Home > General Wrestling, wwe > Monday Thoughts: Undertaker, Potential WWE Title Match, More…

Monday Thoughts: Undertaker, Potential WWE Title Match, More…

– If you missed my Elimination Chamber recap the link to that is here. I liked the show. The two big matches were pretty good and newsworthy. The rest? Not so much.

– The big news coming from the show was that the Undertaker’s jacket got caught on fire during his entrance in the main event. In case you missed it, when Undertaker came out for the Elimination Chamber match the jacket was on fire, he ripped it off quickly and walked into the ring at a much quicker pace than normal. The announcers tried to put it over as him being anxious to get the match going, but it was a lot more serious than that. There’s an article in a blog for the St. Louis Riverfront Times that covered it. They got a statement from a WWE spokesman, Robert Zimmerman, who said it was “a mistiming with the pyrotechnics” and the Undertaker was only allowed to perform after being cleared by a ringside physician. Zimmerman added: “”Thank God he was fine. It basically amounted to a sunburn. It wasn’t over a large area of his body, just a short area, just a little bit on his chest.”

I feel bad about a comment I made about it in the EC recap calling it an unintentionally funny moment. It was a lot more serious than that and I’d like to apologize for that. When I first saw it I didn’t realize what exactly happened, but when I watched a video of it on a side angle on Youtube (now taken down by WWE) you could see it was a lot more serious than that. I have the utmost respect for professional wrestlers as I’ve written about many times in the past. Undertaker’s somebody at the top of the list in terms of respect. Sure, we may joke about his injuries, but the guy’s a warrior. I admire him. I also think he’s the best big man in the history of American wrestling.

To anybody that I upset or offended with my comment I apologize. It was wrong of me. I’m glad he’s okay because that whole situation could have been a lot worse.

The PPV ended about 17 minutes before the top of the hour. Lately it’s been ending about 10 minutes before the top of the hour. Why so early? No long Undertaker entrance. See, you can laugh at that. He’s okay. He’ll probably be on Raw tonight too.

– There’s a rumor going around that the WWE Title will be put on the line in a tag match. The rumor is WWE Champion Batista and Vince McMahon will team up against John Cena and Bret Hart. The champion would be the person that gets the pinfall or submission victory with the plan being that Bret wins with the Sharpshooter on Vince to give Bret one last moment with the WWE Title that he was screwed out of back in 1997. Would it be a cool visual to see Bret hold the WWE Title again? Sure, although it would be cooler if it wasn’t that ridiculous looking spinner belt, but that’s a whole other rant. The idea is that Bret would then go on Raw the next night and forfeit the title saying he has no interest in wrestling again. That would probably lead to a tournament at the Extreme Rules PPV in April.

My main issue is that I don’t like singles titles being defended in tag matches. I hated it last year when HHH lost the belt to Orton in a tag match and I would hate it if that kind of thing happened here. Furthermore, if you’re going to do Vince/Batista vs. Cena/Bret that’s fine, but why involve the title? It’s not necessary. They could have easily kept it on Sheamus or even put it on HHH if they wanted.

With all that said, if Bret Hart makes Vince tap to the Sharpshooter and is presented with the WWE Title in his “last match ever” will I be excited? Yes, of course I will. That’s because for things like that I’m still a mark at heart and I will always be one for Bret Hart. That guy helped shape me as a wrestling fan. I have no problem admitting that.

– I have no problem with some Smackdown people appearing on Raw and vice versa on the road to WrestleMania. It’s expected that we’ll see Edge, Batista, Jericho and Undertaker all on the show. Fine by me. It’s okay to have people appearing on multiple shows for the month because it’s the most important show of the year. You’re not hurting the company by doing that. You’re helping the build for the biggest show of the year. After WM you can go back to the exclusive stuff. For this month, though, waive the “rule” that they have for it.

– It’ll be interesting to see if they are doing the Money in the Bank match again now that there’s a PPV with that name in July. I assume it’s not happening at Mania now. We’ll know tonight. I like the match at Mania because it gets 6-10 people on the PPV that otherwise wouldn’t be on. Now? Who knows?

Monday night EDIT: Announced by WWE that Money in the Bank qualifying matches are happening tonight. MITB is on for Mania.

– The next 3 hour Raw will be April 26th in Richmond, VA, hometown of some diva on the roster that I never write about. It will be the draft lottery show.

I’ll set up a chat prior to Raw. It will start at about 6:30pmET most likely and I’ll be in there for two hours or so. Considering the shitty day at work I had today, I’ll likely be liquored up too. Good times. No Straight Edge for me.

Have a good one. Enjoy Raw tonight! Raw Deal late tonight as always.

  1. brian fedotoff
    February 22, 2010 at 5:16 PM

    I agree with you John that single titles’ should not be on the line in tag matches, (even with the classic backlash 01 match) but man would it be an awesome last image of bret in the wwe with the title, not getting screwed out of it, but clutching it, makes me want to see mania live. bret is the only reason i’ve watched wwe this year. glad jericho is the champ again. Why are canadians so great at wrestling?

