ring work so I can recover and prepare for that match. I’ll probably leave after Wrestlemania to get some serious knee surgery done, but who knows what role I’ll play when I return from that.

History says: Expect a gutsy performance from an early start, but falling short late.

Gut says: Expect CM Punk to cheat Rey out of winning.

Computer says: Eliminated 2nd

CM Punk – It’s hard to find something right now that I’m not on a roll with. I’ve got a stable that’s growing by the week. I’ve got one of the best characters on television right now. My in ring work is developing into a Superstar of top caliber. My age is one of the defining years in the life of a Superstar. You either make it, or break it right now. And I’m looking at blue skies at the top of the mountain. My Straight-Edge-Society is now three people big, but I need more. I’m missing those two Superstars that would complete my collection of talent. With that being said, I can walk out of here with gold very easily, as I’ve tasted it before, and it was good.

History says: Expect Punk to be eliminated early.

Gut says: Should win, but won’t.

Computer says: Eliminated 3rd

Chris Jericho – Bret Hart, look out. Right now I’m the best there is. I’m on top of the world, and I’m looking down at the rest of the talent and taking a stance few Superstars take in my position. I’m looking to pull people up to where I am. Edge has come back after a lengthy recovery period, and it’d be all too easy to pick up where we left off in a feud. It could very well headline Wrestlemania, and that’s what the critics are expecting. Whoever I end up facing, you’re damn well sure that you’re going to get one hell of a match.

History says: 4 out of 5 times starts it out, left in the third spot 3 times, and the fourth 2 times.

Gut says: Give him the belt!

Computer says: Eliminated 4th

John Morrison – I’ve been on the rise for quite some time now. Ever since Tough Enough, I’ve taken the baby steps each way towards the gold. I never skipped a step along the way, and I’ve more than exceeded expectations. I recently did an interview where I bashed the guys who leap into championship contention without taking the steps that most of us go through. I’m not ready just yet, although nobody would mind if it was around my waist. I see good things in my future; just let it happen at the right time, with the right people around.

History says: Rookies don’t have a chance, unless it’s ECW. Expect an early exit after high-flying maneuver.

Gut says: He’ll hit a spot, get eliminated early.

Computer says: Eliminated 5th

R-Truth – Wow, this is what the top is like? This is the closest I’ve come since I was NWA champ to title contention. I’m not sure why I’m in this match, but I can tell you that I sure as hell feel like I deserve it. My moves and entrance are very gimmicky, and just like gimmicky guys before me, I’ll need to water that down and get some standardized moves in if I expect to be taken seriously again. Don’t forget my past, but watch me change if I have any aspirations of getting further than where I am at.

History says – Expect lots of grunt work, but a mid-way elimination

Gut says: Expect a twist with him, like a late entry or exit. They’ll use him as bait for the “unexpected”

Computer says: First Eliminated

So there you have it. Both matches have the potential to be five star matches, but we’ll have to wait to see how everything plays out.  Hopefully Kofi makes it into the Elimination Chamber this time. Below are some props to follow and wager against your friends. Feel free to pick’em in the comments below, and share your thoughts with others. Thanks for reading, and I’ll be back again next week with another column.  If you’d like to send me an email, you can do so at mlbtopprospect@gmail.com.  Make sure you follow me on Twitter, @DaveTheAwesome.

Prop Bets:

Over/Under’s –

Triple H Pedigree’s – 3.5

Minutes for Undertakers Entrance – 3.5

Announcers Use of the Phrase “Could have a new champion” – 8.5

Weapons Used – 1.5

Finishers – 12.5

Run-In’s (Check all that apply) –

Hornswoggle

Shawn Michaels

A member of the Straight Edge Society

Edge

Cody Rhodes

Will It Happen? –

Pod gets broken

Somebody bleeds

Batista gets injured even though not in match

Announcer pees pants during “The Deadman’s” entrance

CM Punk showers

Can You Spot

The number of pants being worn in the ring at any time

Who tans more than others?

The moment Randy Orton finds something stupid

The four talents that worked in WCW

The two talents that worked in TNA

  1. Thok
    February 10, 2010 at 11:50 AM

    Solid and funny, i realy liked the lists at the end…

  2. Tyson
    February 10, 2010 at 11:56 AM

    Nice work, man. This is a nice addition to the blog.

  3. esfjellin
    February 10, 2010 at 2:11 PM

    love it! good stuff!

    • Dave K.
      February 10, 2010 at 6:52 PM

      Thanks for reading guys! I was really nervous to see what you guys thought, and I’m glad it’s getting good feeback!

