Home > wwe > Guest Column: The Modern Viewpoint on WWE NXT

Guest Column: The Modern Viewpoint on WWE NXT

Note from John: I lost a bet on the Canada/USA hockey game. As a result, one of the people I bet against chose to write a column for my blog. It’s a one time thing although if the response is good I may keep him on. Let him (and me) know what you think. It’s not a long column, but I think he gets his point across well.

The Modern Viewpoint on WWE NXT
By The Modern Native

Hi everybody, and welcome to a little column I like to call The Modern Viewpoint. I’m The Modern Native, and I am a retired pro wrestler, and a lifelong fan. I have opinions on wrestling both as a fan, and as someone who’s been there. I’m working on getting together a blog of my own at themodernviewpoint.wordpress.com, and this will be the inaugural column. If you like what you read, check me out sometime.

First off, I’d like to thank the US Olympic team for winning the hockey game last night. John, your fellow Canadians had a rough night last night, but at least Jericho is champ again. Seriously though, thanks for the column John. My first column will be about WWE NXT, because for as basic as the idea seems, the show already has a pretty decent amount of buzz. Some say it will be a cheap reality TV knockoff, some say it will be WWE’s third brand, and some just think it’ll be FCW. Here’s how I see things, and this is The Modern Viewpoint.

From the way I hope it’ll work, the WWE farm system (FCW, and whatever Indys they work with overseas) will feed eight “new” guys into NXT about every 16 weeks. WWE is already talking about doing several “seasons” a year, so 16 weeks would allow more than ample time for each one. Anyways, these eight guys are put into a big house/gym and forced to live together and train together. Yes, this may be seen as a knock off of The Ultimate Fighter, but hey, if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.

Throughout the season, some guys will obviously develop into Main Roster worthy wrestlers moreso than others. If you think about it, there really isn’t a limit to the athletic, stamina and charisma competitions you could come up with. Think about it, the guys who have excellent ring skills, but are lacking (in WWEs eyes) charisma, have been paired with excellent talkers. The one’s who need improvement in ring, but are excellent on the mic have been paired with great technicians. Some have been paired with “total package” guys, because their overall images need improvement.

Obviously, The Miz can draw heat better than a Matt Hardy on the mic, but Matt can technically wrestle circles around The Miz. Danielson may be one of the best technical wrestlers in the world, but obviously WWE has seen some need of improvement to some aspect of his character, or he wouldn’t be in FCW, he’d be on the main roster. This is a point I want to stress. People seem to have a HUGE respect for Danielson, and think it’s absolutely horrible that The Miz is mentoring him, but if he’s the “best wrestler alive” he’d be on WWE TV.

Anyways, look at it this way. Sixteen weeks. One elimination competition every other week. This could be anything from cutting a promo in front of a panel to be judged, to vigorous cardio to see who can outlast. Last place leaves. Every other week is a series of workouts to determine a ranking system on who is placed where in a competition. Say Danielson finishes higher than Justin Angel in a series of acting classes, he chooses the subject of his promo first in next weeks elimination match. This teaches competition, quick wittedness, and the eventual need to deliver scripted promos. That would allow Miz to spend vigorous amounts of time doing stick work with Danielson, while Matt Hardy has been working mostly on ring skills with Angel. So, guess what? Danielson finishes higher in the competition, so Angel knows what he needs to work harder on. Constant quality improvement.

The field of competitors narrows down as the season wears on, until only one is left standing. That one moves up to the main roster, assumingly under the “mentor” that they had in the show. The other seven, well, they get shipped back to FCW to continue moving up the ladder. Then, these seven have learned what they need to improve upon, and it betters not only the quality of the one guy who makes it to WWE, but the overall quality of FCW.

Next season, eight new guys, which is looking like Brett DiBiase, Joe Hennig and Low Ki are locks for next season, so I like it. I’m being very optimistic about it. If the WWE comes across on TV anything like I’ve described, the whole “reality” concept will be awesome.

Thoughts?

Feel free to contact me:
The_Modern_Native@hotmail.com
http://www.topropetalk.com
formspring.me/coryapb
themodernviewpoint.wordpress.com

  1. The Omar Miller
    February 22, 2010 at 8:38 PM

    I am reallÿ looking forward to nxt. Danielson is average on the mic but is one of the best technical wrestlers on God’s green Earth. The Miz should help Danielson win the competiton. Maybe even get a fued with him as well. Great column by the way

  2. RATED RKO
    February 22, 2010 at 8:38 PM

    I liked your opinion, and it was well written, but I hate the title. It’s stupid. Maybe you should be mentored by another guest columnist.

  3. February 22, 2010 at 8:49 PM

    Thanks man, I’m still open for ideas on the title. It’s a work in progress. Any suggestions?

