Archive

Archive for December 14, 2009

The John Report Presents: The 2009 WWE Johnny Awards

December 14, 2009 28 comments

The John Report Presents: The 2009 WWE Johnny Awards

These are the awards where we honor, and dishonor, the hard working employees of World Wrestling Entertainment based on their work over the last twelve months. Having watched everything from December (2008) to November, I come to you today to present the very “prestigious” awards that I call the 2009 WWE Johnny Awards!

These awards are not just “Best Wrestler” or “Worst Wrestler.” They have names to them. Good names too, not garbage like Oscar or Emmy or Tony or whatever else is out there. Some of the names of awards have changed over the years (the last time I did these was 2005), but the premise is the same. I also added some new awards in there too. Since I haven’t done one of these things in four years I doubt many of you are going to notice what they are. Before I begin, it’s worth pointing out that this is World Wrestling Entertainment stuff ONLY. It says it in the title, but I want you to remember that when you ask why there’s no TNA or ROH in here. It’s WWE only. That’s what I watch regularly. That’s what I know. And that’s what will be discussed.

Read more…

The John Report: WWE TLC 2009 Review

December 14, 2009 14 comments

The John Report: WWE TLC 2009 Review
I watched the show tonight. I posted thoughts all night on my Twitter and Facebook pages, so what I’ll do here is post those collection of thoughts and maybe add a bit more where needed. It’s not going to be that in depth, though. All matches will have ratings on the five star scale, of course. The announcers were Cole, Lawler and Striker.

– Christian over Benjamin in 18 minutes to retain the ECW title. Great ladder spot with Christian hitting a frog splash onto Shelton, who was laying on a ladder to end it. The worst part of the match came when Christian suffered a legit cut and they had a medic come out to stitch him up. This never would have happened before WWE went to PG. And it’s fucking lame. Still, a very good ladder match from two guys that said they’d steal the show and they did. ****

Read more…