Home > wwe > WWE News: Helms, Maria & Burchill Released, Bryan Interview

WWE News: Helms, Maria & Burchill Released, Bryan Interview

NOTE: I updated this post at about 2:45pmET to include the release of Maria.

World Wrestling Entertainment has released Shane “Hurricane” Helms, Maria and Paul Burchill. Katie Lea Burchill is still in WWE although they barely use her. Neither release is much of a surprise because WWE’s roster is very big right now and with ECW evaporating there was word that some releases would happen. I’m not about to guess who might be next. If you look at the roster and notice who’s not being used you can obviously tell who the likely next releases might be.

EDIT at 2:45pmET: “WWE has come to terms on the release of WWE diva Maria as of today February 26, 2010. We wish Maria the best in all future endeavors.” Diva of the year! Wow. Was her birthday yesterday too. Some quick thoughts:

– I don’t think WWE is happy about her music career. It is shocking that they would axe her before the Celebrity Apprentice airs. My guess is she didn’t fare well on the show. Clearly if she won the show or made it far they’d have kept her on because of all the press that would get. I don’t like the concept of the show although I liked the original idea of The Apprentice with regular people.

– Her inability to learn how to really work in the ring probably hurt. It’s WWE’s own fault, though. They want to hire models who they think they can train to wrestle, but a girl like Maria wasn’t built for that. She never seemed to be able to work even a five minute match on her own. As a valet she got passed around a lot. Did okay. Nothing special.

I liked her as a person. As a performer I never thought she added that much. Stay tuned to WWE.com all day as I guess more releases will be coming. I will be out for the rest of the day and night, but when I get back home Saturday morning I will write about whatever other news is coming.

Here’s what else I wrote on Helms/Burchill.

I’ve always liked Helms since I first saw him in his WCW days as “Sugar” Shane starting out with Three Count. He was clearly a good worker in his mid 20s. Later, when WCW broke up the group and he worked singles matches as the cruiserweight champ he had very good matches on a consistent basis. I can remember multiple quality matches with Chavo Guerrero in that time period. When he got to WWE they gave him the Hurricane gimmick and it worked. Part of the reason is because Helms is a funny guy who was able to pull it off. My favorite moments as the Hurricane involved him with The Rock (I’ll post a video at the bottom of this post). They were classic segments that I’ll never forget. They dumped the gimmick a few years back, gave him a more serious role as a cruiser wrestler on Smackdown, but once they got tired of booking cruisers he went back to Hurricane and also the Gregory Helms backstage reporter character. Problem was, he never really had a serious or meaningful feud. WWE didn’t really care that he was a good worker because his gimmick was a joke and he’s short. If used right, he could have been more of an asset. Of course, a lot of people are going to point to the drunken cab incident from a few weeks ago as a possible reason to be fired. I don’t know if that’s true. They were barely using the guy even on house shows in the last few months. It obviously didn’t help, though.

Paul Burchill never really got a chance. Started out with that pirate gimmick a few years back. Didn’t work. I bet somebody told Vince that Pirates of the Caribbean was a popular movie and that they should create a pirate. I also bet that Vince never saw the movie. Wish I could get verification on that! It was too silly even for WWE. The gimmick with his “sister” Katie Lea was supposed to be some kind of incest type of deal, but with WWE going PG there was no way they were going to roll with that. I always heard good things about him as a worker especially from UK readers that saw more of him than those of us in North America. Never seemed to click in WWE, though.

Now the obvious question is will both guys end up in TNA? It’s likely. Helms will be 36 this year, so he’s still got a lot left in him. He has close friends there, especially the newly signed Shannon Moore and Jeff Hardy will be there when his trial is done later in March. As far as I know, Hardy to TNA is a done deal. Helms also has an ex-girlfriend there (Velvet Sky), but I don’t know if that’s something that will be a hindrance to him or not. Not sure about Burchill to TNA. He’ll be 31 this year, so he’s got a lot of years left in the business.

Of course, WWE wished both guys the best in their future endeavors. I recommend the future endeavors line to all of you as well. Use it. And do it with a smile. It can be very funny when used at the right time.