  4. RATED RKO
    February 22, 2010 at 9:26 PM

    The Thrill Zone

    • February 22, 2010 at 9:27 PM

      No, THAT’S stupid.

      Good column man, keep it up.

  5. mcnulty
    February 22, 2010 at 9:45 PM

    I like the title. And the column. More please.

  6. JCITY617
    February 22, 2010 at 10:51 PM

    I WAS A FAN OF TOUGH ENOUGH SO THIS SHOULD BE GOOD AS LONG AS THEY SIGN THE NEXT MORRISON AND NOT MAVEN LOL

  7. e-dub
    February 22, 2010 at 11:29 PM

    hahahaha maven was so terrible. good article, im excited for nxt

  8. Alex
    February 22, 2010 at 11:42 PM

    Hey modern view point. Pretty good column, try not to be so technical when writing, add some personality, if you were a wrestler bring up points from that and connect it to your writing. It was a pretty good length, could have been a little longer. I think you could be good, some of the stuff john canton used to write, like the 50 top matches retro column was way to long and boring (sorry John). Good column. I souls know, I am a doctor.

  9. Alex
    February 22, 2010 at 11:49 PM

    You need a better name, li don’t know where you got the modern view point but it is not memorable, I really can’t think of a name though. Plus you need a gimmick…straightedge, this means your better than John canton. Also pick a diva and add your last name on to hers. See arn’t I creative!

  10. The Barron
    February 23, 2010 at 12:17 AM

    I feel I should point something out to the author of this column. You discuss eliminations on the show, however it has been said on Wikipedia that at the end of a season of NXT, ALL OF THE ROOKIES WILL MOVE TO THE MAIN ROSTER! Therefore, it will be quite a bit different then you describe.

    Here is what it says: “Unlike the competitive format seen in Tough Enough where contestants competed for a contract with WWE, NXT will instead see each of the Rookies graduating to one of WWE’s brands at the end of the season”

    This is the source Wikipedia uses: http://www.variety.com/article/VR1118015260.html?categoryid=14&cs=1

    Variety is usually on the ball. They state that this will be different from Tough Enough where one star got to move to a WWE Brand so clearly they all will be moving at the end.

    – The Barron

    • February 23, 2010 at 12:47 AM

      Oh, understood man. I just meant this as an “If I was in charge” type of thing. I;m in a writing mood, so check out my next column later on my blog. I appreciate all the tips guys, I will use it.

      Hopefully John will decide to keep me for more columns, if not, feel free to check me out (as well as John, I don’t want to steal traffic)

      By the way. I am straightedge…just not in a mocking Jesus kind of way. :)

  11. firebreaker chip
    February 23, 2010 at 7:46 AM

    not such a good column, tbh. plus, its impossible to produce 3 seasons of NXT in a year. the product/brand will change after the 2nd season. they just dont have the amount of rookie talent.

  12. Aaron
    February 23, 2010 at 9:58 AM

    Column wasn’t professional or anything, but I enjoyed the content.

    I’m curious to see NXT, but if what I rad in that Wiki article is true, that’s not good. But I’ve heard nothign of time tables officially, and how long “rookies” will be on the show before being drafted. But seeing “Daniel Bryan” actually at Raw doing the looking on spot in front of the monitor, this is no doubt goingt to ba a catalyst for him to jump right into a feud and to get some crowd reaction right away. I just want to watch and see. The rating it gets still has me curious.

    In any event it is not a THIRD brand. I have to thank WWE for not going that route. Hoping to be entertained… I’m curious, so WWE has accomplished it’s goal for now.

  13. Anon
    February 23, 2010 at 12:20 PM

    I don’t think its a competition. I got the idea its more of a behind the scenes look and the guys will be called up as and when they are ready. I think WWE will use it to guage when and if to pull the trigger on these guys.

    Daniel Bryan looks like he is ready to go already, and they just have him on NXT to hype up the show and build a feud with the Miz ready for him to win the US title down the line.

  14. afterandrea
    February 23, 2010 at 3:45 PM

    They should do a “Graduate of the month” type of deal, and graduate 12 people a year. Yeah, I know they only have 8 at a time, but every time someone graduates, someone else takes his spot… like that, they have the original 8 plus 1 every month and by February next year, they’d have had (8+11) 19 different wrestlers on NXT where 12 of them would have graduates and the other 7 continue into next year… That would be a great way to do the show.

  15. Anonymous
    December 9, 2014 at 8:03 AM

    testcececece

  16. Anonymous
    December 9, 2014 at 8:05 AM

    cefe e

    httpv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OMOVFvcNfvE

  17. Anonymous
    December 9, 2014 at 8:05 AM

    httpsv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OMOVFvcNfvE

  18. Anonymous
    December 9, 2014 at 8:06 AM

  19. Anonymous
    December 9, 2014 at 8:07 AM

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