  4. jay
    February 10, 2010 at 2:56 PM

    Sheamus better than a 1/3 chance of winning? Please. Sheamus’ demographic is pasty white Irish Drunks. They already buy WWE programming. No Money here.

    Rey Mysterio will probably lose, but his headlining WM = Hispanic PPV buys and an insane crowd reaction in Phoenix. There is some reason why he is hanging on until after WM to get his knee fixed. It isn’t to appear in the openning match, (but it may be for the bad idea hair/mask thing with Punk. Punk could carry him in a great match.).

    Wow… The Undertaker is the the only big power guy in the Match, just what Vince likes…. Large Cartoon characters that can’t move or wrestle. He is the only person in the match that doesn’t actually wrestle and can sit up or kick out of a nuclear explosion like Hogan. He is a favorite. Is anyone else in this match beside Rey and the Undertaker huge draws? No. Internet fans really like everyone else, but does middle American Moms Dads and Kids with glow sticks. They can take them or leave them, but they will not make them buy a PPV.

    If the WWE was smart, they would use this PPV and WM to create a whole group of new stars. However with Vince, H3, and Undertaker selfishly clinging to their spot even though they are so far over the hill that they are going down at break-neck speed, fat chance that we will have several new stars for the new decade.

    • Oxide
      February 10, 2010 at 4:19 PM

      All this talk about PPV buys. You really are ALL ABOUT THE MONEY~!
      XD

      • jay
        February 10, 2010 at 7:52 PM

        Lol…. It is always about the money!

        I love trying to think like Vince. When you are right it is satisfying. When your wrong, you can simply blame Vince for dropping the ball. Besides, someone in CT is reading some of this stuff. If you can present resoning not to do something or point out that it is a cheap or obvious, it might influence a better story or at least one that I would prefer watching. Plus if there is clever idea presented, maybe someone might be listening.

        Regardless, I usually get intelligent feedback for my ideas from all of the blog fans. Sometimes people like my ideas. Sometimes they hate them and hate me. But it gives me a chance to discuss wrestling with people who know the difference between a hammerlock and a piledriver. At the end of the day, that is what I love to do. People who are my age and professional generally do not watch wrestling, I like having a place where I can put my thoughts in writing.

        Besides the WWE has been pissing me off for more than 30 years. I hated the whole Rock and Wrestling thing, and loved the Big Red X. Forums like this blog let me blow off steam that comes from Vince’s philosophy. It is good for sanity.

    • Dave K.
      February 10, 2010 at 6:53 PM

      Not sure if I’m supposed to look at this as a comment towards the article, or if it’s a comment on the WWE. Regardless, thanks for reading!

      • jay
        February 10, 2010 at 8:02 PM

        Dave: My comments are mainly directed toward the community as commentary on the WWE.

        As the author, I view your opinions as expert opinions. I am only adding my opinion on top of the opinion that you espouse.

        Your story was solid reasoning. I just wanted to present a separate point of view.

        Good first column. It will be nice to see more of your stuff.

  5. jay
    February 10, 2010 at 3:10 PM

    Since we all know how much Vince loves to push minorities….

    I know when I think of Vince, the first thing I think of are qualities like open-minded, tolerant, politically correct, ect… Vince is the Branch Rickey of the new milenium….

    And since it is black history month….. What are the odds of a black person winning the elimination chamber match. We have two prospects, Kofi Kingston and R-Truth. Odds of 1 or both winning .03%. (If I was booking, there would be about a 23% chance of one or both winning. I think they both have intriguing potential. My hesitancy would only come from the fact that they have not been pushed as potential winners.

  6. Anonymous
    February 10, 2010 at 3:39 PM

    Definitely (spelling?) good stuff man. Nice job on the statisitics. Let’s say Kofi gets beat up again and doesn’t enter (Please let him enter, PLEASE!). Who’d you think did the beating then?
    And I agree with your gut feeling about our dear mr. Lionheart. He should have the belt. Hopefully sooner rather than later. It would really spice the WM match with Edge up, right?

    • Oxide
      February 10, 2010 at 4:25 PM

      You know who I think would do the beating? Cody Rhodes. Then he’ll help his buddy Sheamus screw Randy out of the title yet again. Yeahhhh.

