Archive

Archive for February 25, 2010

GC: Sports Entertainment Weekly by Andrew Johnson

February 25, 2010 31 comments

Note from John: If you can’t laugh at yourself who can you laugh at? Thanks for writing this, Andrew.

So, About this Morning…

I scratched the surface of the hard wood desk in front of me with a fingernail that had been chewed to the nub. I always bite my nails when I’m nervous. I look across the giant desk at a man stirring kool-aide with an old Ultimate Warrior spoon he found at a flea market.

The irony was not lost on me.

He took a sip of his red elixir, before he spoke. He looked fiercely intimidating, and a tad sleepy.

Read more…

Categories: Columns, General Wrestling Tags:

Guest Column: An Ode to Shawn Michaels by Jaykob

February 25, 2010 58 comments

Note from John: This is a one time column from a reader named Jaykob. He sent it to me saying it wasn’t even meant to be a column. However, I read it and liked it so much that I told him I’d share it. Why? Because it’s about my favorite wrestler ever: Shawn Michaels. This doesn’t mean you should be writing me long letters about your love for HBK. I’m not posting random stuff. This is an exception. Enjoy it.

An Ode to Shawn Michaels
By Jaykob

As I watched RAW this past Monday, I was struck by the video package the WWE made of Shawn Michaels. It featured an excellent cover of Kate Bush’s song “Running Up That Hill” by Placebo. I also marked out when the stipulation, career vs. streak, for his rematch with The Undertaker was revealed. Now, before someone accuses me of being a mark, I realize that, even though it’s billed as a retirement match, Shawn will probably be back even if he loses. With that said, regardless of the outcome at Wrestlemania, the career of HBK is coming to an end sooner than later. I thought I had already accepted that, but something about this past RAW made that realization really hit home with me and I started thinking about my own story as a fan of professional wrestling and the impact that Shawn Michaels has had on my childhood. Needless to say, I had underestimated just how important the guy was to me, and so I was inspired to write a little something about how I was feeling. Despite this not being a Pulitzer Prize piece of writing, I hope you, the patrons of this blog, read this and identify with my feelings as a long time fan of professional wrestling even if you are not a big fan of Shawn Michaels specifically. Every wrestling fan has their heroes and Shawn Michaels just happens to be mine.

Read more…

Categories: Columns, wwe Tags: ,