Archive

Archive for January 23, 2010

Jake’s Snake Bites Macho Man…

January 23, 2010 7 comments

One of my favorite moments ever that I forgot to put on my top 29 admittedly. Thought I’d post this for those that might not have seen it. Classic. Keep in mind that WWE was way more PG then they are now yet could they do something today as good as this? This felt so real. Maybe because I was only 11 years old and Savage was my favorite, but I was nearly in tears as this was happening. For those of you that remember it, enjoy the reminiscing. For those that haven’t seen it, enjoy it for the first time.

Have a good weekend. I might be back Sunday in the morning for the TNA post.

Categories: Retro Columns, wwe

TJR: Talking Smack for 01/22/10

January 23, 2010 8 comments

The John Report: Talking Smack for 01/22/10 (Plus Fantasy Booking)
Welcome to the Talking Smack column where I offer up a quick rundown of WWE’s Friday broadcast, Smackdown. Three straight weeks of being spoiler free for me as a viewer and I love it. Also, the Smackdown version of Commentfest continues following my recap. At the end of the recap, I’ll post a link to a fantasy booking article I posted at my blog that will book my favorite wrestler Chris Jericho all the way up until WrestleMania. Even though it’s only been posted for a few hours now the reviews have been very favorable so far. I think you might like it. It was a joy for me to write.

———–
Taped from Greenville, South Carolina let’s talk some smack…

The big hype this week was that Rey Mysterio would be calling out his Royal Rumble opponent, The Undertaker.

Finlay d. Batista via DQ (1/4*)
It was more of an angle than a match. Finlay was on offense early. They went to the floor and Batista was gouging at his eyes when the ref threw the match out. He got DQ’d. Didn’t care. He beat the hell out of him on the floor, tossing him into the guard rail and giving him a spear on the outside. He then stomped on Finlay saying HHH, HBK and Cena are all going to have to deal with him. In other words, that’s WWE speak for saying if you think somebody other than one of those three is winning the Rumble you’re incorrect. This beating was good. I really like heel Batista probably because I grew so tired of face Batista.

Read more…

Fantasy Booking: Chris Jericho vs. Edge at WM26

January 23, 2010 41 comments

With the rumors of Edge possibly returning at the Royal Rumble I decided to put my booking hat on to share my ideas on how to set up his heavily rumored match with Chris Jericho at WrestleMania. I was going to add more to it to carry it past Mania, but I think I went in enough detail here. It might be rough in some parts (verb tenses and things like that) although I think you’ll get the general ideas from the descriptions. This is how I would book this feud over the course of two months. Enjoy.

Smackdown 01/29 – Jericho cuts a promo saying he’s going to win the Royal Rumble and win back the World Title that is rightfully his. He can talk about how he was the Superstar of the year in 2008 and part of the tag team of the year in 2009, but in 2010 he will prove once again that he’s the best in the world at what he does. He goes on to say he’ll even throw out Big Show if he gets in his way. Finally, he mentions his old partner Edge, who is “nursing his little ankle sprain” at home. He says he hopes Edge is watching because seeing the weakness of troglodytes like Edge has made him an even better performer.

Read more…