Home > The Raw Deal, wwe > The John Report: The Raw Deal for 02/15/10 (Cena/HHH)

The John Report: The Raw Deal for 02/15/10 (Cena/HHH)

Live from Des Moines, Iowa this is the Raw Deal…

NOTE: If you’re looking for the always funny Commentfest you can check it out by clicking RIGHT HERE and I hope it makes you laugh. I thought it was one of the better ones we’ve ever done.

They had a local Iowa teenage girl sing the national anthem in honor of President’s Day. She did a great job.

Sheamus d. Randy Orton via DQ (*1/2)
Much like at the Rumble, Orton was cheered. The crowd was hot for him, chanting “RKO” at points and basically hating anything Sheamus did. Orton didn’t really work like the babyface as he was on offense for much of it doing his stomp routine, but the crowd was still supporting him. They never really went into the finishing sequence. Sheamus got attacked by Ted and then when Cody went after him the ref saw it and DQ’d Orton just like at the Rumble. Post match, Orton dropped Rhodes with the RKO (fans chanted for it) Sheamus booted Ted and then Orton hit the RKO on Sheamus to stand tall at the end of it. I thought it was a well done segment.

They had Bret Hart come out. He talked for about five minutes saying he wanted the match with Vince, but since Vince wasn’t there and he called the match off there he felt like saying goodbye. He walked out, said bye to the WWE Universe (not fans, we’re a universe) and went on his merry way. Backstage, he was greeted by Kofi, Swagger, Alicia, Primo, Gail, Evan and Primo before bumping into Cena. Cena wished Bret well as he went into his limo, the camera shifted over to Cena and then we heard a screeching sound as a car got backed right into Bret’s leg, which had not yet gone in the limo. Oh no, the horror. It was Rikishi! He did it for The Rock! Cena yelled at the woman driver (ever seen the bad woman driver’s clip on youtube?) to move the car and she did. They got Bret into an ambulance as they put his left leg in a brace. Where was Steve Austin to attack him in the ambulance? Oh, how I miss 1997. That’s one of the greatest moments in Raw history. Anyway, the big story here will be who was that woman? How fucking blind was she to not see a limo right behind her? Where the fuck was she going to go by going backwards? Why am I asking so many questions that will never be answered? How now Brown Cow? Did Vince pay her to that to weaken Bret, leading to Vince putting the match back on because Bret would have a bad leg? I guess that’s what they’re going with. Maybe they’re taking Bret out of the match to have him sit in Cena’s corner against Batista at Mania. Lots of options. It wasn’t a great segment. Wasn’t bad. It just left me shrugging my shoulders as if to say “that’s it?” Wait and see on this one.

MVP & Mark d. Showmiz (*)
They did a remix of the theme songs belonging to Show & Miz. It feels like we’ve seen this before with MVP & Mizark beating Jerishow last summer in a similar non-title situation to set up a PPV match, which Balling Kool-Aid lost. The finish came when MVP countered a Miz pin attempt with a successful pin of his own for the win. This could set up a tag title match, I guess. No promo time from anybody. No mention of Miz’ US title either. Not the greatest segment here.

I should point out here that they mentioned the dog show on CNBC more times than they mentioned the Elimination Chamber on Sunday. I understand why because USA shows the dog show during the other nights, but it really got annoying.

The Springer segment was next. What a weird segment. I’m not recapping fully. Basically they had Kelly say she was pregnant, then had all the comedy guys like Santino, Masters and of course Hornswoggle claim to be the baby daddy. You know, if you’re into rumors there are a lot of jokes to be made about Kelly being with a lot of guys. But hey, I didn’t say it. She did. It also involved the Bellas saying one of them was a man and then Eve “brawling” with Kelly too. Then they had Lawler shockingly say it was all a joke. Springer acted stunned. What a thespian. The best part of this was Ranjin Singh (translating for Khali), who is on WWE’s creative team, actually made fun of how bad it was by calling it a waste of time. Then it ended with Mae Young kissing Springer. This took nearly 15 minutes. It was funny at times (Santino had some good lines of course and even Cole made me laugh when he called Kelly a hussy), but it was too silly and too over the top even for Raw guest host standards.

They plugged the Morrison DVD. Did you know? It only covers the last three years. Nothing from his Johnny Nitro days are included. I guess they never happened just like winning Tough Enough never happened. Now you know.