****

There’s a good interview with Daniel Bryan up at WWE.com right here where he talks about his debut as well as some general thoughts on the company. I read in the Wrestling Observer this week that Vince McMahon was very impressed with his performance on NXT, so that’s a good sign. It’s expected that Bryan will “win” the show and whatever competition they have because he’s by far the most polished worker. Maybe that’s why I love this show so much already. (This is the first paragraph where I’ve written his name without writing “Bryan Danielson.” Pat myself on the back for that.)

The interview’s good, but there is one problem. He didn’t suck up to HHH when asked who he wants to work with. He should have said this: “The one person I really want to work with is HHH. I think he’s the best wrestler ever. When I was a kid I watched his matches all the time and marveled at how good he was. It would be an honor to wrestle him.” It doesn’t matter if it’s true, that’s what you say! To the HHH apologists, I’m only kidding. Relax. He can take a joke. You should be able to as well. My HHH column will likely be posted on Sunday. Maybe Monday.

****

As promised, here’s a classic Hurricane clip. There are several Rock/Hurricane clips that are great. Here’s one of the better ones:

If you look to the right of that you’ll see more backstage clips plus the match they had. Lots of fun memories there.

Categories: wwe Tags:
  1. JCITY617
    February 26, 2010 at 2:16 PM

    THAT LIL WHITE PILL FOUND ON HELMS WHEN HE WAS DETAINED SEALED HIS FATE ON THE FUTURE ENDEAVORS LIST. PAUL BURCHILL WAS DONE AS SOON AS HE WAS DRAFTED 2 ECW. IM SURE WE WILL BE SEEING HELMS IN TNA, AND IF HE’S SMART HE NEEDS 2 MEND THAT RELATIONSHIP HE HAD WITH VELVET SKY CUZ DATS A NICE PIECE RYTE THERE.

  2. Aaron
    February 26, 2010 at 2:21 PM

    Oh the Hamburgler.. my favorite Rock-a-cane moment… I was rolling when heel rock busted that one out.

    I really like Sugar Shane and he should run with that if he can in TNA.. (It’s harder for a 36 year old, but whatever). the vertebreaker finisher was one of the msot devastating in the biz when I first saw it.. I knew it wouldn’t carry over to WWE.. but that an awesome cruiser finisher..

    Would like to see Burchill’s intro though… so ridiculous.

    Let the future of endeavoring commence..

  3. Andre
    February 26, 2010 at 3:10 PM

    It’s the Matt Hardy kiss of death haha

  4. mrken
    February 26, 2010 at 3:20 PM

    Wonder whos next. Primo? Carlito maybe. I fear for ziggler. I would of been so good if they gave him the ic title when they planed it.

    • Aaron
      February 26, 2010 at 3:26 PM

      Ziggler’s going nowhere.. watch Smackdown tonight.

  5. TKO
    February 26, 2010 at 3:32 PM

    primo, kozlov, archer…i dont see ziggler going anywhere…I wont spoil anything but he’s safe

  6. HammerTime
    February 26, 2010 at 3:32 PM

    Long time reader, first time poster.

    First of all I’d like to say this: Caps guy…I just imagine you yelling everything you type and that in itself makes me chuckle. Keep doing what you’re doing.

    Secondly, I’ve always been a huge mark for Helms. One of the more underrated guys in WWE since he moved over from WCW in my opinion. Sure the Hurricane gimmick went over great, but I was super excited when he was the serious heel Cruiserweight Champion. Sad to see him go but hopefully lands on his feet and ends up in TNA or something and maybe, just maybe we’ll see him and Homicide face off of Vertebreaker vs Gringo Killa.

  7. Alex
    February 26, 2010 at 4:00 PM

    You’re right about the Pirate gimmick and Vince. It’s on Burchill’s wikipedia page.

    I remember when I realized that Burchill would never be pushed. It was when him and Katie Lea were feuding with Kofi and Mickie for the Intercontinental and Women’s Championships and were both quickly defeated in their title shots and were quickly replaced with Santino and Beth Phoenix.

  8. Jim Brunzel
    February 26, 2010 at 5:06 PM

    Maria was great on the eyes, I’ll miss that (thank god for playboy)
    I’ll also miss Helms, and I do hope he lands in TNA. The vertebreaker is sick.

  9. J
    February 26, 2010 at 7:11 PM

    Maria was good as the ditsy backstage interviewer, that role should not have changed.
    Helms arrest was probably just the straw that broke the camel’s back. He has all the qualities to be a good mid-card champ if he gets the opportunity. Good luck in TNA.

