Home > The Raw Deal, wwe > The John Report: The Raw Deal for 03/01/10 (DX/Showmiz)

The John Report: The Raw Deal for 03/01/10 (DX/Showmiz)

Welcome to the Raw Deal. Check out the column I wrote about Triple H earlier on Monday. I’ve received a lot of great feedback on it. It’s a look at his career through the years while also looking at other aspects of his history in the business as well as some questions for the future.

Live from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma this is the Raw Deal…

I miss Jim Ross. That’s what I think of when I see Raw’s in OKC. Oh, and Kevin Durant is absolutely disgusting. He’s one of the five best players in the NBA at the age of 21. Filthy.

Shawn & Hunter begin PromoMania
We start out Promomania with a promo from Shawn Michaels talking about WrestleMania. You have to love how the guy still gets these ridiculously huge pops even though he blatantly cost The Undertaker the World Title just eight days earlier. Goes to show how much people want to see Shawn/Undertaker and don’t really care about Undertaker losing the shiny belt. Shawn said Undertaker’s 17-0, but that nobody gave Taker a run for his money like Shawn did last year. He also talked about how the locker room (what, no catchy name for them Universe for the fans?) was full of people that doubted he could beat Undertaker at WM. He wanted somebody to meet him face to face to talk about it. Out came Triple H. Hey, I read a column about him today. Did you? Shawn was pissed off thinking that HHH doubted him. No Shawn, HHH loves you. He believes in you. He gave a nice pep talk saying that the fans and cameras don’t matter, he’s speaking to Shawn only. Shawn’s the best ever. This is true. I liked this. They got around to the point of the whole thing being that after HBK beats Undertaker he’ll still be in WWE, so the night after WM they can defend the tag titles they will win back as they get their rematch. That’s a clever way of saying they don’t really want to win the tag titles, but they might as well milk the DX thing for one more night. I liked the segment. Best part of the show. If it ended here 9/10. Too bad there was more to come.

It was time for the awkward backstage segment with the Bella twins talking to Cheech & Chong. Cheech walked away with the Bellas while Hornswoggle came in to give Chong some Lucky Charms that were actually Psychadellic and caused the room to spin for Chong. Yes, this actually happened. I’m sure Vince thought it was great. It wasn’t. Pass me the sugar.

Randy Orton vs. Ted Dibiase ended in a countout (*1/2)
This was something of a letdown. The crowd was dead for most of it with Orton getting the initial face pop, but not getting much the rest of the way. They worked about eight or nine minutes, no finishers were attempted and Rhodes interfered. Orton eventually fought them off as the heels went up the ramp like a couple of baby oil babies. We found out later it would be Orton vs. Rhodes & Dibiase next week. I’m going to assume we get a triple threat at WM although I’m not sure on that. Make no mistake about it, Orton’s the face in this feud. The turn is happening.

I don’t know how to recap the next Cheech & Chong segment. Let’s just say that Chong got him some of the sugar (the PG way of saying weed, I guess) and he was tripping out too. The comedy ensued as they thought Regal was really Eve while they thought titty dancing Masters was really Kelly. Once again, I’m sure Vince thought this was great. Is Austin the host yet? This was fucking brutal. I don’t know who this appeals to. I really don’t. And I have no beef with Cheech & Chong. It just didn’t work. This was so chuffing dumb. (Shout out to drunken Phil!)

I love the picture that said “Confrontation?” in front of images of Batista & Cena. Pass me the sugar.

Jack Swagger d. Santino to qualify for MITB (SQUASH)
It was over in 30 seconds with the Gutwrench Powerbomb. Poor Santino doesn’t even get to threaten with the Cobra. Congrats on making Money in the Bank, Jack. You’re not winning.

Batista walked from the dressing room with security. I wasn’t sure about Batista’s look tonight. The guy’s a weird dresser, isn’t he? He busted out the pink shirt at the Slammy’s, he’s dressed like a golfing grandpa numerous times and tonight he looked like somebody out of a biker gang. I think the Disciples of Apocalypse from 1997 are going to sue him for gimmick infringement. No, I’m not making fun of the Badass Grandpa. I’m just saying his look perplexes me.

Cena & Batista talked to continue PromoMania
Cena came out sporting his STUPID ORANGE CRAP to deliver a promo. He didn’t do his “talk real quiet before GETTING REALLY LOUD” thing. He kept it at an even level talking about how hard he’s worked to get where he’s at. Batista came out to explain his motivation for attacking Cena. He said he wanted Cena at WM, so he got DQ’d on purpose the week before and then sent a message to Cena afterwards. He bitched about how the WWE promotional machine picked Cena to be the face of WWE even though Batista’s done just as much. He went on this speech about how they have been the biggest stars in WWE since the Attitude Era ended (what’s this era called anyway?) noting that they each won major titles at WM21 (Batista beating HHH, Cena beating JBL). Batista said he doesn’t care about the fans like Cena does. He cares about the money (and the ladies – he didn’t say that last part). While Cena’s kissing babies and hugging fat girls, Batista will be in the gym thinking about beating Cena at WrestleMania. He ended it by saying Cena can’t beat him and he knows it. And I guess Batista won this Promomania showdown because his music played to end the segment. This was a good promo especially from Batista. Also, if you don’t think his heel persona is better than his babyface one then you’re as high as Cheech, Chong and crazy Vince McMahon combined. Heel Batista is excellent. The top three heels in WWE right now (Jericho, Punk, Batista) are as good as the company has had in a very long time.