Ted Dibiase d. Kofi Kingston (1/2*)
Here’s your three minute special match. On Smackdown, this match would get ten minutes. On Raw, they only get three because they have to do a “comedy” segment. If you think either of these guys are going to win the Elimination Chamber you should think about being Straight Edge. Dibiase won with the Dream Street OUT OF NOWHERE~! even though he supposedly was dizzy from getting kicked in the head by Sheamus. In a matter of months Kingston’s gone from a major player to losing in under three minutes to a concussed guy, yet the announcers will tell you he’s on a roll. Sure he is. Rolling down the card.

They announced Antonio Inoki will be in the Hall of Fame. Well deserved. Very influential as a performer, but also impactful as a promoter as well. Problem is, I doubt 80% of WWE’s audience even knows who he is. I’m sure his name was a hit on google search tonight, though.

When they came back from break they had Cole & Lawler talk about this being the “worst night ever” of Bret Hart’s life. Are you kidding me? Seriously? Worse than his brother dying in a WWF ring? Worse than the stroke that nearly took his life? I understand wanting to get an angle over. I get that. But don’t insult our intelligence to this degree because it makes you look stupid. This really pissed me off. You want to get your angle over? Fine, do that. This was very insulting to me as a lifelong WWE fan. Trying to tell us that a silly car angle is worse than a guy losing his brother, or suffering a near death experience like a stroke, is weak. Very weak.

By the way, plenty of SERIOUS VOICES~! were used during the Bret Hart stuff. That’s because it was really serious, ya know? His leg is broken in 1,461 places unofficially. I don’t care what they do with the angle. Just do me a favor and get Bret Hart on the show on March 15th when Steve Austin hosts. I want to see the two guys that gave me the best match ever on the show together one more time. That would make me happy.

Great video package on the Elimination Chamber. By the way, what channel was the dog show on? Oh CNBC, right. You told us that more than you mentioned the PPV.

Jerry Springer gave us his Final Thoughts like on his show. I honestly haven’t watched his show in ten years. It was fun when I was 19, though. Hey look, Mae Young again. Amazing.

John Cena came out to talk to Batista…on the video screen. They basically said Batista will be on the show next week to meet Cena face to face. I like their interaction. Yes, they’ve had matches before, but never with Batista in the heel role that I love. I have to give Cena props for making fun of Batista’s golf clothes, though. The badass grandpa must be pissed. Next week they go face to face. Even though it was well done, they spent two hours hyping up a promo to hype up another promo next week.

John Cena vs. HHH ended in the very predictable DQ (**)
They got about 12 minutes. I love how the announcers acted as if this was some fresh match. They had a better match on the October 19th Raw last year when I gave them **** for a 20 minute match that HHH won clean, which was right before the Ironman match that would have been Cena’s “last match” on Raw had he lost. They seemed to just go through the motions here while not wanting to give away too much. It screamed DQ the moment it started. Sure enough, Sheamus came in the ring and KNOCKED THE FUCK OUT~! of Triple H with the kick. Cena tried to get him in the AA, but Sheamus slithered (oops, can only use that word for Orton) out and hit the kick on Cena. He finished Triple H off with the WrestleMania preview spot by hitting the Razor’s Edge/Celtic Cross/Needs a Name to lay him out. The show ended with Sheamus standing tall.

Going into the Chamber I thought for sure Sheamus was winning. Now I’m not sure because of my famous “look strong on TV, lose on PPV” theory. It might be Cena. It might be HHH. I doubt it’s Orton and it definitely won’t be Kofi or Ted. I’ll probably stick with the Sheamus pick although I have the right to change my mind before I write my preview column on Wednesday night.

Three Stars of the Show
1. Randy Orton – Best part of the show. I’d still rather see him as a heel, but what he’s doing is working.
2. The Great Khali – For saying the Springer segment was a waste of time and making out with Eve.
3. SERIOUS VOICES~! – They had a strong showing from OUT OF NOWHERE~! on this show.

4 out of 10
Last week: 7.5

I thought this show did a poor job of promoting the Elimination Chamber. I care more about Hart/McMahon and Cena/Batista than I do that title match on Sunday. Frankly, I know more about the Westminster Dog Show being live on CNBC opposite Raw than I do about what we’re going to see in the Elimination Chamber. Why not have the six guys in that match actually talk about it? We only heard from Cena. For the show that is usually promo heavy this week, when promos were needed, we barely got any. I don’t get it.