      I think Jericho would have to win either the WWE or World Heavyweight Titles, in order to face Edge at WM. Because, WHY would Edge want to face Jericho when he could face one of the champs?! That would be a waste a Royal Rumble. ;)

    • Dave K.
      February 10, 2010 at 6:54 PM

      You have to think HBK is going to have a hand in one of the matches, either gaining the title in the Raw one, or screwing Taker out of it in the other. It wouldn’t shock me either way.

  7. Oxide
    February 10, 2010 at 4:33 PM

    I love this column, and it’s only been here for a few hours or so! ^o^
    I’d love to see Dr.K do a column for the Royal Rumble next year (one month too late :( ).

    I’m just wondering though: who or what is this computer that tells us when people will get eliminated?! O_o

    • Dave K.
      February 10, 2010 at 6:56 PM

      The computer shall remain nameless, but I was suprised to see how well it worked. My goal is to replicate that Rumble by the Numbers promo they have every year for each of the Pay Per Views, so keep reading, and keep giving feedback, cause I’d love to be around until next year’s Rumble (unless I’m grabbing coffee for the creative team).

      • Sam
        February 11, 2010 at 10:07 AM

        Is the computer an xbox or ps3? lol

    • Andrew Johnson
      February 10, 2010 at 7:35 PM

      I like that name, Dr. K. You should use that Dave.

      • Oxide
        February 11, 2010 at 8:50 PM

        I stole it from Silet Hill: Shattered Memories. Just in case anyone asks. ;)

  8. Havoc39
    February 10, 2010 at 5:30 PM

    great column!! i got a dollar dollar bill that says HBK will take out kofi or r-truth to get into the elimination chamber match. or he could take out ted dibase jr. to devolop a fued with him. i dislike that all the spots have been filled up already. what is Christian to do with the upcoming disinagration of of ECW? i hope he wins Money in the Bank at WM26

    • Dave K.
      February 10, 2010 at 6:58 PM

      HBK will end up feuding with the Undertaker any way you look at it. WWE would never let a chance like this get away, especially not knowing how either of these guys could hold up in the future. My hope with Christian is that he doesn’t leave. Personally, I don’t care if he’s holding the WWE Championship, or jobbing to the new heels. I just don’t want to see him anywhere else but under the red and white logo of the WWE.

  9. Mike
    February 10, 2010 at 8:40 PM

    I think Jericho def wins the Smackdown Chamber match. It really wouldnt make sense to see Edge challenger Taker or Sheamus right now. The Jericho feud has been in the making since he got injured. Not to mention I WANT to see it. Edge-Jericho for the World Title at WM? Hells yeah. I also think it makes sense for HBK to somehow cause UT to be eliminated from the match–thus pissing off Taker enough to finally accept Shawn’s challenge. The only thing I hate about the streak is that there is no intrigue behind the match….you know Taker is winning. The only time I had doubts was Orton at WM21 because the original plan was to have Orton win, but he injured himself prior to Mania and ended up taking a few months off after Raw the day after. But you know Shawn is losing again, and its gonna be very hard for them to top what they did at last year’s WM. I feel like this match is gonna be dissapointing.

    As for the Raw match….Sheamus or HHH winning are the only logical outcomes. DiBiase is in there to either eliminate Orton or cause Orton to be eliminated by someone else–those two will have a WM match. Kingston is just in there as filler. Cena’s gonna be busy w/the Hart/Vince angle. That leaves Hunter and Sheamus. The excitement I feel for Jericho-Edge? I feel the polar opposite about Sheamus-HHH.

  10. Grant
    February 11, 2010 at 8:19 AM

    Great Column! It was written very well. Funny with alot of good info. I’m 32 and have been watching wrestling since I was 6, but don’t have near the collection it sounds like you have. Unfortunetly I have to rely on my memory to rembemer old ppv and shows. One thing about this ppv and the road to wrestlemania, I remember reading a few years ago that said Undertaker would end the streak to put somebody over who he felt was deserving. It was rumored that he was going to put Batista over, but was decided that Undertaker was still more over and Batista’s work ethic came into question. I’m sure we’re going to get HBK and Undertaker but I would like to see Undertaker pass the torch to someone deserving like Andre did all those years ago. Once again, great column