More Cheech & Chong. Dear God. Chavo was dressed in a Mariachi outfit while Carlito & Primo also had getups even though they’re Puerto Rican and can’t stand eachother. Yeah, who can forget that epic feud? Then Katie, Yoshi and a chicken with Santino’s voice told us the pajamas pillow fight was coming up next. Brutal. Pass the sugar.

MVP d. Zach Ryder to qualify for MITB (SQUASH)
Got more time than the last MITB, but still only a minute long. Somebody asked me in an email if I’d rather see a house show or a Raw live. I pick a house show. Why? Because at least you get 2 hours of wrestling. With Raw, you get stuff like this.

The six guys in the Money in the Bank match are Christian, MVP, Jack Swagger, Kane, Dolph Ziggler and Shelton Benjamin. Two more spots left. At this point it seems like Christian is the pick to win. Not sure who will get added.

Cheech & Chong come out as the announcers put over their great job as guest hosts. Great job? What the hell did they even do? They were allegedly the guest ring announcers even though they announced nothing.

Eve won some ridiculous pajama pillow fight (I have no idea)
They were dressed in pajamas. Eve pinned Alicia the wedding planner. Match got more time than the two Money in the Bank matches combined. “I have no idea” is the greatest star rating I’ve given a match. Post match, Hornswoggle gave everybody Lucky Charms as Cole tried to prevent Lawler from eating it. That was exciting. Maybe the worst guest hosts ever. And that’s saying something.

Mad Dog Vachon will be the next inductee in the Hall of Fame. Way before my time. It’s not a great HOF class this year, that’s for sure.

Vince & Bret ended PromoMania
Vince came out first to suck up to Bret before introducing. Bret had a cast on his “broken leg” while Vince waited for him in the ring. During the promo, Vince talked about how this wasn’t going to be Bret’s goodbye. Vince had something else. He said Bret called him a World Champion liar so Vince admitted to lying, but that he was a champion at it. Or something. The best part of the segment was seeing Vince’s reflection in Bret’s shades. That was a cool shot. Vince talked about Bret challenging him at Mania, but Bret pointed out that his leg was broken. Vince ended up calling him a coward and kicked the crutch away. As Vince bailed from the ring, Bret said, “You want a match at WrestleMania? You got it!” Crowd popped, but not as loud as I would have hoped. This would have been great if Bret made up the injury, then attacked Vince after Vince wanted the match. Instead, we got a long segment that dragged on and on before ending with a whimper. The whole thing went about 12 minutes. The match is on at WrestleMania officially. Does this mean I’ll stop getting asked if they’re doing the match we’ve been saying would happen since the end of December? I hope so. The broken leg angle isn’t helping the feud.

Also, to end this segment Vince said he’ll be wrestling John Cena next week. How do you counter old guys like Hogan & Flair wrestling on TNA next week? By putting a 64 year old in a match! That’ll show them. I’m sure this one will be short although I’m not sure what will happen exactly.

They did a plug for the HBK DVD that comes out next week. Awesome. I’m getting an advanced copy that should be here by the end of the week. It’s nice having connections. Yes, I’m bragging. I’ll be writing a major HBK column in a couple weeks after watching the DVD and grabbing some quotes for it. I’m excited to see the feature interview even though Michael Cole’s in it. Can’t win ’em all, ya know?

Next week’s guest host is Criss Angel. Not a huge fan. Also we get Crazy Vince vs. Cena plus Orton vs. Rhodes & Dibiase in a handicap match.

The Miz & Big Show d. DX (*1/4)
This DX’s chance to win back the tag titles they never gave a shit about in the first place. They were working fast here because the show was about to end and they only gave the match four minutes. They did a KO spot with Hunter eating a very gentle chokeslam from Show while HBK snuck in to give Show a superkick. Michaels and Miz each got in there with HBK cleaning house. He got the vintage kip up and top rope elbow when suddenly the Undertaker’s face appeared on screen. Barely moved. Just rolled his eyes into his head. Miz used that interference to roll Michaels up for the pinfall. At WrestleMania he’s going to kick out of finishers, but on Raw he loses clean to a rollup in four minutes. Remember that. Or don’t. Nobody’s going to remember it. By the way, this was the last time DX is going to team up for a while because when Shawn comes back from summer vacation Hunter will probably be a heel. Put your glowsticks in storage, I guess.

I can imagine Undertaker taking to one of his kids about this segment.
Kid: “So dad, how was your day?”
Taker: “Well, I got to stare at a video camera for a few seconds and I got to roll my eyes into my head.”
Kid: “You’re such a hard worker, daddy.”
Taker: “It’s a full day’s work. A tough job. Somebody has to do it.”