There’s a Divas Title match on Sunday between Maryse and Gail. Maryse wasn’t on the show. There was no mention of the match being on the PPV either. Gail was only on as the token woman that gets to overact during the “terrible tragedy.” When the match bombs at the PPV don’t be surprised.

That Springer segment was one of the worst they’ve done with a guest host. And that’s saying something! I’m sure Vince thought it was fascinating television, though.

This wasn’t the worst Raw ever or anything like that. Trust me, that stretch from September through December was worse. It’s just that I really liked the last three weeks and this week was a big step back from those ones. I’m disappointed. Let’s hope it was merely a bump in the road as we get closer to WrestleMania rather than a recurring trend. I don’t want Raw to be bad again.

I missed Shawn Michaels. Did you?

————


NOTE: If you’re looking for the always funny Commentfest you can check it out by clicking RIGHT HERE and I hope it makes you laugh. I thought it was one of the better ones we’ve ever done.
————

Plug time.

Check out my friend Mickie James’ website at mickiejames.com for info on her debut country music single “Are You With Me?” that is released as of today. You can order the album and get a free t-shirt plus autographed copy of CD if you do it through Countryshowcase.com and it’ll be shipped to you at the end of March when the CD is officially released. I shill because I care.

Keep checking out the blog at johnreport.wordpress.com on a daily basis for new, updated content. I’ll have a new URL this week too although the old one will work just fine.

I’ll have an Elimination Chamber preview up on Wednesday night. Thanks for reading.

John Canton – oratoryjohn@gmail.com
Visit the blog: johnreport.wordpress.com
Check out the petition to get me hired by WWE with over 600 signatures.
Add me on Facebook at Facebook.com/thejohnreport and Twitter at Twitter.com/johnreport
AOLIM: OratorJC MSN: oratoryjohn@hotmail.com

Visit My Archives to view ten years of The John Report columns.

  1. Randall
    February 16, 2010 at 1:51 AM

    I actually thought you were WAY too generous on this one. The Hart segment was so dumb, unless they are planning something like it was all staged by Cena/Bret so that they can trick Vince into fighting at Mania. That’s the only way I can see it being saved.

    The Springer segment….*head desk*

    Terrible, terrible Raw. It was a 1, maybe 2 out of 10.

    • Jacob
      February 16, 2010 at 10:42 AM

      “unless they are planning something like it was all staged by Cena/Bret so that they can trick Vince into fighting at Mania. That’s the only way I can see it being saved.”

      OK, that’s obviously what’s going to happen…

  2. Matt
    February 16, 2010 at 2:16 AM

    Santino’s line about if Kelly’s kid was Jerry Lawler’s then he would end up a criminal like Grandmaster Sexy had me laughing so hard!

    Other than that, terrible show.

    • Jacob
      February 16, 2010 at 10:43 AM

      I believe it was “Grand Mastahr Sexxaaaaaaay!”

  3. Nick
    February 16, 2010 at 5:08 AM

    Randy Orton had an especially spastic seizure after RKOing Sheamus last night.

  4. JCITY617
    February 16, 2010 at 5:52 AM

    EVEN THOUGH THE SPRINGER STUFF DIDNT HELP ADVANCE ANY STORYLINES WHATSOEVER I STILL FOUND THIS RAW VERY ENTERTAINNING……………THE BRET HART STUFF IS GOOD KEEPS YOU WONDERING WERE THIS IS GOING……KING CALLED MIZ AND SHOW THE MIZSHOW NOT SHOWMIZ SOOOOOOOOOOOO CONFUSED LOL………THE MATCHES WERE OK I SEEN ALMOST ALL OF THEM BEFORE IN THE LAST 5MONTHS BUT WHATEVER………..THEY COULD HAVE PLUGGED THE ELIMINATION CHAMBER PPV MORE BUT THATS WHAT SMACKDOWNS FOR I GUESS……….IS SHAWN MICHAELS OK???(HYPOTHETICAL I KNOW ITS KAYFABE) HES BEEN ON SUICIDAL DEPRESSION I WOULD HAVE SERIOUSLY MARKED OUT IF THAT WAS HIM WHO BACKED UP INTO BRET’S LEG……………

    • Jacob
      February 16, 2010 at 10:46 AM

      OK, this is the first and last time I respond to you, you fucking retard. I didn’t read your comment, I never do. Most people never do. Control your Fetal Alcohol Syndrome for one second, press the caps lock key just once, contemplate what it might be like to have semi-average intelligence, then try real real hard to construct a coherent post. Until then, myself and others are NEVER GOING TO READ YOUR SHIT YOU FUCKING MORON (see what I did there?).

