Home > Talking Smack, wwe > The John Report: Talking Smack for 02/26/10 (Edge/Miz)

The John Report: Talking Smack for 02/26/10 (Edge/Miz)

Welcome to the Talking Smack column where I offer up a quick rundown of WWE’s Friday broadcast, Smackdown. I’ll do the blog plugs at the bottom. Among the posts this week were thoughts on the NXT debut as well as the releases of Helms, Maria & Burchill on Friday. As for this column, it’s going to be a bit shorter than my usual. I was out partying on Friday night, got home really late, had a few too many drinks (hi Straight Edge people) and I’m not in the mood to write that much. I’ll cover the show, but it won’t be nearly as detailed as my usual. Hope you understand. Let’s get to it.

———–

Taped from Milwaukee, Wisconsin let’s talk some smack…

The new WORLD HEAVYWEIGHT CHAMPION Chris Jericho comes out with the title bragging about how after over a year of fighting he’s back on top as champion. I love this man. I loved this promo. Asking the camera to zoom in on the title to see his name and “World Heavyweight Wrestling Champion” on it was great. Hey, he said wrestling. That should say sports entertainment. Quick, call the belt maker guy. We need a new one. Edge came out talking about how Jericho may have won, but he also gets speared by Edge a lot. They even got the crowd into chanting “spear” which is good because I’ve never heard that before. Jericho got pissed, attacked him with the mic and then went for the Codebreaker only to receive a spear from Edge. Good opening segment. Love this feud already. Looking forward to the next month of build.

Dolph Ziggler d. R-Truth & John Morrison to enter the Money in the Bank match (***)
Very strong match at about 12 minutes. They really did a good job with the nearfalls and timed their sports well. I didn’t read spoilers, so I thought going in that Morrison would win for sure. Wrong. He was my pick to win MITB. Wrong. They definitely love that “one guy hits the finisher, the other throws him out and gets the pin” ending to these triple threats, don’t they? I’m really surprised Ziggler won. I’m fine that he did because I think the de-push he got the last three or four months was unwarranted. Let’s just hope he doesn’t bust out the dreaded sleeper at WM in the ladder match.

Michelle McCool d. Mickie James to win the Women’s Title (*1/4)
Vickie Guerrero was referee. They only got about four minutes with some good action. I liked the match at TLC in December more. The finish saw Vickie fall out of the ring only to have Layla rub her butt to make it feel better (not visually appealing, trust me). In ring, Mickie James-Canton had McCool in a rollup, but Vickie slapped Mickie and Michelle finished her with a hard kick to the head for the win. Question is, if Vickie is only a consultant then couldn’t Teddy Long reverse this decision because she clearly interfered in the outcome of a match? Oh wait, there I go asking questions. Let’s just hope they mention it next week at least a little bit. Disappointed that MJC only had a 3 week run. I assume it’s to set up Mickie/Michelle/Beth @ WM. They deserve it.

Kane d. Drew McIntyre to qualify for MITB (3/4*)
Again? Apparently so. In only five minutes Kane won with a kick to the face. Clean. Yes, that was the finish. Huh? I really don’t like Kane going over McIntrye. The way WWE does these “even steven” bookings bugs me. McIntyre wins clean at the PPV, let it end. He doesn’t have to lose on the next show. Nobody gets elevated when this kind of thing happens all the time. Plus, the undefeated future World Champion lost in five minutes to a kick to the face? Not a fan of this booking. I also thought McIntyre would be in MITB. It looks like an IC title defense at WrestleMania this year.

Post match, they had McIntyre all angry after his first pinfall loss. I guess this will make him meaner. Hopefully he doesn’t get the whiner gimmick after losses. Remember that with Christian and DDP? Not a great feud.

I like the WM songs so far. That “I Made It” song by Kevin Rudolph is good while “Thunderstruck” by AC/DC is very old, but very popular. Good to mix some old with new.