Post match, Shawn wanted nothing to do with Hunter. As HBK left, Sheamus hopped the rail and attacked Triple H from OUT OF NOWHERE~! Sheamus gave his bicycle kick to HHH twice on the floor to KNOCK HIM THE FUCK OUT~! as he stood on top of the announce table staring down at a fallen Triple H to end the show. There you have another WrestleMania match although I thought it would have been for the WWE Title. Obviously they’d rather have the belt in the Batista/Cena feud, which is fine. Looks like the top 8 matches I wrote about back on January 25th are all going to happen at WrestleMania.

Three Stars of the Show
1. Shawn Michaels – He’s #1 because I’m biased and when he’s on spring/summer vacation I’ll miss him.
2. Maryse – Her pajamas were fantastic.
3. Kelly Kelly – Her too.

4.5 out of 10
Last week: 7

I didn’t like the show very much. Last week’s promo heavy show was better because the promos were simply better and more memorable. This week? Not so much. The Michaels promo to open it was very strong as was Triple H’s speech to him. I thought the Batista/Cena and Hart/McMahon segments were okay although they each seemed to drag on too much. They were also very similar in that the babyface was made to look weak. The crowd also seemed very flat for the Orton/Dibiase match as they only seemed to care when Orton tried to fight off the post-match attack. The main event? I barely even noticed Miz in the match, yet he got the pin. In a two hour show, there was maybe 15 minutes of in-ring action. Not enough for my liking although if the promos were better I’d be fine with it.

The guest hosts were brutal too. I’m ready for Austin on March 15. After that, if I never see another guest host again I’ll be a happy Raw review. The Rock would be very welcome in the summer if that’s the plan. Other than that, call up JBL to make him Raw GM. I’d be fine with that.

Polls are back. Vote:

————


Commentfest goes here. I’ll put it up by 8pm ET on Tuesday.
————

Check me out on Twitter at Twitter.com/johnreport and I’ll make you a deal. When I reach 1000 followers (nearly at 800 right now) I will write a column called “The Top 100 WWE PPV matches from 2000 to 2009.” I wrote the top 50 from 2000 to 2004 and re-posted it on the blog, but I haven’t done the top 100 yet. If I get to 1000 twitter followers, I’ll get to work on that column. That’s a promise.

Keep checking out the blog at johnreport.wordpress.com for daily content. I’ve got a stable of guest writers there, I post retro columns and also exclusive content for the blog only. One of the exclusives last week was my post about the debut of WWE NXT, which I enjoyed a lot. That’s all for this week. Be back on the weekend with Talking Smack.

Thanks for reading.

John Canton – oratoryjohn@gmail.com
Visit the blog: johnreport.wordpress.com
Check out the petition to get me hired by WWE with over 600 signatures.
Add me on Facebook at Facebook.com/thejohnreport and Twitter at Twitter.com/johnreport
AOLIM: OratorJC MSN: oratoryjohn@hotmail.com

Visit My Archives to view ten years of The John Report columns.

  1. Tyson
    March 2, 2010 at 2:23 AM

    Good review. Very underwhelming Raw this week. Also, I think Undertaker showing up on the video screen to distract Shawn was a bit anti-climatic. I would have prefered if suddenly the video of the last few moments of the WrestleMania 25 match was played and this took Shawn out of his element. I think it would have been a more effective way of getting across that his “one mistake” in their classic match still haunts Shawn.

    • David M.
      March 2, 2010 at 10:25 AM

      That would have been absolutely brilliant, also if they broadcasted the commentary from that scene throughout the arena- the voices distract HBK first, then he looks to see the images on the Tron.

    • Jaykob
      March 2, 2010 at 10:37 AM

      I think it was anti-climactic because it’s not supposed to be the climax yet. I liked ‘Taker showing up on the screen. It was typical Undertaker mind games, displaying the fact that his mere presence has the power to make his opponents totally lose their shit. Just wait, it’ll look great as part of a future video package.

  2. Tony
    March 2, 2010 at 3:27 AM

    I went. It was a pretty fun show, but I was expecting tons of promos. Dark match was Triple H/Cena vs Sheamus/Batista with it mainly being HHH/Sheamus working with Batista being the pussy heel. Also during one of the commercial breaks, JR came out and told everyone he was doing better and to go eat his BBQ.

  3. JT
    March 2, 2010 at 4:04 AM

    Weird dresser indeed…

  4. JCITY617
    March 2, 2010 at 4:29 AM

    RAW WOULD HAVE BEEN EPIC IF AT THE END SHEAMUS STOOD ON THE ANNOUNCE TABLE THREW HIS HANDS UP IN GLORY AND IT RAINED DOWN LUCKYCHARMS FROM THE RAFTERS AS HORNSWOGGLE COMES OUT AND CHOPS HIS CROUTCH AT THE GUY I READ AN ARTICLE ABOUT EARLIER…………….OH YEA THE 2ND CHEECH AND CHONG SKIT WHERE CHRIS MASTERS SAID “NOW U CAN STOP STARING AT MY CHEST” IN KELLYKELLY’S VOICE WAS THE GREATEST RAW MOMENT DIZ DECADE(I HAD A BOWL…….OF LUCKYCHARMZ LOL)

  5. ahooooool
    March 2, 2010 at 4:36 AM

    Congrats on making Money in the Bank, Jack. You’re not winning. – LOL

    • March 4, 2010 at 1:24 PM

      Sometimes the truth hurts. Better than not being on WM.