      • JCITY617
        February 16, 2010 at 1:24 PM

        CONSIDERING I NEVER ASKED FOR YOU TO REPLY 2 ANY OF MY COMMENTS, AND YOU CLAIM 2NEVER READ THEM YOU SURE SEEM 2 B OBSESSED WITH MY EVERY LIL MOVE ON THIS BLOG. IM NOT HERE SEEKING YOURS OR ANYONE ELSES ACCEPTANCE. IGNORANCE IS BLISS AND U ARE ONE BLISSFUL MOTHERFUCKER. SO I KEEP MY CAPLOCKS ON WHOOPTI-FUCKIN-DO GET OVER IT, IS NOT THAT SERIOUS BUT PPL THAT CONCENTRATE ON THE LITTLEST THINGS FROM OTHERS USUALLY HAVE MAJOR FLAWS WITHIN THEMSELFS THEY HAVE 2 FIX. MISERY LOVES COMPANY I GUESS SO I UNDERSTAND YOUR NEED 2REACH OUT WITH VULGARITY HOPING SOMEBODY WILL AGREE WITH YOU,MUST FEEL WARM AND FUZZY INSIDE WHEN YOU TALK THAT TUFF SHIT FROM BEHIND A KEYBOARD WHEN I WOULD BET 2MONTHS RENT THAT YOU WOULDNT EVER FIX YOUR FACE 2 SAY ANYTHING HALF AS STUPID 2MY FACE IF WE WERE EVER 2MET SO STOP THE BULLSHIT.YOU SIT ON YOUR HIGH HORSE AND CALL ME A RETARD AND A MORON,SMH I WILL PRAY FOR YOU AND ALL OTHER UNSUCCESSFUL ABORTIONS SUCH AS YOURSELF. IM NOT HERE 2 BICKER BOUT THINGS THAT DONT PERTAIN 2WHAT THE BLOG IS ABOUT SO YOUR DISMISSED. YOU HAVE OFFICIALLY BEEN OWNED SON SO GET OFF DADDY’S DICK…………. BITCH.

        • Scoot
          February 16, 2010 at 2:49 PM

          “I WILL PRAY FOR YOU”

          That’s my favorite quote after a string of obsenities ;-) Followed by “SO GET OFF DADDY’S DICK…………. BITCH.”

          Interesting.

          • JCITY617
            February 16, 2010 at 4:45 PM

            GOD ISNT AS JUDGEMENTAL AS JACOB THE GAY COCK LICKER…….ORLANDO JORDAN ASS MOTHERFUCKER……LMAO :)

            • rob
              February 16, 2010 at 5:15 PM

              Jcity,
              without this turning personal, it is hard to read when you write in all caps. You may have great points to make, but I never read them.

              • JCITY617
                February 17, 2010 at 10:00 AM

                THATS WEIRD BECAUSE BIGGER FONT IS WAAAAY EASIER 2 READ ITS THAT U JUST DONT WANT 2 THERES A BIG DIFFERENCE BUT I THINK YOU GUYS JUST HAVE A PERSONAL AGENDA CUZ I DOUBT THAT WHEN U READ COMMENTFEST OR WHATNOT U GUYS DONT SKIP OVER THE PARTS THAT ARE IN CAPS

                • Oxide
                  February 17, 2010 at 12:22 PM

                  I read your stuff all the time. :)
                  But it’s a little difficult to read without proper punctuation. The way comments appear on this blog doesn’t help make ALL CAPS any easier to read either. Overall though, if you can read English, then you should be able read ALL CAPS messages with a little effort. I’m guessing a lot of people don’t read longer ALL CAPS messages because they are too lazy. That, and the fact that usually ALL CAPS messages are posted by some raving lunatic. XD
                  Don’t be so quick to judge, people. Feel free to complain though. XP

                  P.S.
                  I don’t think JCITY617 is a raving lunatic, but I think they must had caps-lock on when they typed in their screen-name. xP

        • Jacob
          February 16, 2010 at 6:00 PM

          Didn’t read any of this!

