Home > wwe > Random Top 5 List: My Favorite WWE Video Packages

Random Top 5 List: My Favorite WWE Video Packages

We all know that one of the best things about WWE are the awesome video packages they do. The Michaels/Undertaker one from this week’s Raw was exceptional. I wrote that it was one of the best ever. It’s arguable. There are so many. What I decided to do was think of the five that really left an impact on me and this is my list. I’ll write a little description of each and then embed the video so you can watch. In the comments section, feel free to share some of your own.

1. Austin/Rock WrestleMania X7 “My Way” from 2001
This is the video package hyping up what was the main event at the PPV that I feel is the best in company history. I don’t even like Limp Bizkit that much, but this song fit perfectly because it was a battle of ego between the two top guys in the business. I have seen it so many times. I still love it. Always and forever.

2. Ric Flair “Leave The Memories Alone” from 2008
“I’m sorry, I love you.” Oh, and the wife he has here is now his third ex-wife. Nature Boy! Woo! Love this retirement video. So the retirement didn’t stick. Who cares? It’s wrestling. Nobody retires. Enjoy it.

3. Eddie Guerrero from Smackdown’s 10th Anniversary from 2009
This is from last year. When I think of Eddie Guerrero I smile. He always made me smile. I never knew the man, but I think like a lot of fans there was a connection with him. I miss him, but this video does a great job in showing the things that made him special.

4. Kurt Angle “Clocks” from 2003
We’re all biased to our favorites. Kurt is one of mine. I was very emotional in 2003 when Angle left after WM19 for neck surgery because we didn’t know long he’d be out. Turns out it was only about four months because the guy’s a freak. When he was close to his return, they played this video. I watched it many times. I don’t even like Coldplay, but like with all WWE video packages the song seems to work.

5. The WWF History Desire video
There are a lot of good “Desire” videos that WWE did in 2001/2002, but this one looks at the company as a whole. I like it a lot. The quality of this vid isn’t the greatest. Best I could find, though. As far as individual wrestlers go, the Steve Austin one would have to be my favorite.

Oh and here’s HBK/Undertaker from Monday’s Raw one more time:

After seeing it four or five times now all I can say is wow, that REALLY is something special. It’s hard for me to rank it yet, though. It’s too fresh.

Hopefully the videos stay up. I know WWE people read this, but hopefully they don’t get taken down. If they do, seek them out. They’re good.

There are so many others I like off the top of my head: The Owen Hart tribute, the Rock/Lesnar promo for Summerslam 2002, Michaels/Hart for WM12, Austin/Taker for Summerslam 1998 (Highway to Hell) and of course “Stand Back” by Vince McMahon although that’s more of a performance. Lots to love. Kudos to the WWE production team. Maybe the best part of the company.

Got favorites of your own? Share them.

Categories: wwe Tags:
  1. TJ
    February 26, 2010 at 12:32 AM

    I took like the Austin desire bc it came out during his heel run and the bid reminded all if us what it felt like to be an Austin fan in 1998ish. Where the entire crowd would wear Austin shirts and just give him amazing pops for just coming out. The nite Mick foley won the title was great but the pop that Austin got when he came out was out if this world, a close second was the Austin xamboni episode. Btw love the blogs!

  2. Scott
    February 26, 2010 at 12:35 AM

    Do you mean Austin/Taker from SummerSlam 98? Or Rock/HHH? Or neither?

    • February 26, 2010 at 12:38 AM

      Yeah Austin/Taker from 1998. Edited it. Thanks!

  3. Jaykob
    February 26, 2010 at 1:02 AM

    I find it humorous that the song used in the latest Taker/HBK video package is a cover of this song:

  4. Sean
    February 26, 2010 at 2:23 AM

    Does anyone know the name of the song/artist used in the HBK/Taker vid from Raw?

    • HanTot
      February 26, 2010 at 7:29 AM

      Sounds like Placebo to me

      • Sean
        February 26, 2010 at 12:31 PM

        Thanks HanTot. It is Placebo’s “Runnin Up That Hill” if anyone else was curious. Someone told me on one of JC’s FB comments.

        • JCITY617
          February 26, 2010 at 1:37 PM

          PLACEBO WTF LOL

  5. Grant C
    February 26, 2010 at 2:37 AM

    The Eddie Guerrero package is simply awesome

  6. mrken
    February 26, 2010 at 3:25 AM

    a friend of mine who dosnt watch wrestling much saw the taker hbk on superstars. His jaw dropped. Just watching it for a second time is a good feeling. Love to see how it all comes together bythe time wrestlemania comes around. I also used to watch the austin rock my way one on a vhs over and over. The u2 beautifull day vids are pretty sweet to.

  7. February 26, 2010 at 5:13 AM

    That Angle one is still one of my favourites of all the times. [/santino]
    His return promo when he did actually come back was one of my favourite SmackDown moments ever. Just because you could tell how much he loved being back… even playing his music over again because he wanted the fans to chant “You Suck!” to him because he’d missed it.