  6. March 2, 2010 at 5:02 AM

    I have a feeling Triple H will cost Shawn the match at ‘Mania. He just seemed way to behind Shawn, over supportive. I think it will be time for the heel turn.

    • evan
      March 2, 2010 at 6:55 AM

      that would be interesting….i like it! hell of a way to start a heel turn!

    • Yaz
      March 2, 2010 at 9:27 AM

      No, Hornswoggle’s gonna cost HBK his match. The heel turn of the year is coming.

      • David M.
        March 2, 2010 at 10:27 AM

        …which starts his main event push…I hope whoever in wwe reads this blog doesn’t read that idea.

  7. James
    March 2, 2010 at 7:28 AM

    Another snide swipe at taker for a show he’s not even part of and alot more lube for hbk this week. Serious bias :P

    • March 4, 2010 at 1:26 PM

      Yes, I like Michaels more. Still like Taker even with his orange hue.

  8. Rated RKO
    March 2, 2010 at 8:20 AM

    I was 100% sure HHH was going to turn heel tonight. For all those who say WWE is predictable, I think this is a good sign that they are pretty much the opposite, good or bad.

    • March 4, 2010 at 1:26 PM

      Yeah the heel turn will be in the spring or summer I think.

  9. Aaron
    March 2, 2010 at 9:31 AM

    I’m sorry this show was was too Promo heavy. My kid voluntarily went to ebd last nite, and always fights me to stay up and watch Raw.. Should this tell WWE something? I expected a lot of promo’s too.. but ridiculous.

    Ok, and maybe WWE is reading this blog and it’s recent praise of video packages.. becuase this Raw was chock FULL of video packages. Ring entrances were interrupted for VIDEO PACKAGES, Promo’s were interrupted for VIDEO PACKAGES I think a video package may have been interrupted for a VIDEO PACKAGE. I love the vidoe packages too.. but not every match needs a long dramam filled video package.. it became overkill.. next week we’ll get a Shameus/HHH VIDEO PACKAGE that includes all of 90 seconds of footage from 7 different angles.

    You gotts hype Mania.. but I could have used less video packages and some better MITB qualifiers. Like anyone believes Swagger or MVP are going to win this. My fear is they give Kane the win.. god I hope not.

    Overall, a BORING RAW.. and I made a post here when Cheech and Chong were announced to be future hosts that it would be a HORRIBLE RAW that appeals to… (?) I think I hit that one on the head.

    • Yaz
      March 2, 2010 at 11:02 AM

      Kane for the win!

    • March 4, 2010 at 1:27 PM

      You were definitely right about C&C buddy.

  10. Sam
    March 2, 2010 at 9:45 AM

    Did anyone else think that Batista’s outfit made him look like a gay stripper? Not that I know what one looks like…really…serioulsy….lol

    • Aaron
      March 2, 2010 at 9:54 AM

      It’s fun to stay at the Y….. M….. C…. A.

    • Yaz
      March 2, 2010 at 11:02 AM

      He actually reminded me a lot of the Rock when he made his final run as a heel.

      • roler42
        March 2, 2010 at 11:21 AM

        i guess that makes batista “the fashionista” into “the gramps”(the rock of 2010)

  11. Randall
    March 2, 2010 at 11:17 AM

    Good night for crowd signs.

    They caught a “In Bud We Trust” one before they realized just what the hell that meant and cut away.

    I liked the stuff with HBK/Taker obviously, whoever said the idea about playing the WM 25 footage, BRAVO…would have been awesome. But I liked what they did to…just keep putting the pressure on HBK…thats how the match should be built.

    • March 4, 2010 at 1:26 PM

      Ha, that’s awesome about the In Bud We Trust sign.

  12. Randall
    March 2, 2010 at 11:19 AM

    Oh, and Sheamus is getting some pretty good heel heat. I’ve enjoyed watching him work lately, he’s building a good persona.

    I hope it’s not a squash at Mania with him and Trips though.

    • March 4, 2010 at 1:31 PM

      I’m not sure how that’ll be booked. Should be interesting from a booking sense.

  13. jay
    March 2, 2010 at 11:29 AM

    I give it a 3.8 Horny was the star of the show. He appeared every quarter hour, and he got everyone stoned. He obviously was the shows focus. (very sad)

    With the drug overtones, how could this be PG? You can’t have blood, but you can have a commentator doing everything in his power to eat psychodellics? Let see, it is illegal for tobacco companies to use advertising that appeals to children. So lets use Horny to promote getting high. Brilliant.