          • JCITY617
            February 17, 2010 at 10:02 AM

            *TRIPLE H VOICE* “YOUR FULL OF CRAP”

  5. jomar132
    February 16, 2010 at 9:24 AM

    OK, Im not Crazy Crazy, but did anyone else think Kelly Squared looked better in her pants and bra than she does in shorts and bra? Dont get me wrong, Im a Maryse fan, and Im not lookin for Crazy Crazy to hunt me down, but I thought she looked better than she has lately. Sadly, No Maryse tonight…..

    Springer segment: STUPID!
    Hart Angle: for some reason, Im confused…. it seems predictable, but who knows….. terrible way to write out a match…. maybe brets dr advised against a match? Bad Booking. Id rather see Hart-Mcmahon than Cena/HArt vs Batista/Mcmahon…… i think i tcheapens the moment, and only serves to build Cena up more….Id rather see heel cena honestly.

    • Aaron
      February 16, 2010 at 9:53 AM

      also want to add that Kelly squared is a terrible actor. She has a pretty smile, but I think it’s surgically implanted there because she can’t stop doing it. It made the stupid comedy segment more stupid.

      • Sargon
        February 16, 2010 at 10:42 AM

        Forgot the fake eyelashes. I couldn’t take my eyes off of ’em for some reason. They either needed to come off or get named and vaccinated for rabies.

      • Dave Sturm
        February 16, 2010 at 12:44 PM

        Aaron – Totally agreed with you about Kelly Kelly. That segment was painful to begin with, but the fact that Kelly was smiling through the entire thing was so asinine I don’t know where to begin or end critizing it. If the woman cannot wrestle or act, she should be removed from television or shunned by the wrestling community. Apologies to Crazy Crazy.

  6. Aaron
    February 16, 2010 at 9:52 AM

    This was not an entertaining Raw. I was tired of the Springer comedy sketch about 4 minutes in (When Santino was no longer a big part of the segment). If it were TEN kinutes shorter with just a couple of comedy droans, I’d have been ok with it.. it took over 15 minutes! It wasn’t funny (Save the Grandmaster Sexay line by Santino, but whow many 10 year olds get that? Right…)

    The Bret stuff seemds like a pointless attempt to prolong things out to Wrestlemania. I was disappointed. We know the match is happening.. don’t insult us. The injury will help Bret compensate for his diminished skill set at Mania. Smart move by WWE, let’s move on from this week.

    Oh there’s a PPV this weekend? Not buying it.

    I liked the Batista/Cena interaction. I think they’re building that up well. Cena will not win at the Chamber, and Batista may make sure of it in some way.. but I know HBK will be interfering with the other Chamber match so do we really want two run-in’s for the Chamber matches? I am already awating a bad PPV, and not one worth ordering… so I’m not.

    On a seperate side note, since my kid was out of school the next day (live in Baltimroe, record snowfall people, I think he’s gone to school 4 times since December) he had a firend spend the night. I had the pleasure of watching Raw with a 9 and 10 year old. Needless to say, interesting. My son has a small clue about Bret now, but his friend was just bored to TEARS with the Bret stuff. I did get asked questions about Hulk Hogan like, why did he stop wrestling? I had fun answering that. And the who would win in a fight questions. But I find that these kids (maybe it’s ADD, I dunno) hate the promos, hate Bret Hart, don’t care about the Hall of Fame, and jsut want wrestling. Like the sings of the late 90’s would often say “SHUT UP AND WRESTLE”. The only thing the kids like about the comdedy sketches? Hornswgoggle. Irks em to tears. They don’t like Santino, they think he’s stupid. They also like titty dancing too forgot to mention that one.

    So what did I take from my terrible viewing expeirence of a terrible Raw? Kids hate everything I liked, hate boring promos like I hate, and just want to see wrestling. And these kids do not know what a disqualification is. Since there is hardly an announcement after a match by the ring announcer of a referee’s decision, these kids have no idea what’s going on in these squash matches… and Raw’s matches are 50% DQ’S!! I think it’s a lost art. I miss Gorilla sending it to Howard Finkel for the “official word”. I knew what a DQ was at age 5.

    I rambled. Sorry. Raw was not the worst ever, but in the end, nto so entertaiing. Props to Inoki getting recognized though.

  7. Sam
    February 16, 2010 at 10:25 AM

    Ok…I am really surprised no one here, maybe it was on commentfest which I hope it was, mentioned that the car the backed into bret’s limo had it’s reverse lights on THE ENTIRE TIME Bret was Talking to Cena beside the limo. That is when I said to myself, hmm that car is going to back into Bret’s limo… Thought it would be Vinny trying to injure Bret and Bret just getting angry, kinda didn’t expect it to be an injury angle. But it still doesn’t excuse the fact that it was TOTALLY telegraphed.