I don’t know what the hell The Miz was wearing with that shirt/vest combo thing, but he came out to mention that he can be on any show now that he’s the unified tag champ. He forgot to say that HHH and HBK had no interest in working on Tuesdays, though. He asked Teddy Long to find a tag team for Showmiz to face at WM. Sorry Miz, no tag teams. Long came out to say Show wasn’t there, but if Miz wants action he gets Edge later in the night. Works for me.

Shelton Benjamin d. CM Punk to qualify for MITB (**)
Benjamin’s officially on Smackdown now. Good to know. Always been a fan of his. This was a fun match although I wish they got more time since it was only about five minutes long. These two could put on a wrestling clinic if they get 15 minutes for a match. Plus, Punk’s such a strong heel that it would do wonders for Benjamin to be in the ring against him. Mysterio came out to distract Punk, which led to Benjamin hitting Paydirt for the win. Now Shelton qualifies for Money in the Bank so that he can steal the show with some incredible athletic moves like he does every year only for WWE to forget about it the next show.

As rumored, Mysterio vs. Punk is going to happen at WrestleMania. It’s not official yet, but you can expect it to be. I think Mysterio will be in a MITB match next week only for Punk to cost him. That could be the show stealing match on the card.

The four people in the Money in the Bank match so far are Christian, Kane, Benjamin & Ziggler with four spots left. With no McIntyre, Morrison, Miz (I assume), Big Show (I assume), Punk (I assume) and Mysterio (I assume) in the match it’ll be interesting to see who’s in it. Could we see HHH and Sheamus in the match rather than having a rumored singles match? Could happen. My preference of winner is definitely Christian. He’s an elite worker in WWE that deserves a main event run. I have my doubts that it will actually happen, though.

We got the Raw Rebound. Why don’t they do a Smackdown Rebound on Raw considering Raw gets about 5.5 million viewers per week in the US while SD gets about 3.5 million viewers? Shouldn’t you try to put over the better show that you’ve got buried on Friday nights? I don’t get it.

Edge d. The Miz (**1/2)
This was a good TV main event. It’s a very fresh match (they said it was their first match together), so that was good to see. The outcome wasn’t much of a surprise with Edge scoring the pinfall via the spear after about 12 minutes. This is the kind of thing I want to see out of Miz, though. His promos are very strong, but if he’s really going to get over and become a huge star they need to put him in big TV matches to get the crowd used to his style. Otherwise, they’re going to be asleep when he gets the big push.

The show ended with Edge celebrating. No Jericho. Nothing extraordinary to end it. Don’t see that very often on Raw or Smackdown.

Three Stars of the Show
1. The Miz – Really did a great job. Continues to impress me.
2. Edge – Looked smooth in the ring. Ankle has passed the test two weeks in a row.
3. Dolph Ziggler – Like the guy. He deserves the break.

7 out of 10
Last week: 6.5

It was a typically strong wrestling edition of Smackdown. It was weird not seeing Jericho attacking Edge after the main event. Kept waiting for it, but we got nothing. Also, a good night for anybody that delivers a kick to the face apparently. It was the WWE Finisher of the Night. I just made that up.

No sign of Undertaker at all. I guess they realized how orange his face was on Raw after he probably slept in a tanning bed, so they kept him off the show. We all know Vince hates that STUPID ORANGE CRAP right? Or is STUPID ORANGE CRAP exclusive to shirts? I don’t know. Wish I did.

I’m bringing back the weekly polls. Vote:

————

In case you missed it, lots of content on my blog this week:

– Posted some quick thoughts on the debut of WWE NXT from Tuesday night. Loved the show for the most part. Miz vs. Bryan will be a great feud.

– Thoughts on Helms, Maria, Paul Burchill getting released is here. None of them are that surprising although I thought they’d keep Maria around.

– In honor of the great HBK/Taker video on Raw, I shared with you videos of what I think are the five greatest video packages in WWE history with explanations for each.

– With WrestleMania coming up soon, I thought it would be a good idea to re-post some of my WrestleMania recaps through the years. First one up is WrestleMania X-7, which I feel is the best WM ever and the best PPV in WWE history.