    If I was running against Linda for Senate, I would make ads out of Horny and the Lucky Charms. Have fun explaining that.

    Both Rhodes & DiBiase are too weak to take Orton with the elememt of surprize on their side. This is a compelling feud. Wake me when it is over. If you have no future plans for Rhodes & DiBiase, just release them and put them out of their misery. I don’t want to waste my time becomming emotionally invested. (At least DiBiase got some offense. His punches and stomps are embarrasingly bad. He needs to go to NXT)

    I enjoyed the pillow fight. I thought it was one of the sexier segments in a long time. It had more psychology than most diva matches. (Hell, it had the most psychology of any match on Raw.) It would have been great if Horny mixed some Viagra in the Lucky Charms. Glad to see Gail get some offense. I was really glad to see Jillian get some offense and actually be in the spotlight.

    The MITB matches were horrible. Put them on Smackdown and give them at least 10 minutes. I was disappointed Santino lost. (Santino and Horny in MITB would be great! Imagine Horny cralling out from under the ring with his briefcase…. crawling in the ring to cash it in. He covers H3 for the three count. He stands over H3 and does the suck it chops. All the while Michael Cole is yelling….”This is VINTAGE HORNY!” Take that Bischoff and the finger poke of doom!)

    I marked out for Mad Dog Vachon. You should check him out. He is an old school heel. I never thought he was that special, probably because a lot of his career was before my time. I grew up watching his younger brother Paul the Butcher. Paul was more of a mid-card guy, who was a jobber at the end. They both did quite a bit of tag team stuff.

    Paul never hit the hights in the business that Maurice did. However, Paul spent most of his career in the WWWF whereas Maurice was more of an AWA guy. That is why I am surprized that Paul isn’t the one being honored.

    Considering the Vachons are both French Canadians, I am surprized there isn’t more interest on this blog for Mad Dog’s HOF Indution. Hopefully, my memory is correct about the Vachons.

    The DX match was an embarrassment. Good luck at WM Shawn if that is all it takes to distract you. Again, I don’t understand how anyone takes the Undertaker seriously.

    The sad thing about DX % Miz/Show is that given 10 or 15 minutes, it could have been a decent match.

    Bret looked pathetic coming to the ring. I was looking closely, because I thought they dressed up someone to look like Bret to embarrass him. Maybe people my age will get the PPV for this match, but if I was undecided to buy, this match would make me put the $50 in my pocket.

    I loved the Batista Promo. He brought his A game. (I am usually critical of Batista.) He got me fired up to see him try to cripple Cena. Good job Dave. Plus he was correct in stating that all Cena does is yap yap yap. As the Rock would say…”Shut Your Mouth and Know Your Role.” or vice-versa.

    I give this blog credit for the radical wardrobe change for Batista. This was the first place I noticed making fun of Batista’s wardrobe. (I know because I was one of the people doing it.) Creative picked up on it, and went a little overboard. I am sure that Creative will keep an eye on what he wears leading up to WM, but I am in favor of him continuing to wear ridiculous outfits. I find it amusing.

    The pillow fight was the only thing that saved this fiasco from being a 2.5 or a 3. Congratulations Horny on being the star of the show. You were the Big Man on Campus.

    • Aaron
      March 2, 2010 at 12:37 PM

      A lot of good points here Jay.

      I don’t liek how they are making Bret look either (not to mention he alreeady just doesn not look too good). I’m still holding out for this being an elaborate plot and Bret is “faking” the injury.

      I’ll give the devil his due, Batista is quickly ebcoming watchable as a hell now. And I enjoyed Cena in his role as well.. but again, iuf we could have limited the promo’s to this and perhaps the opeing segment, I’d have been fine.

      Star of the night was Tommy Chong.. and I’m going purely on face time.. were they promoting something last night? Seriously.. WTF?!?!?

      VIDEO PACKAGES~!

  14. John L.
    March 2, 2010 at 11:56 AM

    To make a note about your basketball post at the top. While Durant is sick he is gonna be on a Spurs poster cause Mr. Ginobli make him look stupid. He did it to that bat, he did it to Durant an he did it to that one guy from the Suns without even touching him. He’s in everyones head haha.

    • March 4, 2010 at 1:32 PM

      Ginobili looks like he’s 40 instead of 30, though. The guy is not aging well.

  15. Tabitha
    March 2, 2010 at 12:01 PM

    Am I the only one totally over the whole “pointing at the Wrestlemania sign”? It was cool when Edge did it at Royal Rumble. Jack Swagger? Not so much.

    • Aaron
      March 2, 2010 at 12:27 PM

      YES, glad someone pointed that out Tabitha. I think we can restrict that o main event level talent at least.

      Hey, maybe we’ll get a VIDEO PACKAGE of eveyone pointing at the Wrestlemania sign!??!?!! Hope we get some Yommy chong on that as well.