    Watching that Rock/Austin one shows just how good the WWF was back then, with regards to storylines & feuds. I suppose it helps that they’re two of the biggest stars in the business.

    Just as an aside, how weird is it to have a WM video package without JR’s voice in it? Damn I miss that guy.

  8. Hanif
    February 26, 2010 at 6:06 AM

    I like the vids you posted but my all time fav is Jeff Hardy’s “Rooftops” one prior to is Royal Rumble match in 2008. A great video package that once brought a tear to my eyes.

    • February 26, 2010 at 11:26 AM

      I see what you mean. Great shout! Another example of how much JR’s voice is missed, IMO.

  9. Aaron
    February 26, 2010 at 8:53 AM

    WWE’s vid packages are always so good.. even when’t they’re not top 5 like some of these they’re good. A couple that stick out:

    Rock and Foley’s video package leading up to the Rumble “I Quit” match.. Great build, great feud.. and of course the match delivered.

    I also remember so many good Austil/McMahon packages.. for a while (attitude era of coursE) There would eb killer video packages WEEKLY to open their shows.

    Conversely (I can’t access Youtube at work) but if anyone can find WCW’s most ridiculous attempt at a video package, try and find WCW’s Sting video package when he went silent and initiated his crow gimmick. The song? “I need a hero”.. yes. I’m serious.. Made me laugh so hard then, I now need to find it.

    • Mark Hallam
      February 26, 2010 at 9:42 AM

      CLASSIC!!!

  10. Yaz
    February 26, 2010 at 9:04 AM

    Yeah – if the WWE does one thing right, it’s those video packages. Still, I think the ones from the late 90’s to early 2000’s were the best.

    I always liked that package that highlighed Austin and HHH teaming up and destroying everyone after Austin had his heel turn. I got no access to youtube from my work, so I can’t put that sucker up, but I remember it being really cool. Starts off with them taking the rock out in the cage and then highlights their feuds with the Hardy’s and Taker/Kane – and good ol’ JR is at his best, freaking out about how Austin and HHH are on the ‘same, vile, nasty, ugly page…’ or something like that – I still remember that shit so well.

    I think there might have been some Manson music video footage spliced in (since it was set to ‘Fight Music’), but still, pretty solid video from what I remember.

    Those Desire ‘My Sacrifice’ ones always gave me goosebumps too. Amazing stuff. Made you proud to be a wrestling fan.

    • February 26, 2010 at 11:33 AM

      There you go, Yaz. Yeah, I’m bored this afternoon if you can’t tell…

    • Yaz
      February 27, 2010 at 12:59 AM

      Not quite Martin… Close though… And it was ‘Fight Song’.

  11. Anonymous
    February 26, 2010 at 9:46 AM

    Does anyone know the name of the song and or band that did the Eddie tribute video

  12. Mark Hallam
    February 26, 2010 at 10:01 AM

    Man alive, 2000-2001 was a great time to be a wrestling fan…

    • February 26, 2010 at 11:24 AM

      That “My Sacrifice” was one of my favourites back in the day, too. I reckon it’s 2nd only to that Angle one above. But damn, you look back then and see the amount of top talent that was on the books, compared to now… wow.
      Hindsight’s a wonderful thing.

      The song itself became a firm favourite of mine. I scared the living daylights out of my mate when I played it in the car once, accidentally left the stereo on full blast when the song came on & he got the fright of his life when the drums kick in at the start.

      @WCW’s attempt; REALLY?! REALLY?! “I Need A Hero”. REALLY?! *shakes head in disgust*

  13. JG
    February 26, 2010 at 12:46 PM

    Man, that Taker/Michaels video is fantastic. Really great work. I won’t mind seeing it over the next 5 weeks.

  14. TKO
    February 26, 2010 at 1:03 PM

    Yes that video gave me chills as a wrestling fan…I still loved the video for HHH vs Austin at survivor series…the one for the 3 stages was good too but it was stripped down a little

  15. JCITY617
    February 26, 2010 at 1:11 PM

    THE GREATEST WRESTLING VIDEO TRIBUTE EVA!!!!!!!!!

    • Mark Hallam
      February 26, 2010 at 5:05 PM

      OMGeeeee!!! This made me wet…..

  16. February 26, 2010 at 2:02 PM

    I’m glad you picked the Austin/Rock one. That is one of my favorites, and it actually made a Limp Bizket song worth listening too!

    This is my favorite WWF Desire video. The one with Lita and Matt Hardy’s kiss, Not Trish and The Rock’s.