  10. mrken
    February 26, 2010 at 8:57 PM

    luck? Itll be golden to see the x division expand with helms and still a possible rvd. Btw where are the tna colums?

    • Dave K.
      February 26, 2010 at 9:18 PM

      In the trash, just like the programming

      • Lou
        February 27, 2010 at 12:57 AM

        BA-zing

  11. daniel
    February 27, 2010 at 2:31 AM

    the maria release really shocked me, not because she was a good wrestler but because of her looks, which wwe seem to go for. i remember her ditsy interveiw gimmick was hilarious when used right, i saw one clip where she interviews dx in 2006 and when hunter goes to say the suck it line, she goes “now way?”, it basically goes to hhh asking if she wants a visual aid only to be stopped by hbk. if you look it up on youtube its pretty funny. if your into perverted jokes.

    • Evan
      February 27, 2010 at 10:27 AM

      ah, back before the PG took over…as for other releases Primo, Goldust, Slam Master J, Wang Yang all wouldnt surprise me. Getting rid of Archer would as he looked like he was finding his niche on ECW with the Benjamin feud, but who knows..

  12. BabyGoose
    February 27, 2010 at 12:26 PM

    not sad about the helms release. i was sick of seein the hurricane “super hero” gimmick. maybe because im not 12 yrs old. i dunno. burchill wasn’t really bein used so who cares about that either. as far as the other releases on the way i agree w/evan. we’ll prob see primo, slam master j, wang yang and goldust released. like burchill these are guys who are never really used. WWE doesn’t need them. they can find local guys to be jobbers and it’ll cost WWE less too.

    • jay
      March 1, 2010 at 11:20 AM

      I wonder if they will ever go back to the days of the Masked Mr. X or ECW’s finest moment, Mass Transit?

      Turning on Raw to see the Angry Accountant, the Upset Post Office Guy, The Masked Awesome Guy, or the mysterious Mr. P. would be interesting for about 2 months.

      Note, I will be really pissed off if they name the Postal Employee, Special Delivery, because there is only 1 Special Delivery and that is S.D. Jones. He was nice to me when I was about 9.

  13. stankilla
    February 27, 2010 at 11:13 PM

    After that Maria passed around comment, im sure there was a kelly x2 joke in there somewhere

  14. esfjellin
    February 28, 2010 at 4:09 PM

    Add Charlie Haas to the list of releases.

  15. David McMillan
    March 1, 2010 at 10:20 AM

    Burchill got screwed over when William Regal failed that drug test some 3 or 4 years ago when Regal was GM on Raw.

    Regal’s failed test and Orton’s broken collarbone REALLY hurt the WWE back then. I think they were just hitting a really good stride, and rating were up in the low 4’s I think?

    Back to Burchill, at that point they teased an alliance between Paul and Katie Lea and Williams Regal because of the whole UK / Britain thing. I think it was logical to think then the heel alliance could have been Regal as GM, Orton as Champion, with Burchill and Katie Lea not being legacy-tight with Orton, but willing to do interference.

    Once Regal got suspended, Burchill went to ECW and that was over. Orton got hurt, and I think WWE was set back for a while.

    I honestly think Orton was supposed to win that match against HHH to continue the “Age of Orton” before the broken collarbone happened. That happened, and basically all of Raw’s main storylines were broken.

    • Aaron
      March 1, 2010 at 11:01 AM

      I dunno how often match results are changed mid match.. Usually they go to the finish of who was written to win the match if soemthing goes wrong. I’m pretty confident HHH was supposed to (and did) win that match. I don’t know everything, but I believe that was the case.

      Either way, I agree on some points you made, they were hitting a good stride with Orton on top before the injury.. but an injury to a big players alwasy hurts (See Edge, Cena, ETC)

  16. March 21, 2013 at 3:09 AM

    Hi, I check your blog daily. Your writing style is awesome, keep
    it up!

  17. September 8, 2013 at 9:44 PM

    My programmer is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the costs. But he’s tryiong none the less.
    I’ve been using WordPress on various websites for about a year and am concerned about switching to another platform.
    I have heard excellent things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I
    can import all my wordpress content into it?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

