Archive

Archive for December 4, 2009

NFL Picks for Week 13

December 4, 2009 2 comments

I’ll have some thoughts on Ed “Umaga” Fatu passing away late tonight or tomorrow in my Talking Smack column. For now, I’ll post my NFL picks as I do every Friday.

I’m really exhausted today as I write this (the combination of being overworked and hungover), so my write-ups won’t be as thorough as usual. I went 10-6 last week, which is okay, but I picked too many upsets in a week where only two of them happened.

Last week: 10-6
Season: 114-62 (.648)

Read more…

Categories: NFL Tags: ,

The John Report: My 29 Favorite Moments in Wrestling History

December 4, 2009 44 comments

The title of the column says it all. I often times read things from wrestling fans where people are bitching and moaning about things that pissed them off on Raw, Smackdown or some PPV. Week after week it’s the same thing. I admit that I do it too. Sometimes you can’t help it. It’s hard to avoid talking about the bad things in the business. It doesn’t make me dislike the business any more or less. I’ve been a fan of it my whole life and probably always will be. I’ve always compared the wrestling business (or WWE to use a particular example) to a favorite sports team. I follow my teams religiously, I watch all the games, I know what all the players and coaches bring to the table through my experiences watching them and I root for them. However, they don’t always win. Things happen. Your team might sign a bad player or make a bad team. The injury bug could derail an entire season. You may rip them for being soft or poor at one particular thing that costs them a chance at competing for a championship. Deep down, though, you’re a diehard fan. That’s what I am when it comes to the wrestling business and if you’re reading this you probably are to some degree too.

Read more…