      Yes, that used to be a cool still, but with everyone doing it.. uhm.. yeah. Michael Cole would point to it, but there’s a slim chance JR will be back for Mania… can’t jump the gun.

      • Tabitha
        March 2, 2010 at 2:01 PM

        Somebody HAS to do it. The pointing and the “sign over the shoulder” shots.

        Go for it!

  16. Rated R
    March 2, 2010 at 12:17 PM

    The MITB qualifying matches were downright laughable. How the hell are you booking matches like that and not be embarrassed? Zack Ryder can just say goodbye to his carrier now that he’s on Raw.

    It was too much talking and too much lame comedy. I liked the opening and the Batista/Cena part. However the Bret/Vince segment sucked. Vince overdo everything and you can just tell how much he loves being evil. It doesn’t make it believable.

    The Divas are a joke. Eve needs to be released. She sucks and plus she’s annoying as hell. I feel bad for Katie Lee who’s one of the better women wrestlers to be involved in a stupid comedy skit. As for Gail Kim. Although it was a stupid match.

    The guest host shit needs to go away ASAP. As does Hornswoggle. The Raw show is really putting me off. Just the way Justin Roberts announces guest hosts and Cena/Triple H makes me ill. He sounds like such a suck up. It’s sad really.

    • Jim Brunzel
      March 2, 2010 at 8:50 PM

      The MITB qualifing matches are terrible. I know that it is pretty easy to predict who is gonna be in MITB, but does it have to be THIS obvious?
      How about an upset…just for the fun of it. Why not Santino in the match, its the least WWE could do for all the stupid shit he has to do all year.
      How about Chavo, as an appology for losing to Horny do often.

      My Head hurts, and that was bad show last night
      Ugh

  17. Darth Randall
    March 2, 2010 at 12:41 PM

    I think i am going to need some ” sugar” if i am going to keep seeing RAW like this. I would sooner watch Max Moon VS the Shockmaster .. at least they would be wrestling.

  18. Tamara Love
    March 2, 2010 at 12:41 PM

    This RAW was atrocious, so much so in fact that I fell asleep towards the end, though I do remember the great camera work that caught Vince in Brets shades. I have to agree with John about how cool that looked.

    It opened fairly strong, too. Shame.

    I was happy to see Jack Swagger going to Mania. I really like the guy, once he finds his groove, he’s going to be a machine. I didn’t mind Santino losing so quickly because it made Swagger seem very powerful, and Santino is basically a jobber now. MVP/Ryder is a different story. ECW spent a lot of time building Ryder up to be a something, but transferred to RAW and was put down in a minute. I knew he was jobbing because he didn’t even get an enterance. I was stunned they thought to even play his music. Swagger/Santino being quick made sense, MVP/Ryder should have gotten a lot more time. Hell, even 5 minutes. I really hate seeing talent pushed, then buried right after. Makes you wonder why they even bothered. MVP is a really good example of this. Hell of a talent, had good pushes, ran with it really well….and was then subsequently buried. I heard it was due to pot, a la Brian Kendrick, though I wager his case was much worse. I like pot too.

    My guess is CM Punk buried him to management, because he wasn’t straight edge. :P I guess that means I should not bother trying to be a diva or valet, cause I’m definitely not straight edge. Half the time I’m not even sure if I’m straight! xD

    Rambling, sorry. Yeah, I was also confused how drug references and one of the hosts wearing a shirt showing a guy smoking a joint with the tagline “Free Man” is PG. Also, I kinda wonder if Bret is purposely trying to not be PG. He’s so damn awesome.

    I like Sheamus, always kinda did, even if his feuds in ECW were not so great…ECW was a not so great show sometimes. I’d be grinning like an idiot half the time too, if I had feuded with Goldust and Shelton, and then won the world title. :P

    I need more Captain Charisma.

    Seriously, who the fuck is the booker to RAW? Fire him, immediately.

    • Tabitha
      March 2, 2010 at 2:04 PM

      I was wondering myself, Tamara, how the heck they were possibly going to make Cheech & Chong PG anything. Apparently, in Raw Booking World, if you add cereal and a midget, it’s all good.

  19. mr. W
    March 2, 2010 at 1:29 PM

    actually tommy chong was wearing a “free marc” shirt, in reference to marc emery, aka the prince of pot, who is facing extradition to the us from canada, for pot related crimes, google him, his story is pretty unique

  20. Venis Envy
    March 2, 2010 at 1:54 PM

    I really hope they get some better talent for HOF. This class is really weak, and its a shame because the Million Dollar Man deserves better. Mad Dog? Really? What a waste.

    • jay
      March 2, 2010 at 2:30 PM

      I am not going to disagree with you, because I am guessing that when he was something special, it was before my time.

      But they did say that on the video package that he was a four time World Heavyweight Champion. I seem to remember him being a World Tag Team Champion. Remember, this was back in the days when being a World Champion mattered. It was viewed like being a boxing champion or the World Champion in one of the four major sports.

      If the Video was right, his career lasted over 40 years, he was a 4 time World Champion who beat Verne Gagne who was one of the 10 best to ever step into a ring, and held the World Tag Championship. (Plus they also mentioned his regional titles.)