Check me out on Twitter at Twitter.com/johnreport and I’ll make you a deal. When I reach 1000 followers (at 753 right now) I will write a column called “The Top 100 WWE PPV matches from 2000 to 2009.” I wrote the top 50 from 2000 to 2004 and re-posted it on the blog, but I haven’t done the top 100 yet. If I get to 1000 twitter followers, I’ll get to work on that column. That’s a promise.

You can ask me anything at Formspring.com where I’ve now answered 1,150 questions in the last month with another 100 or so sitting in my inbox. I haven’t had time to post my answers on the blog, but if you go there and sift through it you’ll see a lot of answers to a lot of different questions.

Finally, I’ll have a column on Triple H coming soon. It will probably be Monday. Mostly good things. You’ll see.

Thanks for reading. Have a great weekend.

John Canton – oratoryjohn@gmail.com
Visit the blog: johnreport.wordpress.com
Add me on Facebook at Facebook.com/thejohnreport and Twitter at Twitter.com/johnreport
Check out the petition to get me hired by WWE with over 600 signatures.
AOLIM: OratorJC MSN: oratoryjohn@hotmail.com

Visit My Archives to view ten years of The John Report columns.

  1. evan
    February 27, 2010 at 12:21 PM

    Grat stuff as always. It worries me that there is the possibilty of HHH/Sheamus being in the MITB match only because either one of them would be the odds on favorite to win and they should use this to elevate people who havn’t been champions before. HHH would add the starpower to the match though and if that happens, chalk up another booking move to Mr. Canton.

    I would like to see a U.S. and an IC match at WM. Don’t know who they would get to wrestle McIntyre at WM though, mayhaps Morrison again? And what tag teams are out there to go up against ShowMiz? I am guessing TLong will drop a little tourney on us next week and the winner gets the shot (fingers crossed for the Dynasty)

  2. mrchadkearbey
    February 27, 2010 at 12:32 PM

    Didn’t know if you caught the HBK/Taker video footage on Friday since you’ve already seen it several times, but they added what happened on Monday Night between the two and the world class editing crew at WWE did wonders to Taker’s orange glow as it wasn’t there.

    • February 27, 2010 at 12:40 PM

      Haha nice to know. I FF’d through that part because I had seen the video a few times now. Yay for editing.

  3. Jaykob
    February 27, 2010 at 12:59 PM

    I feel like a broken record at this point, but the Miz continue to go places nobody ever expected he would. I think he will be a future WWE/World Heavyweight Champ sooner than a lot of people think. He just needs to show that he can wrestle that classic match on a big stage. I think he can do it – I’d be stupid to doubt him at this point.

    • Shane
      February 27, 2010 at 3:33 PM

      I thought Miz would’ve been a good choice for a surprise Rumble winner – but Edge’s storyline fits better, and it’s probably just a bit too soon for him. There’s always next year… :)

      • David M.
        February 28, 2010 at 7:22 AM

        Compare the Miz as he is now to how he was in his initial Smackdown and then early ECW run, and you can see how far he’s come. That is because the guy’s a hard worker with the passion to get where he wants to be. He’s gone from a genuinely annoying “personality” to an ever-improving heel, plus pairing him with Morrison was a masterstroke, as it was from then when his in-ring skills really developed.

        • Jim Brunzel
          February 28, 2010 at 10:45 AM

          I couldnt stand him when he was the host of the diva search a few years ago.
          He is one of my top 5 guys today.
          Good on him!