  11. Dave in Providence
    February 11, 2010 at 8:42 AM

    Loved the column,really loved the prop bets.I always find it fun messing about w/super bowl prop bets like over/under how many time they will refer to Archie Manning etc.I have to say I think Jericho is walking out winner cuz of Shawn Micheals screwing Taker in some way so it leads to Taker/Shawn and Jericho/Edge at WM Not sure about Raw though we’ve all read the rumors of HHH/Sheamus at WM so reason says it’ll be one of them 2 and I just can’t see say Orton winning and faceing DiBiase or Kofi in a co-main event at WM yet nothing against Orton it’s his oppenets not ready to headline a WM although we could see a HHH/Orton/Sheamus triple threat at WM but they did just do a triple threat at WM a couple of yrs ago…on the other side we have also seen either HHH/Cena/Orton headline a PPV like 654659659 mths in a row so I would’nt put it past WWE to make a Raw triple threat title match at WM even though they just did one,In my opinion put the Raw title match say 5th then some fodder like the Divas tittle then the World Hvywgt title(Edge/Jericho) and close the show out w/Taker/Micheals If you look at what matches are coming together for WM:
    MITB Punk/Rey (mask/hair) Hart/Vince Cena/Batista Edge/Jericho Taker/Micheals Sheamus/HHH and of course some stupid womens match
    That’s 8 matches and we have…Orton,Dibiase,Rhodes,Morrison,Christian,Miz,MVP,Kofi,R-truth,Big Show,Drew Mcintyre(yes I cannot spell) all w/out a match of course some of these guys will be in the MITB but some bigger names will be left out I can’t see more then 9 matches at most but who knows if I’m wrong I just wasted all this time for nothing and if I’m right well maybe the wife will give me a cookie so I guess it all doest’nt matter

  12. esfjellin
    February 11, 2010 at 9:04 AM

    DiBiase pins Orton, maybe Batista screws Cena out of the match and Kofi will probably first or second in, first or second eliminated. HHH gets pinned by Sheamus for the last pin of the night. In the weeks leading up to WM we get treated to a #1 contender tourney with HHH being the obvious winner facing Sheamus at WM. HHH wins the WM match in what will go down as one of the worst matches in WM/WWE history. Of course HHH takes no blame for this and Sheamus becomes the new Mike Knox.

    For SD, Shawn either 1) jumps R-Truth from behind and takes his spot in the EC (ala Edge/Kofi last year) or sneaks his way in the cage and screws Taker out of the match. Either way, this sets up the Taker/SM match at WM. Rey rolls up CM Punk infuriating Punk and this leads to a CM/RM match at WM in a hair vs mask match (my quick prediction..CM Punk wins. If Rey is taking time off after WM, it really makes no sense for him to win the match. Have him lose the mask, walk off in shame and come back a few months later when Punk is Champion and continue the feud. Last two in the SD EC are Jericho and Morrison and Jericho wins after about a bunch of good spots by both guys (Starship Pain gets turned into a Codebreaker).

    Just my thoughts on how this will play out :D

    • Yaz
      February 11, 2010 at 10:27 AM

      I agree with most of what you are saying… I really hope they play it as HBK being under the ring the whole time during the SD EC match and then pops out at the last minute to take Taker out. That would be old school.

  13. Mrs. Jericho
    February 11, 2010 at 7:49 PM

    very funnt, great job!

  14. Mrs. Jericho
    February 11, 2010 at 7:49 PM

    ugghhh. funny!

  15. Chris Greene
    February 12, 2010 at 5:10 PM

    Ha, yeah, the lists at the end were golden.

  16. sim
    February 13, 2010 at 12:52 PM

    I think Ted, HHH, Orton and Sheamus will be the last four men in the RAW elimination chamber. I guess HHH will eliminate Sheamus and Sheamus goes mad and lays him out. Orton pins HHH and eliminates him. Ted takes advantage, rolls Orton up and eliminates him. Ted wins the title and will go on to face Orton at Wrestlemania. Seeds will be planted for HHH/Sheamus.

    • Aaron
      February 17, 2010 at 11:17 AM

      You should go straight edge dude, your brain is officially fried.

      • sim
        February 17, 2010 at 3:24 PM

        lol i am straightedge

        • sim
          February 17, 2010 at 3:28 PM

          I think Ted’s going to win because of two reasons:

          1) A Ted/Orton match on its own doesn’t do much for most people. I mean, Ted has been a glorified jobber for months so suddenly being pushed will not make me or many others believe he has a chance in hell with the viper. If he wins here, people may think twice before over-looking him.

          2) Vince loves swerves, especially during Wrestlemania. This is something he would book.

  17. Awad
    February 17, 2010 at 10:37 AM

    Solid colum man, i love the JC style comedy aspect. Look forward to reading more of your stuff

  18. sheffield mark#1
    February 18, 2010 at 8:19 PM

    all the way solid work!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

