Archive

Archive for February 9, 2010

The Raw Commentfest for 02/08/10

February 9, 2010 21 comments

I wrote the Raw Deal earlier today, posted it at 1pm and you’ve hopefully read that. The link is at the right here on the blog. Commentfest, featuring Facebook and Twitter, is going to be a Tuesday evening posting now. I would say that anywhere between 6-8pm ET is when I’ll be posting Commentfest from this point forward.

Thoughts from the Facebook friends aka CommentFest
Here are some random thoughts from some of my facebook friends (just head to Facebook.com/thejohnreport) after I asked for some comments about the show. The comments in green are from the commentfesters while the comments in the brackets are from me. We got just over 1600 comments this week.

Ladies and Gentlemen, boys and girls, John Canton-James proudly brings to you: One half of the WWE’s real weekly shows, The “Double dud” to the “E” connected to “R” to the “AW” son, it’s two hours of the most thirst quenchin’, OUTTA NOWHERE!~ happenin’, John Chayna havin’, Midget gaggin’, two old men with a twelve year old’s mind braggin’, non MJC draggin’, KTFO smashin’, LLLLLEEETTTTTT’SSSSS GGGEEEETTTTTTT RRRREEEAAADDDYYY TO COMMENTFEST! (Wow.)

ARE YOU READY FOR THE BACK FLIPPING GEESE LOVING LEFT TURNING GUEST HOST???? I SURE AS HELL AM GO MICKIE JAMES CANTON VINTAGE CRAZY CRAZY (That’s my boy Marlin aka the first ever Commentfest addict.)

Can I call up Vince now and BEG him to have Maryse pin Serena..repeatedly..in the center of the ring…even though they don’t have a match tonight? (I approve. Don’t tell the wife.)

Read more…

TJR: The Raw Deal for 02/08/10 (DX/Showmiz/SES)

February 9, 2010 61 comments

Live from Lafayette, Louisiana this is the Raw Deal…

We get the typical video packages to start and then the guest host, NASCAR driver Carl Edwards, comes out doing donuts before driving into the arena. But no, it’s Hornswoggle! What a swerve. Edwards walked down to the ring with the Bella Arm Candies. Kelly Kelly introduced him. Remember the time when she introduced Maryse as “Maurice?” Great memories. At least she’s really thin, has a nice ass and smiles a lot, right? That’s what counts. Edwards had more energy than Busch and Logano, the previous driver hosts that bombed, so he immediately came off as a decent host. He kissed the Saints ass since they were in Louisiana (thanks for costing me money, Colts) and the crowd liked him for that. He namedropped being friends with Cena, so that led to Sheamus coming out. Sheamus wanted Edwards to make him the last competitor in the Elimination Chamber match. Isn’t that a random thing complete with eerie music and a spotlight? Don’t take the fun out of the eerie music!

I thought Cena was coming out here, but instead it was somebody different for Raw, my boy Christian – the ECW champ. “Christian! Christian! At last you’re on your own!” Wait, wrong song. It’s that stupid “Go!” song. Oh well. At least he got a nice pop coming out. I liked the joke he busted out on Sheamus saying he spent all his money on the hair and the beard trimmer, but must have ran out when it came to working on his tan. Good line. He mentioned that with ECW closing down that he’d be a free agent. I should point out that I wrote this a few times, suggesting it as a way to move people to other shows, and I’m glad it happened. He said they have a lot in common in that they were both champs and both born without last names. Clever. The end result here was that Edwards brought in a ref to make the match happen.

Read more…

The Raw Deal delayed until the morning…

February 9, 2010 21 comments

Another strong Raw. Third in a row. I’m giving it a 7 or 7.5 again. Usually I’d be up writing right now, but I’m exhausted and have tomorrow off, so I’m going to do it in the AM. Should be posted by 10amET. It was nice seeing Christian on the show, Bret Hart did great too, Michaels was awesome with his ongoing story and it was nice to see the Showmiz name. WWE is on a roll. I’m a happy fan right now.

Categories: The Raw Deal, wwe