  4. mrken
    February 27, 2010 at 1:09 PM

    It was nice watching an extended hbk taker vid. its only ganna get better as the weeks pass. I dont get why wwe dosnt use there vast roster to create tags insted of letting people go. Im guessing well get a tagmach insted of a ustitle defence at wm. Big show dosnt get left out of mania. I dont see any of the teams now winning the gold or even bing at wrestlemania. Drew mac. I realy thought he would be in mitb. Im sure he could use his navi body structure to tippy toe and grab the case. What if drew shows up in the mitb match and grabs the case anyway. Lets look at whos in the match so far. Christian. Good worker. Not vinces type. Zigger. Awesome skills but not ready for a world title run. Shelton. Not mic friendly. Get that mans mama. Kane. Nuf said. Itll be different.. He could go one on one with whoever may of had the case in reach for the contract and win anyway. Im enjoying the slow jobb turns. Evan wins raw. swagger wins superstars and ziggler wins smackdown. Good times..

  5. David Mansfield
    February 27, 2010 at 1:50 PM

    Good to see Dolph Ziggler win a high profile match! Now if only they will dump the name “Dolph Ziggler” and let him once again be “The Natural” Nick Nameth.

  6. JG
    February 27, 2010 at 2:17 PM

    Morrison/McIntyre for the IC Title at Wrestlemania anyone? That or they both get in due to a battle royal or something.

    Can’t wait for the 6th annual Shelton Benjamin Invitational Ladder Match! It’s always my favorite!

  7. jay
    February 27, 2010 at 2:19 PM

    HooRay for Mr. Ziggles! That is fun to say. He appeared to be trying to hog the spotlight during the match. I guess he understands it is now or never with this push. I would have rather seen Morrison or R-Truth advance.

    Drew Mc. really botched the finish. Kane wasn’t happy, and even Charles Robinson let him know he fucked up. Maybe he deserves the whiner role, because he showed he is not ready for prime time.

    The Miz proves he needs more in ring training. His wardrobe was worse than Daniel Bryan’s. The only thing missing on the Awesome NerdBoy’s tie was White Piano Keys. “I’m the Miz and I dress like an Awesome Dork! Thank God Edge Can Carry My Awesome Ass In The Ring!”

    I really liked the Morrison, Ziggler, and R-Truth match. I thought the Kane match was a little better than you give it credit for being.

    Shelton got my #1 star for the night. He responded well when given an opportunity. Take the ball and run with it. I really hope the SES gets highlighted. They are must see TV.

    I still think a World Title Change deserves a star. Since it was the Women’s title, you might want to share the third star. (I don’t think you should, but face it, the title has had diminishing respectability since Moolahs reign ended.)

    I hope you do notice that Mickie is going to begin the process of being buried. They only paused, because they realized that they were sending the wrong message by burying her immediately after the Piggy James Disgrace. She needs to get that music career going.

    Nice to see Jericho with the gold. He keeps earning greater respectability. When it is all said and done, he may be one of the best of all times.

  8. Rated R
    February 27, 2010 at 2:48 PM

    Edge and Miz together was a dream come true. My two top favorites <3

    Great show. I thought it deserved better than 7. Maybe a 7.5 or 8. It was enjoyable for the most part and that's what matters. Also: Miz for world champ plz. He's truly awesome. I also liked that Bryan was showcased. He could mock Miz for losing the match too, on tuesday night.

    Oh and don't mock what Miz wears. He looks great.

  9. February 27, 2010 at 7:47 PM

    Agree with thoughts on MITB 3threat match. Ziggler deserves a push due to his improved in-ring skills. Maybe we’ll see a Zig-Zag off a ladder?

    If they do a rematch w/ Kane and Drew Mac at WM, it should be an inferno match or something that Drew takes a beating in and still comes out on top to strengthen his character.

    How can TTs like Cryme Tyme and THD not get a shot at the UTT at WM against Biz Show?

    Miz w/ the title is a great idea (2011), but as suggested, his wrestling ability needs to get there first. Sheamus had the title and Miz is far and above Sheamus in both mic and ring work.

    Lastly, I wrote up questions throughout my comments/thoughts on SD! over on my blog and I’d really appreciate some feedback from some ‘smart’ fans. (http://www.regularguy87.wordpress.com/)

  10. What the Face?
    February 27, 2010 at 8:27 PM

    John,

    Great review as always. The IC Title was defended at last years Wrestlemania. The epic JBL vs Rey. I always thought Rey might have been injured at the time of Mania, but they gave him the short match so he could appear. Maybe a favor since he has had a past of injuries keeping him out of the “grandaddy of them all.”