    • Oxide
      February 16, 2010 at 10:56 AM

      I spotted that too. It damn well better be in commentfest! DAMN WELL! XP

  8. Sargon
    February 16, 2010 at 10:39 AM

    “I should point out here that they mentioned the dog show on CNBC more times than they mentioned the Elimination Chamber on Sunday.” What channel were you watching? They discussed the EC so much in the opening match I about muted my TV. I feel for the commentators because they have to sell everyone on the matches, but it comes across as they’re talking down to those of us that have watched for years. And I must’ve been high as shit years ago to make sense of a Bret Hart promo. Jesus Christ, he lost me big time last night when on the stick. And the car promo wasn’t very good either. I don’t think Hart sold it well, I don’t think it was executed all that well (leg caught in a door….really? I saw the reverse lights on the BMW (with MD tags) and I was hoping for a totaled limo or something…Leg in the door was weak). Ineffective, to say the least.

    “When the match bombs at the PPV don’t be surprised.” I agree. Why put a match on the card if you won’t promote it. That said, it’s the women’s title match, so it’s was destined to bomb as soon as it was announced.

    Springer segment was worth it just for Santino’s line about Brian Lawler. King even cracked a grin when Santino threw it out there. Line of the year thus far.

    • Oxide
      February 16, 2010 at 11:00 AM

      “Line of the year thus far”? What about CM Punk’s “Go get me Jared, from Subway” line?! John, take notes for a “Quote of the Year” Johnny award this year.

  9. Sargon
    February 16, 2010 at 10:48 AM

    Also, it it just me, or does it cheapen the show and product to have your champion’s match first on the card? I know they had a lot of stuff going on last night, but it just didn’t make sense to me in the grand scheme of things. Props to Shaemus though, he seemed to get decent heat. I don’t think he holds on to the strap at EC though, they need it on a guy like HHH, etc, simply based on name recognition to sell the biggest PPV of the year to extremely casual viewers.

    • Aaron
      February 16, 2010 at 11:18 AM

      I said the same thing yers ago about Big Shows first title run (lasted a month maybe?) He’d open the show for a match as the World champion. and we had only one champ then, not two brand champions. Difference is, Shameus made an impact to close the show, and Big Show.. was never seen on the program again a couple times in his brief run.. That might have been the worst title run in WWe history (Not counting fluke title reigns like Kane or Vince or Yokozuna’s first win)

      • Sargon
        February 16, 2010 at 2:09 PM

        I missed Showster’s run. I stopped watching for a number of years in college and although I missed a lot it fortunately spared me from the Katie Vick angle, as well.

  10. Oxide
    February 16, 2010 at 11:05 AM

    “I missed Shawn Michaels. Did you?”

    I was so hoping that he would kick another authority figure.

  11. Bryan
    February 16, 2010 at 1:22 PM

    “Also, it it just me, or does it cheapen the show and product to have your champion’s match first on the card?”… Its because Sheamus is a transition champion. He’s holding the belt til they can put it back on HHH, Cena or Orton.

  12. Bryan
    February 16, 2010 at 1:27 PM

    But they’re still to build Sheamus as this dominate force so when HHH, Cena or Orton does defeat him it’ll mean more. But Sheamus is nowhere near ready to carry this company. I still dont see him as main event material. He seems awkward at times in the ring and his promos are the same everytime. He’s not very charismatic. Kinda boring. He better pick up his game cuz i think it’ll b very hard for him to stay in the main event picture.

    • Aaron
      February 16, 2010 at 1:30 PM

      He won’t be there long. He’s held it throuhg a PPV, good for him. He may hold it til Wrestlemania, but I doubt it. I see HHH gaining the strap/going for the strap at Mania. I’d be surprised if he didn’t win it at the Chamber.. he always wins the Chamber.

  13. widowmaker
    February 16, 2010 at 1:53 PM

    Mickie’s a friend now or are you just wishing and discreetly dropped the twitter part? (Thanks for posting J.C ,though I referring to the one who screwed Mickie plenty then shipped her one-sided unrequited love to Smackdown. *Correction* Thanks for posting Dave Meltzer)

  14. Yaz
    February 16, 2010 at 4:00 PM

    Only 4 matches on RAW? Sigh… Glad I DVR’d it… Not even going to bother watching this one. Sounds very boring.