  2. toby tobias
    February 22, 2010 at 5:24 PM

    i will be sorely pissed if there is no MITB. it always ups the pace and sets an energetic tone for the rest of the show, plus at least some intrigue as to who gets the title shot….

    • Aaron
      February 22, 2010 at 5:33 PM

      Well, it can always be replaced with some sort of incentive laced gimmick match. I don’t see 2 money in the banks in one year happening…

      20 plus years Wrestlemania didn’t feature it. We’ll still watch without it. (I enjoy it too, but without it, maybe we could get, I dunno, a meaningful IC title match or something?

      • Goody004
        February 22, 2010 at 5:54 PM

        Maybe they could do a double ladder match for the IC and US belts. You can still have most of the guys that would be in the MITHB match on WM. Good way to possibly switch belts or switch guys on tv.

  3. Aaron
    February 22, 2010 at 5:28 PM

    Pretty much human nature to laugh at the Undertaker fire mishap.. combination of the character he portrays and the incident. I chuckled… had to. Hey I’m glad he’s alright too.. And I’m glad I can “giggle my mother fuckin ass off… goonie goo goo”.

    As for the Extreme Rules PPV, I just hope it’s entertaining as I will be in attendance… Backlash PPV’s have been good in the past (I went two years ago.. not a great show, but always better actually being there, plus the Baltimore crowd has been good historically).

  4. Anonymous
    February 22, 2010 at 5:29 PM

    i’m a huge taker fan and just glad he’s k could of been a hell of a lot worse.

  5. colin martin
    February 22, 2010 at 5:31 PM

    i’m a big taker fan but even i laughed a bit, glad he’s k could of been a hell of a lot worse.

  6. JG
    February 22, 2010 at 5:42 PM

    The perfect-upper for the Batista/Cena feud? Have Batista trash Cena’s spinner belt.

  7. Steven Lake
    February 22, 2010 at 5:44 PM

    Would it be in bad taste to comment that possibly one of the reasons the PPV ended 17 minutes early is because Taker had to rush his entrance? I mean, that accident easily trimmed his entrance by at least five minutes, right?

    Glad he’s OK. A lesser man would not have had the testicular fortitude to wrestle in the elimination chamber after an incident like that.

  8. mrken
    February 22, 2010 at 6:33 PM

    well i understand he was pissed but. Its not like its a habbit. I dont remember a botched pyro ever. Well…wm last year i guess. For bret to win the world title at mania would be pretty sweet. I dont mind so much mitb not being at mania. It sets up more rival based matchs insted. It only upsets me in that these guys want to pull out the stops at mania. Balls out flying ladder mayhem. I dont see that same mentality on a gimmic ppv. Why risk it right?

  9. Brian W.
    February 22, 2010 at 6:48 PM

    When I first heard about the pyro incident, I immediately joked “Well, that’s one way to shorten that long-assed entrance!” The second thing that popped into my head was the notion that they could launch a new feud with Kane using this (God forbid!)

    My point is that despite the almost universal great respect we as wrestling fans have for Mark “The Undertaker” Calloway, we have become a bit jaded by the violence we routinely see and expect from this business- to the degree that joking about it is a knee-jerk reaction. And not having seen it, I wonder how many of you thought that was a part of the show, at least for a few minutes?

  10. Adam Bomb
    February 22, 2010 at 7:10 PM

    JG :
    The perfect-upper for the Batista/Cena feud? Have Batista trash Cena’s spinner belt.

    I would then consider Batista one of the greatest faces in the history of wrestling!
    People would be like That guy sucks, and Id be like, HELLO……. He got rid of that piece of junk title, he is the greatest!

  11. big joe
    February 22, 2010 at 7:18 PM

    well i would love to see bret win the belt at wm it would be the iceing on the cake for him just hope they do it i for one would love it just as long as they dont put it back on super cena at wm

  12. jay
    February 22, 2010 at 9:55 PM

    Bret isn’t going to win the title. He is from an old school wrestling heritage. He is going to be booked to lose a la Ric Flair.

    Or if he is planning on having a longer TV stay, it makes sense for him to lose to set up a rematch.

    Either way….. I seriously doubt Bret Hart is winning anything at Wrestlemaina.

  13. sim
    February 23, 2010 at 11:56 AM

    After RAW, I am looking forward to Wrestlemania. Undertaker vs HBK is going to be awesome. I am not going to compare it to next year because it will be impossible to top that but as a match itself, it will be the greatest thing this year too.

  14. sim
    February 23, 2010 at 12:33 PM

    Below is a link to a video with a different angle of the same incident. This is a closer look to it which makes it seem scarier.

    John, I think I owe you an apology. I took the thing a little far. I was pretty shocked at the initial report of the Undertaker fire incident that I was really prepared to start joking about it straight away. I didn’t watch the show live because of an early start the next morning. I watched the reply at 6pm, avoiding spoilers all day. After the show, I come online to see thing. It was pretty shocking. I’m sorry for saying you were wrong to joke about it.

  1. February 23, 2010 at 7:06 PM

Leave a Reply