    If your statement was out of sarcasm, I don’t blame you. It was a waste of my time and cash-olla. See you on twitter and start cranking out your column.

  11. Anonymous
    February 27, 2010 at 9:54 PM

    Wackintyre draws no heat whatsover, so maybe they have realised he isn’t the chosen 1, no matter how much cripple H and HBK want him to be? Or maybe im wrong by thinking and its just a blip in wwe doing there usual formula by force feeding us the wrestlers they want 2 get over no matter how we feel about it.

  12. stankilla
    February 27, 2010 at 10:03 PM

    Also John, ive been reading ur blogs (on Rajah at 1st) for about 2 yrs ish, so i know ur a fan of Jomo, but don’t u think he’s awful on the mic? thats y wwe are thinking of turning him heel imo cus even his target audience (women) are starting 2 not care about him enough.
    Personally i cant c him ever being elevated above upper mid-card status unless he learns 2 up his mic work, or am i wrong?

    • Jaykob
      February 27, 2010 at 11:38 PM

      I know I happen to agree with you. You can’t be billed as some sexy guy, without a sexy guy personality. Whatever they’re trying to do with JoMo isn’t getting him over.

    • MIchael
      February 27, 2010 at 11:40 PM

      Didn’t know that Eric Bischoff blogs here too! ;)

      • MIchael
        February 27, 2010 at 11:43 PM

        But you’re right, he should definitely work on his mic skills, before he reaches the main event level!

        • David M.
          February 28, 2010 at 7:24 AM

          It really is the only thing holding him back.

  13. Big Ronda
    February 27, 2010 at 11:57 PM

    Holy crap just finished the mickie vs michelle match. Im not tryin to ruffle any feathers or make JC angry but i now understand why they’re doing the piggie james angle. She’s HUGE!!! Just focus on her belly area and you’ll c what i’m talking about. She needs cardio very badly. I’m not gonna be nice and say she’s perfect. Just look at that GUT!!! It aint sexy.

    • Jaykob
      February 28, 2010 at 3:11 AM

      John is not going to be pleased…

    • Tamara Love
      February 28, 2010 at 4:27 AM

      She only appears fat because the rest of the divas are toothpicks. Mickie is probably the healthiest and most natural looking of the bunch. I often worry about society when nice looking women like Mickie are called “fat”.

      • jay
        February 28, 2010 at 7:17 PM

        TL: You are right.

        She was getting buried for pursuing the music. The entire Piggy James thing was exactly the way they handled Vickie G. before they released her. I believe the public outcry with Mickie caused them to change their plans. The WWE believes that its Universe will forget the whole disgusting storyline due to a three week reign. Mark my words. Mickie is about to get embarrassed and lose her credibility unless WWE fans speak out against it.

        Good luck getting delivery on the sandwich you ordered! I’m glad I am no longer married, because I think my wife would have smacked in the back of the head for that comment.

        You go Girl! :)

    • February 28, 2010 at 8:43 AM

      Oh no you didn’t…(snaps fingers)

      Hey, to each their own. Calling her huge is pretty hilarious to me. I don’t see it at all.

    • Sam
      March 1, 2010 at 10:38 AM

      This coming from a person who’s Screen name is Big Rhonda….ummm ok. Oh and if you think that she is huge then you have an extremely messed up view of beauty and you should get help because you are probably anorexic.

  14. Captain Terrific
    February 28, 2010 at 3:44 AM

    if done correctly, the Chris Jericho-Edge feud will be one of the most well remembered of recent times. They need to stay serious with this one with only a splash of comedy here and there. If the direction taken is the same with that of Undertaker – HBK, this has potential to be very special.

    • February 28, 2010 at 8:45 AM

      Look at how Jericho/Michaels was booked. Chris has a lot of say. It will deliver.