  17. John L.
    February 26, 2010 at 3:09 PM

    God that “My Sacrifice” video is great. Also I love Creed so it helps. The video about Angles neck suregery is great too. And the Wrestlemania 20 DVD has a nice little piece in the extras about it called the Mania of Wrestlemania. Highlighting Angle, Lesnar, Austin, The Rock, and Taker. It’s really a nice documentary plus The Body is doing the voice over so thats cool too. Mania X7 had a great video, and another good one is when HHH was coming back from either his first or second quad tear Drowning Pool covered his theme song. In my mind, the best cover for a wrestlers theme song ever.

  18. Matt
    February 26, 2010 at 4:20 PM

    The Shawn Michaels / Undertaker video package has the hallmarks to be an absolute classic. Dare I say up there with Rock / Austin Wrestlemania X7…………..

  19. Marv
    February 26, 2010 at 6:00 PM

    My favorite one is WM19 Austin vs Rock because it was Austin’s Last match. Made it more special. Austin was never the greatest wrestler but he always had great matches with the Rock. The build up for this match was excellent with the Rock concert and all.

  20. Dangerzone
    February 27, 2010 at 2:58 AM

    One that should have been included in the list is the video package before the HHH-Cactus match at Royal Rumble 2000 (includes the “return” of Cactus (‘I think you know the guy ;-)’, with some great music). One of my all-time favourites

  21. indianguy
    February 27, 2010 at 11:25 PM

    That HBK- Taker video alone makes me want to buy Mania…Its an EPIC feud and it seems to me I am not going to be seeing more of these two greats…and its WM! they are gonna put their might best …

  22. Matt
    February 28, 2010 at 3:18 AM

    One that I think is never really talked about is the Shawn Michaels vs John Cena promo for Wrestlemania 23.

  23. Darrick Cato
    February 28, 2010 at 2:42 PM

    Man Creed was huge in the early “aughties” everytime I hear certain songs I think about WWE. “My Sacrifice” always make me think about WWE, but I can never remember the video package, and when I hear “One Last Breath” I think of Edge for some reason. “Arms Wide Open” always makes me think WWE, and 9/11. One of my favorite WWE video packages was Triple H’s recovery videos with U2’s “Beautiful Day”.

    I was just commenting to a buddy of mine that I wish the WWE creative team, and a few other people in WWE were as good as the people who do the video packages. That Undertaker/HBK video is great, it’s to bad HBK’s career is on the line, he’s to damn good to quit, but to old to break the streak(it should be someone younger).

    • David
      March 3, 2010 at 4:26 PM

      The reason why you think of Edge is because those two songs is from alterbridge just like Edge’s song.

  24. Steve
    March 1, 2010 at 4:55 PM

    Absolutely agree with your list although I also like the My Sacrifice Steve Austin and Jeff Hardy video’s with the song of the same name by Creed. I’m a bit biased though cos that Creed song is my favourite of all time, although I think that opinion has been swayed by the quality of those video’s! I’ve bought loads of songs after seeing them on WWE Video’s though, including Boyce Avenue’s album afer hearing “Hear Me Now” on the Eddie Tribute and the 3 Doors Down song from the original Eddie Tribute video. Also bought Limp Bizkit “My Way” and the Kid Rock song from the Desire video. WWE video packages are among the best produced in the world.

  25. Jeff
    March 2, 2010 at 4:12 AM

    Jeff Hardy – Desire, Not Enough by Our Lady Peace

    Triple H – Beautiful Day by U2

    Cactus Jack vs. Triple H, Royal Rumble

    The guy who does the music for the WWE promos should put out an album. I love it.

  26. Anon
    March 3, 2010 at 3:12 PM

    My favorite of all time was this:

    Shawn Michaels – Tell me a Lie

    But then I’ve been watching a long long time.

  27. David
    March 3, 2010 at 5:06 PM

    I think the Undertaker and HBK is the best one but just like John I think it’s too fresh but who knows.

    2.)Austin/Rock wrestlemania 17 would be second

    3.)HHH – Beautiful Day third

    4.)All of Creed- My Sacrifice videos they had

    5.)I also like the Royal Rumble 2002 promo by KidRock – Cocky and I also like WWE vs Alliance at Survivor Series 2001 because I really thought WWE was going down.

    Also like this fan made video that I think is awesome. It’s about the attitutde era

  28. March 3, 2010 at 5:38 PM

    This brought a tear to my eye. Eddie was my favorite wrestler growing up.

  29. S.h.riko
    January 26, 2011 at 6:29 AM

    I am riko.i m bangladashi.i love wwe-game&wwe-song.(my love-nexus-randy ortan-jon.c-ray m.all i love.i am very very pour.please give some many please…my mobile namber+8801677492500give some many this namber please my love.

  30. Nansy
    January 26, 2011 at 6:59 AM

    I m very sexy.all wwe-super star fuking me.300$price.

  31. March 16, 2013 at 9:44 PM

    i miss the attitude era rip 1997 -2001

  32. June 7, 2014 at 1:34 PM

    This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.

    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your wonderful post.
    Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