      If you think the above is a waste, you should stop eating Lucky Charms.

      But then again, you probably think the Miz should be inducted.

      • Venis Envy
        March 2, 2010 at 2:36 PM

        The HOF in general is a waste of time. When Pete Rose and the Fridge are in a wrestling hall of fame, it should not be taken seriously. Million Dollar Man deserves a legitimate HOF, like the Wrestling Observer. And I do think the above is a waste because titles are just as meaningless in a fake sport.

        • jay
          March 2, 2010 at 2:47 PM

          Your right. It is a waste of time. But it is nice to honor the past. Plus, it gives older wrestlers the incentive to hang on, and keeps retired wrestlers from saying bad things about VKM which is important to him.

          For the old guys who killed themselves for our pleasure, give them one more day in the sun. They deserve it.

          If you want a HOF that is probably better respected and less heavily VKM biased, take a look at organizations such as “The Cauliflower Alley.”

          Plus, I guarantee you will start to get geeked up for it once your generation starts to retire.

          • Devon
            March 2, 2010 at 2:55 PM

            Ha. You’re an old fart.

        • Aaron
          March 2, 2010 at 2:49 PM

          We should not get too frazzled over titles in a fake sport.. but world champions are usually recognized as a guy that can carry the load or who is generally respected, especially in the days of Mad Dog Vaschon. I think Mad Dog is a credit to the business and have problem with him being recognized.

          We know it’s not a legit hall of fame, but I like the inductees, even if it lacks a credible “big name headliner”. The only one I havea problem with is Wendi Richter.. she was more or less a flash in the pan and I think WWe will inducte damn near anyone who was on Wrestlemania I.

          I easily think the Road Warriors could headline a WWE HOF class.. That one baffles me.

          • jay
            March 2, 2010 at 3:15 PM

            I agree with you about Wendi Richter. Her career only had one highlight, and she really couldn’t wrestle.

            She did end the Fabulous Moolah’s 30 year title reign which should count for something. But that was it.

            The LOD should headline a class. They are my pick for the greatest tag team of all time. Go back and look at everything they did before they went to the WWF, and they were devastating.

            Here are some reasons why they may not be in yet.

            1. Hawks drug problems and untimely death.

            2. Droz’s paralysis. legal liability?

            3. Best Body of work is before arrival at WWF.

            4. Vince’s ego. Would have to call Demolition the joke that they were. (Barry Darsow for goodness sakes) Plus Vince could never create a tag team that could come close to their level of respect.

            5. Precious Paul Ellering isn’t very mentally stable.

            6. Road Warrior Animals behind the scenes role with the WWE is really not officially recognized. They try to keep it on the down low.

            7. There was a group of fans who didn’t like them because they did not know how to wrestle scientifically.

            8. Their body of work in the WWE wasn’t that impressive. Vince never wanted them to look too good.

            9. I am guessing that as rough as they were in the ring, there are several wrestlers who don’t like the Road Warriors.

            10. They philosophically changed Tag Team wrestling. This probably annoys a lot of old timers.

  21. BabyGoose
    March 2, 2010 at 2:32 PM

    Greatest episode of RAW since it started in 1993!!! hehe jus kiddin

  22. Nick
    March 2, 2010 at 3:21 PM

    I disagree with you saying this isn’t going to be a good Hall of Fame class. Ted DiBiase was a great pick. He was before my time, but I’ve greatly enjoyed just seeing clips of him. The Japanese dude from last week, even if I can’t remember his name, still started New Japan Pro Wrestling, which I hear is like an American independent wrestler’s chance at a big paycheck. Plus, I think it was NJPW that hosted a super junior tournament, which saw Chris Jericho and Chris Benoit face in the finals to have an epic match with Benoit going over. NJPW is like a showcase for some of the best international wrestling, with how many foreign wrestlers go there.

    As for the guy announced last night, yeah, maybe not a great pick. I’ve never heard of him, at least.

  23. Alex
    March 2, 2010 at 3:31 PM

    It is disrespectful for you guys to say that Mad Dog Vachon is undeserving of a Hall of Fame spot. I would have inducted him years ago. Were you guys this upset when Nick Bockwinkel or The Sheik got inducted, because I am pretty sure you guys didn’t know who they were either. What is a joke is that some of you guys consider yourselves “wrestling fans” and yet start burying the contributions of great wrestlers like Mad Dog Vachon and Antonio Inoki. Those two already make it a worthy Hall of Fame class and therefore there is no reason for you guys to criticize it and call it “lame”.

    Plus, there are a lot of guys who haven’t been inducted yet. Bruiser Brody, Dean Malenko, Paul Heyman, Owen Hart, Stu Hart, “Dr. Death” Steve Williams, The Fabulous Freebirds, Goldberg, Tony Garea, Rick Rude, Tommy Dreamer, Ken Shamrock, Ron Simmons, Al Snow, The British Bulldogs, The Legion of Doom, Brutus Beefcake, Gory Guerrero, Dick the Bruiser, Karl Gotch, The Sandman, Lance Storm, Carlos Colón, The U.S. Express, Bruno Sammartino, Larry Zbyszko, Shane Douglas, Abdullah the Butcher, Yokozuna, Masato Tanaka, Chris Candido and The Brain Busters… I’d induct all these guys in a heart-beat and none of them are a “big name” (maybe Goldberg).