  15. jay
    February 16, 2010 at 4:59 PM

    Don’t bother watching it, because it blew. I feel asleep twice and went to bed early, and I am not that old.

    They should have used a Toyota for the accident angle. This angle is growing bad at anazing speed.

    You know your company is trouble when the highlight of Wrestlemania is the guy with the stroke who was run over vs. the guy over 60 who was blown up. Puncture the egos guys…by Wrestlemania will anyone care?

  16. rob
    February 16, 2010 at 5:13 PM

    I know you covered it John, but, the worst night of Bret Harts life. Really.
    Just off the top of my head (and stealing a couple of yours…)
    – His Mom and Dad dying
    – Owens accident for fucks sake!
    – His stroke
    – Pillman dying
    – Davey Boy dying
    – The whole Benoit mess
    – How about even the night of the Montreal Screw job. Maybe not this one…
    I dunno, maybe I am getting too emotionally invested in a story line. But I was actually angred last night while this was happening.

    The whole Springer bit was awful. Do you remember when the host was ATLEAST involved in the show, you know, making matches, interacting with the wrestlers, instead of this garbage.

    Show was terrible.
    2/10 best case scenario.

    • jay
      February 16, 2010 at 8:02 PM

      Rob:

      Selective amnesia resulting in emphatic statements that are idiotic and offensive is/are/was/will always be a hallmark of the VKM regime.

      If you don’t like having your intelligence insulted, why are you watching WWE/F programming?

      WWE programming is written so the least intelligent person in the audience can understand it and will come back for more. Get used to it.

      • rob
        February 16, 2010 at 8:29 PM

        Jay
        I am willing to “suspend disbelief” from time to time.
        Tell me that Cena and Orton have never had a ladder match. I dont care if thats true or not.
        Tell me that was the worst night of Harts life, and all someone has to know is these 2 words, Owen Hart, and you know this story stinks.

        I like watching WWE for the stories, the action, the drama, and even the silliness from time to time(Santino, Im looking at you). But, dont tell me THAT was Harts worst night.
        Even the SERIOUS voices cant convince me of this line of bull.
        They bring in a HOF vet like Bret, for a story line aimed at a guy my age (35) and then they try to convince me of a story so ludicrous, it could only come from VKM. Insulting.

  17. jay
    February 16, 2010 at 9:16 PM

    It has taken roughly 30 years, but VKM insulting my intelligence usually rolls off my back. But there are times it still gets to me. (Who am I kidding, 20 years later and I am still pissed off that I am supposed to believe the Undertaker is actually dead.) At least Vince does not call matches anymore. Michael Cole is a bleeping idiot. Vince isn’t, but he has no qualms selling pure idiocy while calling the match.

    • rob
      February 17, 2010 at 4:38 PM

      I guess I need to remember that VKM is selling this product to 14 year old that are using Mommys credit card to buy the new Cena T shirt.
      Its just….he really pissed me off with this Hart one (deep breath)
      Ahhhh
      If Hart puts VKM in the sharp shooter, just once, I promise to get over this.

  18. CDL
    February 17, 2010 at 9:27 AM

    The WWE has to dumb down to the intelligence of a Homer Simpson, otherwise people would get bored. However, I agree that they go too far by basically ignoring history. How awesome would it be if Stone Cold ended the guest host concept and gave VKM a stunner just for keeping the idea. Now for the sanity pill..

  19. JDKenada
    February 17, 2010 at 9:09 PM

    I didn’t miss Shawn Michaels at all, to be perfectly honest.

    Before you neuter the shit out of me, hear me out. He’ll be at the Chamber on Sunday and cost Taker his title. By having him off tv for one week, it moderately seems as though Shawn was serious about his career being over and it might be more surprising when he DOES show up.

    This was the way I had hoped they’d do it back at the beginning of the year and it looks like that’s what they decided on. I for one am a happy camper (though I’d love for one more HBK title run).

  20. Bryan
    February 17, 2010 at 9:18 PM

    Holy crap JCity617 and everyone who hates him needs to calm down. Seriously. Its just capslock. Its not the end of the world or this blog. Ive never seen anyone get that mad over font sizing. I’d hate to see the reaction if John ever changes the font for his blogs. Mayhem people. Run for cover. This is gonna be the big. GET OVER IT!!! Uh oh.. sorry.. get over it. There is that better?

  1. February 16, 2010 at 5:14 PM

Leave a Reply