  15. Tamara Love
    February 28, 2010 at 4:28 AM

    All I noticed about Smackdown? The first segment. Jericho AND Edge have really big feet. Hmmmm. Canadian sandwich? A gal can dream!

    *^___^*

    • February 28, 2010 at 8:42 AM

      I’m size 13. How you doing?

      I don’t notice their feet.

  16. mrken
    February 28, 2010 at 12:07 PM

    wonder if where ganna hear cole bitching on raw monday like on nxt. It was revenge of the vintage nerds

  17. February 28, 2010 at 4:22 PM

    I thoroughly enjoyed the opening triple threat. I would’ve thought that Ziggler had no chance, but hey, he did himself proud in that match. That reverse-underhook back-to-belly(?) suplex was great – a suplex?! in the WWE?! I marked out for that as much as I marked out for Ziggles winning!

    He’s no chance of winning MITB, but hey, I’m glad to see Mr. Perfection at the Granddaddy Of Them All!

    If Truth, Morrison and Ziggler carried on that match into a feud between them, I’d be excited. I just hope that Morrison or Truth don’t turn heel.

    Kane/McIntyre was weak. Again. I can see a Morrison/McIntyre/Truth triple-threat for the IC title though, if there’s time on the card? Maybe leading to a repeat at that apparent “Fatal Four Way” event including Ziggles?

    Mickie looked damn hot this week – hotter than usual! – and they put on a great match. It’s just a shame that Vickie and Layla were around, too. Layla’s beautiful, but sounds like a dick. Vickie just looks…. wrong in jogging pants! *shudders*

    I marked out for Benjamin’s German Suplex & I’m glad he’s won, but I can’t help but thinking we’ll be underwhelmed by the “star power” in that match come WM time.

    The belt looks just right on Jericho. The whole “spear spear spear” thing – particularly when Striker repeated it like Rhino’s “GORE! GORE! GORE!” made me giggle. It also took me back to when Edge kicked off that whole “You Suck!” chant for Kurt Angle. Man that was great. I remember the backstage bit between the two with Edge giving Angle the pictures of the two of them – complete with messages on the back (facing the camera) mocking Angle’s genitalia – when Angle was the thick-as-pig-shit heel and Edge was the cocky, comedic face.

    Miz main-evening SmackDown was unique and quite… (I’m looking for a word here…) cool? (Damn, that’s Raw’s resident Apple-spitting jobber!) so overall, I liked it a lot. I’d love to know where they’re going with MITB though.

    If it was;

    Kane, Ziggles, Benjamin, Christian, Kofi, Tatsu and two from Rhodes/MVP/Bourne/Thwagger/Matt Hardy (I know, long shot!) then I guess it would be OK. But out of all of those guys, Christian would be odds-on favourite. Kofi a close 2nd, but we all know what happened to his “push”.

  18. Chris Greene
    February 28, 2010 at 4:27 PM

    I wonder if Jericho was channeling Tim Misny with that title close up line.

    “Bring the shot in closer! I said make it tighter!”

  19. February 28, 2010 at 11:14 PM

    Brand new updated New Wrestling Rules! Check out my Blog!

    http://1wrestlingrules.wordpress.com/

    Sorry to have to put myself over on someone’s hard work. But that’s okay, I forgive myself.

  20. Anon
    March 3, 2010 at 12:27 PM

    For about almost a year now, Miz has impressed me more and more every time I’ve seen him. It would have been unthinkable a while back, but the guy really is close to top tier. His mic skills and body language are well above everybody besides Punk/Jericho/Michaels and a few others, and the in ring stuff has gotten a lot better.

    If he came in as a new wrestler, rather than be known as a reality star who had a lot of bad matches (while effectively training on the job) people would really be talking about him. If you can get rid of the earlier impressions and just see what he’s doing now, the guy has a lot of potential and it was good to see him main eventing. He’s also filling the gap Jericho left on Raw better than most could.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