    In reality, the Hall of Fame is for people who have contributed to wrestling and have cemented their mark which Inoki and Vachon have done concretely.

    • Aaron
      March 2, 2010 at 3:45 PM

      Goldberg would be controversial. I dunno if he contributed enough to be in any all fo fame. Maybe I’m biased, I never liked Goldberg once the streak began taking off.. got old real fast.

      Al Snow, Brutus Beefcake, Sandman… dunno if any of them al HOF worthy (and we’re talking about a HOF that has Koko B Ware in it, I know)

      And of course guys like Shane Douglas and Bruno will never get inducted.

      What about bob? (backlund)

      • Tamara Love
        March 2, 2010 at 4:06 PM

        He was absolutely huge when he ran, though. I think there was even a Goldberg monster truck at some point. I never much cared for the guy, but he definitely contributed a lot to the business, even if he doesn’t respect it like he should.

        Now if you’re saying he shouldn’t be in the HOF based on attitude, I might be inclined to agree, but even then it’d be sketchy.

        I’d also be fine with Beefcake, he had a good run and he is quite memorable, assuming you blocked out the WCW run like I do.

        Al Snow and Sandman would be in a pile for consideration, but I am unsure if I’d put them in there. I find Sandman more memorable than Snow, but they both had their moments.

        I just think if you put Al Snow in there, you gotta add Hardcore Holly…and I definitely wouldn’t add that guy.

        • Devon
          March 2, 2010 at 4:13 PM

          Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley! Foley!

    • Sam
      March 2, 2010 at 4:45 PM

      I think everyone’s thinking here is not that they are not deserveing, which they are, its wether you not the casual fan would know who they are enough to show interest

  24. jay
    March 2, 2010 at 4:36 PM

    Hey John:

    You should do an occasional HOF debate. It gets people fired up. It teaches the kids some history. Plus it is fun to debate.

    I hope I don’t get fired for Internet usage. I have not done any work today.

    I went and looked at the WWE website regarding Mad Dog. He certainly belongs. I’m surprised you haven’t weighed in on MD, Shawn Michaels, and the prosthetic leg. Good times in Poor taste!

    Inoki belongs. To keep him out would be like saying someone like Gagne, Flair, or Hogan doesn’t belong.

    It really is a decent class.

    My potential HOF’er that makes me go hmmmm….. Carlos Colon or Mil Mascaras, but I bet we could easily argue about 100 guys.

    You should go back and watch a few Bockwinkel Promos. If you want to know where Jericho learned how to do a promo, watch a few minutes of Bockwinkel’s work. I wouldn’t be surprised to hear the Great Bockwinkel drop a troglidite.

    • Tamara Love
      March 2, 2010 at 7:44 PM

      The John C. hall of fame? Dare a girl dream? xD

      First inductee….. do I even have to say it?

      • March 4, 2010 at 1:34 PM

        Kamala would be first.

        I don’t care about HOF debates. WWE’s HOF is a joke. I like the Wrestling Observer’s HOF but they cover that well themselves.

  25. Anonymous
    March 2, 2010 at 9:42 PM

    Is there any chance that one of the Legacy guys (DiBiase or Rhodes) two-time each other and side with Orton? He’s so much better as a heel (but can he get guys over?) but maybe he can do well as a face again. What does WWE need more of?

    While I agree that Raw needs (for the love of whoever you believe in) a permanent GM, I don’t want it to be JBL? Though I’m not sure who else without looking anyone up.

    • March 4, 2010 at 1:34 PM

      They could have one of the Legacy guys side with Orton. I fully expect Rhodes & Dibiase to be split up once they do the Lottery in April.

  26. BabyGoose
    March 3, 2010 at 1:48 AM

    Holy crap Devon u psycho!! 252 Foley’s. Ugh

    • kelc
      March 3, 2010 at 11:18 AM

      wtf you counted them?

  27. Tabitha
    March 3, 2010 at 10:24 AM

    I vote for the Ultimate Warrior.

    Not cause he should be in there. I just want to watch everyone ELSE try to keep a straight face.

    Admit it. It’d be damn funny.

  28. kelc
    March 3, 2010 at 11:17 AM

    just to clarify cause i havent seen it written here yet, as far as the lucky charms go, they mentioned chong was diabetic and couldnt handle sugar, and cheech was allergic to marshmelllows… i know it doesnt make it any better but thats the explanation.

    • March 4, 2010 at 1:35 PM

      Yeah it doesn’t make it any better.

  29. March 19, 2010 at 5:54 PM

    Well Done! I Like it!

  1. March 2, 2010 at 8:18 PM

Leave a Reply

